We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Front Desk Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Ranked #62 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Front Desk Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

They gave me a room that was already occupied twice. Rather than making attempts to rectify the situation immediately, they kept making excuses.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room - else, the view is very nomial at the least
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    1,146
    438
    149
    71
See reviews for
534
741
202
728
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
485 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I had a 24-hour layover and chose this hotel because my Marriott points were expiring. The hotel is fine but I regretted the choice of location. It is far from downtown or Hollywood or Westwood, locations where one would be tempted to go if one had 24 hours. That's not the fault of the hotel. I ended up taking a combination of bus and taxi to get from the hotel to and from Westwood and Santa Monica.

But because the hotel is best for transit passengers, it is designed for transit. Reception staff were cool and professional as opposed to friendly. (Can't blame them if they have people just flowing through.) Bellhops were friendly and helpful.

The room is small but comfortable. Right next to the door is an alcove for luggage. I used that right away as my main suitcase was not meant to be open.Toiletries were of Marriott quality: the chain probably has the best moisturiser.

I ate at the Champion, a sports bar-restaurant. Food was decent. I had breakfast at the Starbucks in the lobby.

What might I do differently next time? Well, taking the taxi twice cost me $100 in all, including tips for the two times I went out by bus ($1 flat fare each time). I debated renting but for a 24-hour visit, it's hard to justify. The total cost of rental (with insurance and GPS) is around $60. Throw in the parking at Marriott ($25 a day) and I get $85. So I save $15 but inherit all the aggro (ok, but also convenience) of a car. The hotel is located across the street from Budget car rental. So I might look for a way to rent without parking.

Alternatively, I could check-in into a place nearer the sightseeing/shopping spots.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
263 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

First the doors to the rooms are extremely low and small. I am not a tall or large person but I truly noticed it.

Also while very resort like, being so close to the airport it was noisy. For a night before an early flight it was perfect but I would not spend a weeks vacation here.

Room Tip: The JW Steakhouse was very good - service was average but food was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flfoodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Solid offering, nothing to write home about.

5/5 for Service. Was greeted at every turn by friendly and attentive staff.
4/5 for Rate. Reasonably priced place for LAX area.
5/5 for location. Almost walking distance from the Airport (don't do it though).
3/5 Bathroom. Too small. Felt a bit like an airplane bathroom.
1/5 Fees. Killing people on the fees for internet and parking

Didn't eat there this go round. Champions bar is ok (decent beers, food is marginal bar food).

Room Tip: find a room away from the main drag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peakrangerinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Marriotts are always a wise choice. The Lax location did not disappoint. The lobby sets the atmosphere. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. Comfortable beds are a plus. Convenient for business travelers as airport shuttle is provided.
Would highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealTravelAgent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Fabulous stay on high floor with wrap around windows - view of all of LA. Very quiet large room. Great spa - try the steam room for sure.

Room Tip: high floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abstraction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMARILLO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Nice room, great service - although nobody helped to get my luggage out of the car, they just stood there saying "welcome to Marriott". I went out to eat, and upon my return the whole floor smelled so intensely like Raid that I got nauseous. Otherwise it's a nice place, just don't come here on the scheduled exterminator day. Fast room service, too.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coqueliquot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#81 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,466 reviews
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Renaissance Los Angeles Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
LAX Area
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Angeles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Angeles Airport Marriott

Property: Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Address: 5855 West Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#44 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#57 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Angeles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1004
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious rooms, innovative amenities and a sophisticated atmosphere when you book a stay at the luxurious Los Angeles Airport Marriott. Our hotel near LAX offers a complimentary shuttle service to the airport, less than 1.5 miles away. Other nearby points of interest include the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Manhattan Beach, Third Street Promenade and a variety of shopping and dining. The Ocean Express Beach Trolley stops at the hotel every 30 minutes to transport guests to Manhattan Beach. Guest rooms at our LAX hotel feature plush bedding and modern technologies. Business travelers will appreciate high-speed Internet access, spacious work desks and ergonomic chairs. Our Marriott features two popular restaurants in addition to a sports bar and Starbucks(R) coffeehouse. Active travelers will enjoy our resort-style pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. Our hotel near LAX also features 55,000 square feet of event space for conferences, weddings and banquets. Enjoy the utmost in comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Angeles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Angeles Airport Marriott Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Marriott
Marriott Los Angeles Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing