We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated and Terrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Ranked #67 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outdated and Terrible Service”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel is in desperate need of renovation. Stayed here the night before a flight and am a Marriot silver elite customer. Horrible customer service at check-in. Had requested a king and when it wasn't available would only be given an "upgraded room" with a king at an additional charge. Totally unnecessary for the add'l charge especially as often as we stay at a Marriott. The room itself was on the top floor and was supposedly an "upgrade", but was very dingy. Carpets need to be replaced - had a musty odor. Bathrooms are old and very outdated. Would not stay here again. Will try the Westin next time on the same street. Went there for dinner at the Daily Grill.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank excitedtraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    1,193
    462
    159
    78
See reviews for
570
766
213
762
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at the Marriott overnight to catch a flight to Cabo the next morning. I had made my reservations in advance and requested a room on a higher level with a great view of the city (yes, I am a rewards member). So, we arrive at the airport and wait for the shuttle and wait for the shuttle and wait for the shuttle (many shuttles came and went repeatedly before the Marriott shuttle finally showed up. We arrive at the hotel and I again confirm that we will have a higher level floor with a great view of the city. I'm told that we will be very happy with the room as it has a great view (see photos attached - if this is a great view.... I would hate to see a bad one). The room was clean but very small. The next morning we waited on the shuttle and waited on the shuttle and waited on the shuttle. We will try a different hotel on our next visit to LA.

Room Tip: You might mention that a "nice view of the city" does not mean a nice view of the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilLorriLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

.... We arrived early evening for an overnight after 24 hours of travel. First a van never came for airport transportation so we took a taxi...$20.00. Then at the hotel, no Valet to help with luggage until once inside. We didn't use the bellman. No real front greeting....cold....and the desk clerk seemed to hate her job. I was told it was late,7:00pm and the room type I reserved was unavailable so "what do you want?". Still no bellman help. Since I stay at Marriotts often, I commented that I was not accustomed to finding a circumstance as this. Tha clerk did not care and stated again, what do you want, two double beds? I took the room and before we went to it I approached an "elite" registration desk where Andrea greeted me and was helpful in changing the room.

We did not ever get a bellman. Other than Andrea, poor staff, room was ok, small bathroom, but clean and quiet room. I would choose differently even for a 24 hour lay over.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mahlonjanwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

They gave me a room that was already occupied twice. Rather than making attempts to rectify the situation immediately, they kept making excuses.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room - else, the view is very nomial at the least
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I had a 24-hour layover and chose this hotel because my Marriott points were expiring. The hotel is fine but I regretted the choice of location. It is far from downtown or Hollywood or Westwood, locations where one would be tempted to go if one had 24 hours. That's not the fault of the hotel. I ended up taking a combination of bus and taxi to get from the hotel to and from Westwood and Santa Monica.

But because the hotel is best for transit passengers, it is designed for transit. Reception staff were cool and professional as opposed to friendly. (Can't blame them if they have people just flowing through.) Bellhops were friendly and helpful.

The room is small but comfortable. Right next to the door is an alcove for luggage. I used that right away as my main suitcase was not meant to be open.Toiletries were of Marriott quality: the chain probably has the best moisturiser.

I ate at the Champion, a sports bar-restaurant. Food was decent. I had breakfast at the Starbucks in the lobby.

What might I do differently next time? Well, taking the taxi twice cost me $100 in all, including tips for the two times I went out by bus ($1 flat fare each time). I debated renting but for a 24-hour visit, it's hard to justify. The total cost of rental (with insurance and GPS) is around $60. Throw in the parking at Marriott ($25 a day) and I get $85. So I save $15 but inherit all the aggro (ok, but also convenience) of a car. The hotel is located across the street from Budget car rental. So I might look for a way to rent without parking.

Alternatively, I could check-in into a place nearer the sightseeing/shopping spots.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

First the doors to the rooms are extremely low and small. I am not a tall or large person but I truly noticed it.

Also while very resort like, being so close to the airport it was noisy. For a night before an early flight it was perfect but I would not spend a weeks vacation here.

Room Tip: The JW Steakhouse was very good - service was average but food was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flfoodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Solid offering, nothing to write home about.

5/5 for Service. Was greeted at every turn by friendly and attentive staff.
4/5 for Rate. Reasonably priced place for LAX area.
5/5 for location. Almost walking distance from the Airport (don't do it though).
3/5 Bathroom. Too small. Felt a bit like an airplane bathroom.
1/5 Fees. Killing people on the fees for internet and parking

Didn't eat there this go round. Champions bar is ok (decent beers, food is marginal bar food).

Room Tip: find a room away from the main drag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peakrangerinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#88 of 350 in Los Angeles
4,748 reviews
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#51 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#73 of 350 in Los Angeles
568 reviews
LAX Area
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Angeles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Angeles Airport Marriott

Property: Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Address: 5855 W Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-5614
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#43 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Angeles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1004
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious rooms, innovative amenities and a sophisticated atmosphere when you book a stay at the luxurious Los Angeles Airport Marriott. Our hotel near LAX offers a complimentary shuttle service to the airport, less than 1.5 miles away. Other nearby points of interest include the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Manhattan Beach, Third Street Promenade and a variety of shopping and dining. The Ocean Express Beach Trolley stops at the hotel every 30 minutes to transport guests to Manhattan Beach. Guest rooms at our LAX hotel feature plush bedding and modern technologies. Business travelers will appreciate high-speed Internet access, spacious work desks and ergonomic chairs. Our Marriott features two popular restaurants in addition to a sports bar and Starbucks(R) coffeehouse. Active travelers will enjoy our resort-style pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. Our hotel near LAX also features 55,000 square feet of event space for conferences, weddings and banquets. Enjoy the utmost in comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Los Angeles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Angeles Airport Marriott Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Marriott
Marriott Los Angeles Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing