We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Marriott that could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Ranked #61 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Marriott that could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The LAX Marriott Hotel has been around for decades, and has many good features. The food in the concierge lounge is better than most, but access to the lounge when they aren't serving is not permitted. During my stay there were plumbing problems-- scalding water in the shower--that they couldn't completely fix, though they claimed they could. Problems with the card key at the parking lot were met by one employee who was disinterested but another who went out of his way to help. A good hotel that should be better.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Los Angeles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us, I appreciate your comments. We did experience plumbing issues that are now solve. I hope you'll be back to stay with us again.
Best regards,
~ Steven H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    1,146
    438
    149
    71
See reviews for
534
741
202
728
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Marriott LAX.

Stayed for two nights for start of our holiday, very good location right at LAX with good shuttle bus service to the hotel and most car hire locations just a short walk away.

Although the hotel looks tired from the outside the public areas like our room were clean and well decorated. The staff who we encountered were all very helpful and polite.

Our room was very spacious with a balcony and view over the pool. No noise problems from the airport. Well appointed bath room with nice toiletries. The only negative would be the lack of power sockets, may seem petty but having a desk in the room with no power points close by and having to unplug lamps to try and charge our electronics was a small inconvenience.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiddyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Los Angeles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't find that there were enough outlets in your room though. I hope that you'll stay with us again when you're in Los Angeles.
Best regards,
~ Steven H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed one at the LAX Marriott in January 2014. Good hotel in a convenient location - very easy and close to LAX airport.

This is a standard Marriott Hotel - nice but not a resort location. Pleasant and professional staff and the room was clean but not large.

If I needed proximity to LAX again, I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DadfromRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Los Angeles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the kind words, it's great to hear that you will return when you're in the area.
Best regards,
~ Steven H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel have an exceptional staff. Most of the employees Are very helpful and very nice from the valet parking guy to their restaurants staff. Parking prices is extremely expensive even for people that staying at hotel but in overall good hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Calish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Los Angeles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I'm delighted to hear of your stay, thank you for your comments.
Best regards,
~ Steven H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel after 3 days at Disneyland, hoping to have a restful stay before our afternoon flight back to London the following day. Upon arrival, the hotel lobby was very crowded, which proved intimidating to our 3 small children. Check-in was difficult, largely because the receptionist was not a native English speaker, and had very little English. When we finally accessed the room, it was small, noisy and dirty. Given the lateness and the fact that our children were exhausted, we ordered room-service, which was VERY expensive, and really poor. The double bed was tiny, and the crib for our infant daughter was finally delivered at 11pm! We found it hard to sleep, as the a/c in the room didn't work, and it was also very noisy, as we were located above the pool, which was supposed to close at 10pm but didn't. The charge of almost 15 dollars for wi-fi summed up the attitude of the hotel - residents unlucky enough to stay there were used as a way of making money and nothing else.
At breakfast the next day, we were made to queue for 45 minutes for a table. The very expensive (spotting a theme here?!) buffet was nasty, and we were refused a highchair, with the third person we asked (the first 2 didn't understand English) telling us that they were "all out of highchairs, there are too many babies in here". I really wish we hadn't stayed here, it proved a stressful and unpleasant end to our holiday, and as a result I will never use the Marriott brand again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Los Angeles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, we will be in touch as we discussed through private message.
Best,
~ Steven H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

As a frequent traveler (I'm Hilton Diamond and Marriott Gold - that tells you how many nights I spend in hotel rooms), I freely admit I have high standards. That being said, I think this is the first time I've given a hotel anything less than a 4 out of 5 rating on Trip Advisor.

There were two main reasons I selected this hotel - the proximity to the airport, and the fact I had a Marriott gift card. Actually, the second reason was of higher priority, as I had originally planned at staying at the Hilton one block away. In retrospect, I wish I had stayed at the Hilton.


Things got off to a bad start when I requested (and was told I had received) a room upgrade. However, when I arrived in my room, it was SMALL. I felt especially claustrophobic in the bathroom with very limited space between the toilet, door, and bathtub. And the room certainly was not an upgrade (at least not what I'm used to in Hilton properties.) In fact, I have stayed in much larger rooms in London, and London is known for its small rooms! I thought - okay, if this is the only problem, well, then life's not so bad!

Then I found a rather large fingernail (yes, a fingernail) in my bed, right on top of my sheets, when I went to turn down my bed that evening. Granted, housekeeping was quite apologetic and remade my bed with fresh sheets. But no one said to me, "Sir, how can we make this up to you?" Strike two...

The next morning, I went to the Concierge Lounge promptly at 6 a.m. when they opened. Foolish me assumed the eggs and sausages would be nice and hot when they were first brought out. I guess I shouldn't assume! I wasted an entire plate of food because it was barely warm (bordering on cold). I went back to the food area, stirred up the scrambled eggs myself and dug down deep in the eggs and sausage - finallly finding some hot food. When I mentioned it to the staff in the Concierge Lounge, they didn't seem the least bit concerned. Nor did I see them attempt to rectify the situation or follow up with me. Strike three....

Then, I headed down to the whirlpool (after a lackluster breakfast) around 6:15 a.m. The signage indicated it was supposed to open at 6 a.m., but there was a large sign blocking entrance and the whirlpool wouldn't turn on. So, I put a shirt back on and walked upstairs to the front desk. They did send a maintenance person who was able to get the whirlpool started and removed the large, obtrusive sign. But, shouldn't it have been ready to go promptly at 6 a.m.? And did I mention that the whirlpool was not even hot? Strike four....

And then there were other things....the Concierge Lounge wasn't open much over the weekend, other than for breakfast. Just because I wasn't there on business doesn't diminish my Marriott Rewards Gold status. And there were always kids in the whirlpool. Oh, and there was very little shade around the pool area.

The hotel is a short (10-15 minute) walk from Terminal 1, which is handy if you don't want to wait for a shuttle bus. And the pool area, overall, is quite nice.

Other than those two key features, this hotel has nothing going for it. Next time I'll likely go with my gut and stay at the Hilton.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you want a small European-style hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisinnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Los Angeles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your detailed review, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. I'll be sending you a private message. I appreciate your comments.
Best regards,
~ Steven H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Located near LAX, it has a great location, because its "near" many turist areas: hollywood, beverly hills, venice beach, six flags, universal... You can get to all this places in less than an hour, which is fast for L.A traffic. Parking not included, it's 24$ per day and no wi-fi in rooms. The pool is fantastic and also the fitness room. It has a good restaurant and a starbucks. The rooms and the hotel are in good conditions, but a bit old. Ask for a top floor (cool airport view and more sun).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexsanchezdiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Los Angeles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, we're in a great spot for an L.A. home base. Thank you for staying with us.
Best regards,
~ Steven H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#81 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,463 reviews
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Renaissance Los Angeles Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
LAX Area
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Angeles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Angeles Airport Marriott

Property: Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Address: 5855 West Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#44 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#57 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Angeles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1004
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover spacious rooms, innovative amenities and a sophisticated atmosphere when you book a stay at the luxurious Los Angeles Airport Marriott. Our hotel near LAX offers a complimentary shuttle service to the airport, less than 1.5 miles away. Other nearby points of interest include the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Manhattan Beach, Third Street Promenade and a variety of shopping and dining. The Ocean Express Beach Trolley stops at the hotel every 30 minutes to transport guests to Manhattan Beach. Guest rooms at our LAX hotel feature plush bedding and modern technologies. Business travelers will appreciate high-speed Internet access, spacious work desks and ergonomic chairs. Our Marriott features two popular restaurants in addition to a sports bar and Starbucks(R) coffeehouse. Active travelers will enjoy our resort-style pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. Our hotel near LAX also features 55,000 square feet of event space for conferences, weddings and banquets. Enjoy the utmost in comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Angeles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Angeles Airport Marriott Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Marriott
Marriott Los Angeles Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing