We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough, if you need to be in the neighborhood”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mikado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mikado Hotel
Ranked #146 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
294 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good enough, if you need to be in the neighborhood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

There is no reason to stay here, unless you want a reasonably priced hotel and don't care about anything beyond a clean room and fair breakfast. The hotel backs up to the 101 Freeway and is on a busy street. Our room was in the back, and it was pretty quiet. The room itself was a decent size, but it was 'old and tired', and a bit dark for my taste. The hotel lobby was a nice place to sit and visit, and the people who worked there were helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    82
    61
    22
    16
See reviews for
90
57
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I did not actually stay here, but my niece and her family-hubby,teenage daughter & son - did and I came to visit. Room looks comfy and accommodating, good parking, seem comfortable and enough room for all with coffee maker for early coffee. I heard they also have continental - muffins/bagels - for breakfast
. The cost was great too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel. I was happy with the location as far as driving to tourist destinations. The room was very clean. The price was fair. The breakfast included was adequate. WI Fi was included in the rate. The Desk person was very helpful with any questions we had about directions, sites, Tour ideas. The neighborhood was safe.

Room Tip: to queen bed room near the pool, king beds room near the garden, seemed very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
239 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Yes I would go back again, clean, quiet . .great breakfast . . 2.5 star hotel . . And it is ok . . Buttttt I would spend another $25 per night for a better location . . Closer to Universal Studios . . Not really a kids place. It is close to Universal . . so I guess my attitude is more about the neighborhood than anything else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel is located in a not so exciting place in LA. For food and other options, you may have to travel.

The hotel is average looks wise. Breakfast was fine but the rooms were too noisy. The rooms near the end of the hotel had weird noises all night and can get scary if you are on your own.

Neighborhood is not great so it may be a good idea to spend some extra money and book a hotel close to a better surrounding unless this one gives you a deal

Room Tip: Do not take rooms towards the end where parking is there as they can be noisy at nighf
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 120anupama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Firstly, hotwire gave this dump a 4 star, which is a clear lie, as Mikado self proclaims to be a 3 star. Secondly, the hotwire price was a whopping $150, which is about the same as the walk in rate. Where is the deal?

Although the rooms were tidy, and the lobby was clean, the location is in a bad neighborhood: the front doors are locked at night and you need to use the side entry to be buzzed in. The pool flanks the highway and the free breakfast is located in a Japanese restaurant. The breakfast was delicious, but I never had eggs/bacon in a Japanese restaurant before.

At 5am, the person upstairs started to pack and get ready. The footsteps are very very loud. I refused to shower after a long day because the washrooms were so gross and dated.

The concierge barely spoke English so asking him for information was futile. Just beware of any hotel offering free breakfast, Wi-Fi, and parking!!

Room Tip: Do not pay more than $100 to stay here, as you will feel you overpaid. Also, get a room away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReuelaS, General Manager at Mikado Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
On behalf of our team, I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation at our property. We always aim to have our guests a pleasant stay and great customer service. We appreciate the comments you gave us, this will help us how to improve our service in the future and hope you'll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in LA visiting family. This is a straight up motel disguised as a hotel. The room smelled stale and walls and floor are paper thin. Nice private balcony and bathroom was soooo small. Not coming back here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kendrah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#99 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
#53 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
#95 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
BEST WESTERN Burbank Airport Inn
#90 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikado Hotel

Property: Mikado Hotel
Address: 12600 Riverside Drive, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motor Inn located just off Ventura Freeway (US 101) between Laurel & Coldwater Canyons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mikado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing