We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average.”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #14 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Our stay here was OK but we didn't feel that the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome as the staff at our previous hotel in Anaheim had done. The rooms and hallways of the hotel were quite dark and cave like and the noise from the traffic in our room was terrible, especially when we were trying to sleep at night. We didn't feel like the staff was particularly knowledgeable at all. I asked where I could go to mail a parcel and was told that I'd have to get on a bus and travel miles. I checked Google for myself and found a UPS store within walking distance. Other times I asked for advice from the staff at the front desk, I was told to go and ask the lady who worked in the gift store. This would have been fine because she was lovely and helpful but often when we were referred to her by the other staff, it was during times that the store was closed. We were unimpressed with the restaurant, it was expensive and the food was underwhelming. We ordered a burger and it was undercooked (almost raw), we ordered the salmon and it was overcooked and the "lava" in our lava cake was solid. It really wasn't good enough considering the price we paid. the one positive point from our restaurant experience was our lovely waitress. Unfortunately I can't remember her name but she was a young girl with long straight hair. We also encountered her at the bar near the pool and she was lovely and really went out of her way to be helpful and welcoming. Next time we will definitely stay somewhere in a more convenient location and hopefully a more helpful staff and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for staying with us and I want to personally apologize that we did not deliver the experience you deserved. All reviews are shared with our entire staff so that we can learn from them and improve our processes. If I am correct, the server you are referring to is Kendall. She is a great associate who is the example of hospitality. Our Executive Chef also personally apologizes for not meeting your expectations. We appreciate you for taking the time to let us know of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,078)
There are newer reviews for The Garland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,133 - 2,139 of 3,078 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Greeted warmly by front desk staff. Room was old and smallish. Did have a nice deck. They nail you for $15.00 a day to park. No valet and the huge property has hundreds of spaces. You have in and out privlidges but you have to insert a second key card in a gate to get in and out. You can have their breakfast buffet for $17.00! Maybe a good deal if you are paying in Euros. Hotel does not offer free coffee in lobby or near front desk. Talk about cheap!
Internet signal was strong throughout but the large size of the hotel and so many people getting on, overwelmed their internet and the access was awful. Don't count on getting on or staying on very long.
Elevators were fast. My room had no fridge or microwave. Nice pool and gym. Have Universal shuttle but first one does not leave until 8:30AM. I would stay somewhere else if you can.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We appreciate you choosing The Beverly Garland for your accommodations. We are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with our hotel. You mentioned us playing the “nickel and dime” game but we must respectfully disagree. Our parking charges are among the lowest in the area; our restaurant does offer a buffet at $16.95 but also offers an “a la carte” menu which provide numerous options at a lower cost. We also offer complimentary coffee in every guestroom with a “to go” cup allowing you to take it with you. I sincerely apologize if our complimentary Wi-Fi was not to your satisfaction, we are constantly upgrading the system to meet the demands of the many new popular smart devices but at times any system, depending on demand, will slow down. In addition, the reason the first complimentary shuttle leaves at 8:30 is because Universal Studios does not open until 9:00 a.m.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Fantastic hotel, but an expensive ride from the airport!would stay closer to the airport if only stopping over but would definitely stay again if i was there for a few days!!

Staff were really lovely. also the hotel runs movies by the pool some nights which is super cute.

Free shuttle to universal studios as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aes1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our property and hope your travels bring you back to LA for another visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We arrived at the hotel after driving down the coast from San Francisco. Our first impressions were excellent, the person who helped us was friendly, welcoming and very informative.
Our room was modern, very clean and we had a lovely balcony. There was also in-room coffee or tea making facilities and a fridge for cold drinks. We were always able to use the WiFi in our room for planning our trips around LA. We ate in the restaurant, Tula's, a few times and the food and service was excellent. There is a shuttle bus to Universal, though we never used it because we had a hire car. I would definitely recommend this hotel in LA!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaraN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for choosing The Beverly Garland for your visit to Los Angeles. We trust you enjoyed your drive from San Francisco as the drive along the coast must be one of the most beautiful drives one could take. We are so happy to hear your satisfaction for your room and the amenities the hotel. We appreciate your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is a very pleasant Holiday Inn, nice pool, grounds and restaurant. Made a reservation, which included two queen beds, for my grandson and myself. But when we arrived in the late afternoon, they said they did not have any rooms left with 2 beds. They would let us “have” a rollaway bed for only a $15 additional charge. (This included a bigger room which was necessary to fit the rollaway.) Since by grandson is no longer a little guy, a rollaway was not a good option. I didn’t care about the bigger room, we needed two decent beds. I was assured the rollaway was for an adult. Really? The tiny bed had a sunken middle and was turned up at both ends-- think banana, but not as comfy (good only for a toddler). Only by complaining did they take away the $15 extra charge, saying, “They would waive the fee, this one time only.” I guess that means the next time they mess up a reservation, they won’t waive the extra charges for their error. This is a staff-training problem. The employees were pleasant but had no idea how to deal with inevitable hotel mistakes.
Lessons learned:
Booking through the hotel’s own web site seems to carry no weight.
Being a Priority Club member seems to carry no weight.
Reservation specifics at this Holiday Inn are not guaranteed

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsiaFanCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience and I want to personally apologize for us not delivering on our promise as it is apparent we dropped the ball. All reviews are shared with our entire team and I assure you that we will do everything in our power to make the necessary corrections in our service delivery. Should your travels bring you back to our area, we hope you will try us again as the experience you encountered during your visit is not what we are known for. Our goal is for everyone to feel they are most important and it disappoints me when we don’t deliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Really liked this hotel. Close to Universal with free shuttle it had good rooms with plenty of room for 4 people in our two doubles room. The rooms were well furnished, clean and had a good sized TV. I especially liked the pool area which was beautiful, well maintained, plenty of sun loungers and towels etc. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. We stayed two nights and I would have hestitation in recommending it. The hotell had free wi fi which was great but there wasa parking charge (the only negative thing i could say about the hotel.) we ate in the restaurant 1 evening and the meal was good and fair value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroonNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thanks for choosing The Beverly Garland. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the pool complex and especially thrilled that you would recommend our hotel. Guest recommendations are the best measure of satisfaction. My team and I are excited you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

An excellent hotel. The location is perfect for Universal Studios and the hotel provides a free shuttle which takes only ten minutes and avoids queuing and paying for parking at Universal. (You do have to pay for parking at the hotel but we left our car there all day even when we had checked out, at no extra charge). We ate at their restaurant Tula's which was also excellent. Great choice of food and excellent quality. Breakfast was the same. We had a bed and breakfast package so got two vouchers for breakfast. Kids under 12 eat for free from the kids menu otherwise $10 for the buffet. Additional adults (kids over 12) $16.95 but well worth it for the selection of food available. There's a nice pool and on Thurs, fri and sat evenings they show a kids movie at the pool, so kids can watch/swim whilst the parents relax/eat/drink! The only slight grumble would be the noise level of the air conditioning, but overall I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I asked for a room away from the highway and it was quiet. I have no idea if the rooms on the other...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTVarese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thanks for choosing The Beverly Garland. We really enjoy hearing what our guests think about our property. I am happy to hear you also enjoyed our restaurant, Tula’s as our culinary team works very hard to ensure we provide a great experience. Thanks for the recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,744 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#121 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,660 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#50 of 352 in Los Angeles
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £158 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing