We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value hotel for the area.”
Review of Mikado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mikado Hotel
Ranked #146 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Comstock Park, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A good value hotel for the area.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We have a son who lives in North Hollywood so we visit once a year. We have stayed at many hotels in the area but this place is a very decent hotel at a very decent price. Very good breakfast (compared to what it was 10-15 years ago). It's old but it's clean. You can pay twice the price because of the area or you pay less for a dumpy hotel. If you want a decent clean older hotel for a decent price, this is your hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    88
    62
    23
    17
See reviews for
95
61
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms definately outdated (new carpet though) layout odd if u park in back lot u have to drag luggage down stairs very similar to a Motel 6. Nice garden area, quiet. Only allow one luggage holder per room??? I asked was told no. Good location to Universal, Metro link stops on both corners nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLady76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here only because we had business next morning in the office one block away. The hotel looked and felt like a motel. Parking is just in front of your room. The room and setting were not at all fancy just decent. Our king-sized bed sat at the floor elevated 6-7 inches from the entrance floor, a peculiar design. However, I thought it's "dangerous" if someone would go to bathroom at midnight, he/she might slip and fall into "ground" floor not watching their steps.
Next morning's breakfast was passable. It was presented at next door Mikado Restaurant, a nice place. (free) Wi-fi connection was very poor-unworkable.
It almost deserved a 2.5 stars.

Room Tip: make sure the bed-floor is at the same level as entrance floor. Make sure that your 2nd-level room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuang004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife, son and I have stayed at the Mikado several times, after our initial stay in July, 2013. We found the service to be excellent, the rooms were comfortable and adequate, although a little old and tired. The beds were comfortable.

I don't understand the comments about noisy rooms. We prefer to stay in room 235 which is directly next to the freeway. However, there is a row of heavy bushes between the motel and the freeway, and the insulation must be pretty good, as I have never had a noise problem during any stay.

The breakfast is very good, and yes, it is served in the Japanese Restaurant on the property..... I guess I don't understand why that should be a problem for one reviewer.

The neighborhood is NOT BAD as some reviewers indicated. I am 78 years old, and always take a 30 minute walk in the morning. I felt very comfortable walking around in this area.

Room Tip: I like room 235 next to the freeway.. Not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After booking this room via hotwire, I was concerned about the reviews on here. However, after staying here, I am surprised by some of the poor reviews. When I was searching, I found this to be an affordable alternate to the overpriced rooms in Hollywood. I was concerned about this being a motel, with doors that open straight to outside, but once I arrived, I felt like the area was safe, and I didn't worry about it. The free and ample parking more than made up for it.
The hotel is on a main road and there is expressway noise outside, but I felt as if our room was quiet enough. You may want to request a room on the front side if noise is a concern. There are several chain restaurants within a few minutes drive, and if you take Laurel Canyon Road, you can be in Hollywood in just a few minutes. Also, Universal Studios is just up Ventura Blvd.
The free breakfast includes hot eggs, sausage, potatoes, and eggo type waffles in addition to the normal cold breakfast items. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool.
If you require a Marriott, and are willing to pay $200+ for one if Hollywood, then you may not like this motel. However, if you are a price conscious family traveler, this may be your best bet for Hollywood attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank z28colt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We always recommend this hotel to family members when they come to visit. The main building is clean, the rooms are clean, it's relatively cheap given the prices of other hotels in the area, the pool is clean and you'll have it to yourself. It's easy to jump on the freeway to get anywhere quickly. Especially if you want to do the studio tours and Universal City.

With that said, the hotel actually backs up to the freeway so some people are bothered by the noise of the cars driving past at all hours. I wouldn't eat in their restaurant when so many other really good places to eat are nearby including Hugo's which is within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachWriterLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

There is no reason to stay here, unless you want a reasonably priced hotel and don't care about anything beyond a clean room and fair breakfast. The hotel backs up to the 101 Freeway and is on a busy street. Our room was in the back, and it was pretty quiet. The room itself was a decent size, but it was 'old and tired', and a bit dark for my taste. The hotel lobby was a nice place to sit and visit, and the people who worked there were helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#93 of 350 in Los Angeles
180 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#47 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
#102 of 350 in Los Angeles
962 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#135 of 350 in Los Angeles
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikado Hotel

Property: Mikado Hotel
Address: 12600 Riverside Dr, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607-3411 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motor Inn located just off Ventura Freeway (US 101) between Laurel & Coldwater Canyons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mikado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing