We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Day Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl
Ranked #105 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I landed in LAX from JFK at 9 am this morning and my Qantas flight doesn't leave until 11:45 pm tonight. I ended booking a day room at Travelodge LAX for about $59 plus tax. Got the free shuttle that leaves on the half hour. Once there , the rooms were surprisingly clean and quite spacious. Plus it included free WIFI- bargain! I got a taxi to Santa Monica Pier by taxi (approx. $35 plus tax). Had a walk on the pier and found surprisingly good shopping at Santa Monica Place and the 3rd street Promenade. Discovered The BigBlueBus which leaves on 4th Street and the No. 3 route dropped me off right across the road from the Travelodge for only $1 (!!!). Oh well, live and learn. A quick rest and shower and I'm checking out a 8 pm for the free shuttle back to the Tom Bradley Terminal in plenty of time for the flight home. Worked out ideally for me!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Paddywagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review. The front desk staff is available to assist guests with their "tourist" plans for the day. The Big Blue Bus does stop close to the hotel's entrance...cannot beat the bus fare of $1 to Santa Monica--3rd Street Premenada is great for shopping and outdoor entertainment plus international food carts...can then continue on to Venice Beach. The Ocean Express Bus also stops close to the hotel's entrance and for a ticket price of $5 (availalbe at the front desk) provides a hop-on and hop-off service to Manhattan Beach (a coastal community not on the tourist maps) and then to two shopping centers...bus circles every hour and during the summer every 30 minutes. Yes, the free Wi-Fi access and guest computer center in the lobby make the day stay a great value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,974 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is a little older and could use an update. The staff was friendly and you had to park in the Denny's parking lot next to the hotel. The parking was free and the breakfast was very nice.
I didn't really get any sleep because I heard the jets taking off and the beep of the hotel shuttle backing up all night. It was close to the car rental return and airport however. They did offer ear plugs however!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank QCgoaltender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We like to define our "look" as pleasantly "dated" as we strive to preserve the fifties style of charm for today's traveler. We avoid the "updated" look. However, our guest rooms have all the modern amenities...pillow top mattress, ergonomic desk chair; lamps with plug ins to charge electronic equipment batteries, decorative bed coverings, refrigerator, new carpet. The bathrooms can be described as small compared to 4 and 5 star properties. However, they have cultured marble counter tops; hair dryers, new lighing, water saving toilets, and tile bathroom floors. Then the complimentary amenities not found at any other area hotel...parking is free rather than $17 to $25 a night--we have parking around the hotel and with Denny's Restaurant that adjoins the hotel; complimentary continental breakfast with 3 hot items; free Wi-Fi access, newspaper, and guest computer center in lobby. We strive to provide value for our guest's' lodging dollars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was a little reluctant to stay here after reading a couple of negative reviews but what a wonderful surprise. The hotel is an older hotel in design but has all the modern conveniences and comforts you expect from a nice hotel. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I liked the fact the hotel had patio/terraces that over looked the beautiful, tropical grounds and pool area. The hotel is within minutes of LAX and within 15 minutes of the closest beach area. My only complaint is the shower (no tub) was very small with hardly enough room to move around.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool area so you can enjoy the tropical gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for deciding to stay with us during your recent visit to the airport area. Yes, even the Ritz-Carleton gets negative reviews!! What I have learned over the years in evaluating reviews is that a negative report (low score) occurs due to only one or two issues. The remaining pluses all become contaminated by the one or two negative encounters. What is important to do is read between the lines...rest assure the reviewer will include any negative experience in order to add credibility to their complaint.
Thank you for submitting a review. The staff and management appreciate the 5 star rating to gave the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you are cycling through LAX this is about as good as it gets for a way stop. The free shuttle is prompt, driver courteous, although I don't believe I have ever made so many stops at one airport.

The facility is vintage 1958, and mostly it remains much as it was. The drive and parking are tiny, as befits its age, but the rooms and amenities are neat just like they are. Maintenance is mostly above average for a motel and they have left things original where it makes sense to. Seen a big, all-tile shower stall in a motel lately?

We found counter staff attentive and helpful. The grounds are redolent with palms and flowers, making the hermetic stay more than pleasant. Just don't wander off the grounds for a midnight stroll. It's not that kind of neighborhood. Not at all. But inside all is neatly kept and beautiful.

For some reason they announce a continental breakfast, but in reality it is a hot breakfast with sausage patties and waffles. The fare is generous but the breakfast crowd is considerable. No idea what time is not busy, but 8:00 a.m. on a Sunday was jammed.

Room Tip: We expected to hear planes, being near the airport. Never heard a one. The entrance street is quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoOSUCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for submitting such a detailed critique of your recent stay with us...a 4 star rating is always appreciated. If we had a mission statement, it would be to provide travelers passing through the airport area a lodging option that is moderately priced while provide many courtesy amenities...shuttle service, parking, "expanded" continental breakfast, Wi-Fi access, guest computer center, and newspaper...clean, comfortable, convenient, and customer service that is exemplary.
The hotel does provide shuttle service to area restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had traveled as a couple and wanted to stay close to the LAX and Travelodge worked very well for us.

Hotel is located in a very good neighborhood with Denny's restaurant open 24 hours. Staff is courteous and room was spacious. They give you a parking coupon and parking is also sufficient for all the rooms.

Overall a good hotel in a convenient location at a good price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amateur_trvaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay with us. Staff and management alike are always pleased to hear from a guest that we had fulfilled their lodging needs. We appreciate that your having noted the "neighborhood" was fine. What is a reality is that within the airport community there are people arriving and leaving from all over the world. Consequently, you will meet many travelers who may appear different from you; however, what you do share in common is that you all are travelers.
The airport area is very safe. It is a major source of revenue which would be negatively impacted economical if there was a high crime rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed overnight here to break the trip between Auckland & London.
No problems with the pick up & drop off from lax. Most helpfull staff at check in, late check out request wasn't a issue. Room was clean and spacious, comfortable king size bed. Balcony overlooking garden area & pool.
Was perfect for what we wanted. I would skip the breakfast and perhaps use Dennys next door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank punkrockrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review and the 4 star rating you gave your stay. Convenient, comfortable, clean, comparative value, customer service, and complimentary amenities...we strive to return to our guests a very desirable lodging product, guest room, for an affordable room rate in the airport area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The location is good because it is next to LAX airport. But it is a bit far away to the downtown and other points of interests for tourism. The public transportation from here is not effective. In this respect it is recommended to rent or to have a car. In this case consider that the hotel doesn't have a big park lot. The price is good considering the level of the room, their size and cleaness. What I found very poor is the offered breakfast, with small selection, very crowded, something than low quality of the food and dirty place, and the time is limited from 6 to 9 am.
I suggest it for very short stay and when you are not looking for 3 or 4 stars services. For tourism purpose, I suggest to look at other locations in LA, Anaheim, Santa Monica.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Giuseppe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

What is special...parking for guest is free not available in other airport area hotels...savings of $18 to $25 a night. There is always a parking space and ALL guest cars are accommodated.
CONTINENTAL breakfast -- hours are being changed to 6 to 10 a.m.; a continental breakfast is not prepared in a fully licensed restaurant like Denny's which adjoins the hotel and provides a full menu of hot/cold items -- as advertised, the hotel's continental breakfast includes 3 hot items waffles, sausages, and oat meal...then a variety of "continental" breakfast items...bagels, toast, fresh fruit, cold cereals, beverages, fruit juices, cream cheese, hard boil eggs, yogurt.
Transport -- actually the metro/bus line pick-up is within a few feet of the hotel. In other reviews guests have commented on how convenient the service is...all for a $1...easy access to Venice and Santa Monica Beaches. The Ocean Express...easy travel to Manhattan Beach and two malls. Easy access to the freeways if you are driving.
Good size rooms, good price, complimentary Wi-Fi access and guest computer center...clean...for a moderate room rate...double the rate in Anaheim, downtown Los Angeles,, and Santa Monica -- you may receive a few more frills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Westside
La Quinta Inn & Suites LAX
La Quinta Inn & Suites LAX
#129 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,523 reviews
Westside
Hyatt Regency Los Angeles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#94 of 353 in Los Angeles
4,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl

Address: 5547 W Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-5913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £93 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Los Angeles
Travel Lodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travel Lodge
Los Angeles Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing