We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the average chain motel, & brilliant for the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl
Ranked #104 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
East Yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than the average chain motel, & brilliant for the airport”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Although probably the oldest motel for miles, and thus not in brand spanking new condition, we found that it was actually much less tired and shabby than other motels we stayed in on our trip (from a variety of chains). The room was larger and consequently more comfortable than others we'd experienced, as well as being in better condition. Being upstairs, we had a nice balcony - ground floor rooms each had a little terrace that would have been less private.

The rooms surround a pool that is actually big enough to use (many motel pools are little bigger than bathtubs), and there is a gift shop selling drinks and confectionery - as well as tourist tat - until 10pm. A basic breakfast is included (6am to 9am only), but in a very confined area. However, a "Denny's" restaurant is also on site if you like expensive greasy stuff (and this one has a bar, which is good), and fast-food outlets are within walking distance.

The key to this place however is convenience; it's only about a mile and a half from LAX airport, and provides a shuttle bus; it's also very close to the rental car drop-off points, which also provide their own shuttles. This convenience comes at a price however (no, not a financial one - it's surprisingly cheap, especially if booked in advance) - the proximity to the airport means considerable 'plane noise, and century boulevard outside generates a lot of traffic noise.

However, it's location, location, location, and absolutely perfect for the airport in either direction. Also handy for other sout/west LA locations such as Long Beach, Redondo Beach, Venice Beach (mad and tacky, but good fune, and only about 5 miles), Santa Monica etc.

Room Tip: Book in advance & save about $30/night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Abbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give a descriptive view of your recent stay with us. As an "older" property, there are pluses -- room size, closets, and as you mentioned a pool in which it takes more than 6 strokes to go from one of the pool to the other end.
There are two sections to the hotel and if you want a poolside room then you need to request it when making a reservation. Although Dennt's is conveniently located on property (and with a bar), if you want to dine at a Chinese, Mexican, :Persian, or Continental restaurant in our area, the hotel shuttle drivers are glad to provide the transportation.

The hotel is within ten minutes of local beaches. The Ocean Expresss stops near the hotel and will take you to Manhattan Beach...not on the tourist map and a delightful beach side community...ticket price is $5 and can be purchased at the front desk. If you are in a shopping mood, the bus stops at the Manhattan Beach and El Segundo Malls.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    814
    473
    186
    130
See reviews for
495
621
259
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We ( two couples) arrived at LAX quite early in the morning ( after a flight from Australia), and didn't have to wait too long for the shuttle to arrive (we called them to let them know we needed picking up).
We had reserved two rooms, for a one nights stay, but had not asked for early check in. Even though it was before 11am there was one room ready for us to use and were promised the other within the hour - which was delivered. They didn't charge us any extra for the early check in and the staff were pleasant and extremely accommodating overall.
The rooms were air-conditioned, very clean and reasonably spacious and the bed was quite comfortable. The shower/ toilet area was showing its age a little but was clean and had everything we needed and there was a nice little area to make coffee etc.
The free breakfast was simple but quite enough - a couple of different kinds of cereals, bagels, bread, jams and fruits, tea coffee juice etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Hello and thank you for your comments. Airline travel can be exhausting so having to wait until a 12 noon check in or later just adds to the stress of travel. The hotel staff will check in guests as soon as a room becomes available. The maid staff begins their work at 8 a.m. so rooms become available starting around 8:30 a.m. There is no charge -- on request the hotel will also extend a check out until 2 p.m. -- again at not charge.

If the continental breakfast is not sufficient, a Denny's Restaurant adjoins the hotel. We HOPE all guests are picked-up at the airport in a timely manner...remember you must call for the shuttle! Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We've stayed at this Travelodge several times now, always for one night only before or after a flight. You won't confuse this with a 'nice' hotel - very dated decor, peeling wallpaper - but it's a great budget choice. The staff are super friendly, the airport shuttle runs 24/7 and will even pick you up from the car rental drop off and bring you back to the hotel directly. The rooms have always been spotless, the little garden area and pool are '50's California motel chic. I'm no great fan of Denny's, but it's certainly nice to have right next door, cheap and easy and always open. We'll be staying here again whenever we come through LAX and need a place for the night. A very good choice for families with children, the pool is clean and a great outlet for energy after a long flight.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MTXLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay. A program to "update" the hotel without modifying the fifties architectural style was begun one year ago. The exterior is being painted using a refeshing and clean color palate--while retaining our pink room doors. The room interiors are receiving new wallpaper, lighting, moldings, etc. while leaving the interior design of the room unchanged. The projected completion date is by April/May of 2012.
Hopefully the projects will include a new entrance driveway!
Welcome back on your return visit!

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel is a 5 minute ride from LAX. Very convenient location. Entrance to the 405 is a block or two away. Very comfortable, clean, and a very good value. Pool nice. Breakfast included, just what we needed to start off our day. Directly across the street from rental car places if you need a rental car.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank friendoforca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
I continue to learn from guest comments. I had not thought to mention the location of the hotel in relation to the 405 and 105 freeways. The hotel is two blocks from the exits and entrances--far enough to avoid freeway traffic noise. The 105 is a relatively new freeway. I am asked what is the best time to travel in order to avoid traffic...well, on the 405 I am not sure that the "perfect" time period exists. A recent extension of the diamond lane has helped--available to those traveling with two or more people in the car.
The hotel is within a couple of blocks of the major car rental agencies...I have noted before that rental cars are not available at the airport. Even if you have a couple of blocks to walk to the car agency, the hotel provides shuttle service. Much easier to take the shuttle to the hotel...check in your room...settle in with your luggage...then have the hotel shuttle take you to the car rental agency.
Thanks for your comments and "educating" me as to desirable features of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed there during our New Year's holiday, and we were not disappointed. The people at the hotel were nice, helpful and attentive. Despite its location near the airport, the room we lived in was quiet and pleasant. Our room was simple, comfy and made us feel very at ease. Breakfast was continental. It offered toasts, bagels( I loved the cinnamon type) and pastries. Hot beverage, cereal, fruits were also provided. For people who are looking for a meal to cure hangover, homesickness or lack of sleep due to time difference, it is certainly a decent option. Breakfast ended early, though, which was a little inconvenient for us, since we really would like to sleep in. Overall, it was a hotel with a home-like experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YukihoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. "That's someplace like home!" is exactly the atmosphere we attempt to create. Granted the goal can be a challenge when the location is the LAX Airport and the stress of travel exhausting. With our two storey 147 rooms the hotel is dwarfed by the 600 to 1500 rooms properties; however, if you like the outdoors, moderately priced accommodations, and do not need the opulent lobbies, then you can experience the "...like home" setting when staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed in Travelodge, LAX for one night after taking a flight from Washington, D.C, on my way back to India.

The room was nice and spacious, but nowhere near luxurious. I guess luxury isnt even a criteria in this case. For a nice short business stay this wouldnt be a bad option, but I wouldnt come here on a holiday with my wife.

They provided transportation to LAX which is real convinient.

Room Tip: It is preferrable to take rooms which are not road side, otherwise there is a chance of getting dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianTraveller5980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
With the exception of a few negative comments, I have thought that the briefly worded remarks are what is best to have appear on the hotel's brochure or web sites. "Simply home", Most logical..we loved it", "That's someplace like home!"; and "Nice, simple and comfortable".

Luxurious -- yes, there are those special occasions when staying in a 4 or 5 star hotel is definitely the choice to make. I totally agree with the guest's point of view.

Our hotel is exactly as defined by this guest...nice, simple, and comfortable. I would add clean as a top criteria -- our housekeeping department has had perfect sources on quality control inspections for the past several years. The maintenance program involves a cycle of having one room continuously being renovated. The room design is not changed but updated as to lighting, wallpaper, painting, carpeting, etc. -- we even have closets -- now that does date us! Just liking saying Ice Box rather than refrigerator.

Not infrequently a guest will arrive intending to spent only one night. They plan to be in the Los Angeles for a few days to see the tourist sites. They find their accommodations comfortable and priced right -- so decide to remain. The airport area is the hub of the wheel for tourist sites in Los Angeles. All tourist areas are within 45 minutes of the hotel. Tours leave daily from the hotel and the metro link is easily accessible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel only one night, because we needed to be close to our rental car pickup the following day. Fox Rental Car is right across the street. They have the best rates in LA for a car.

It ended up being a very nice place. Very kitchie with catus outside of each room. It was a VERY busy hotel. it was clean, older, but well kept up. You will have to walk up stairs to the rooms. No elevators. We happened to placed in the far back area of the hotel. It took a bit to figure out where our room was and to haul our 4 pieces of luggage up the stairs.

I felt it was a great deal for the money and if I was just touring LA I would consider staying there. I think it is a popular stopping off point for most travelers.

The breakfast was simply bagels and danishes. Which was fine with us, but if you were staying there longer you might want to visit the Denny's which is right next door. I thought it was a great value for the money. The staff were also very polite and nice.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking the rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatLet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Hello and thank you for taking time to submit your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Yes, carrying luggage up a flight of stairs can be a hassle. On our wish list is a lift for the luggage. Our frequent guests will request a room in the extended wing and on the ground floor. During the summer, the pool area is popular with swim and sun bathing enthusiasts...so can be a little noisy. However, the rooms with the balconies overlooking the pool are also popular.
With Denny's adjoining the hotel, guests have the option of a complimentary continental breakfast or a full meal at the restuarant which is open 24 hours a day. If you are departing the hotel prior to 6 a.m., when the continental breakfast room opens, there is Danish and fruit at the front desk.
Car rental agencies -- there are several within a three block radius of the hotel. If you are arriving by plane, we suggest that you take the shuttle to the hotel; check-in; then we will take you to the car rental agency--no juggling of luggage. There are no car rental agencies at the airport -- all have satellite offices.
The success of the hotel is definitely a team effort and we appreciate your favorable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Westside
La Quinta Inn & Suites LAX
La Quinta Inn & Suites LAX
#113 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Holiday Inn Los Angeles International Airport
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,352 reviews
LAX Area
Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl

Property: Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl
Address: 5547 W Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-5913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Los Angeles
Travel Lodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travel Lodge
Los Angeles Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing