We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Garland
Nearby Hotels
US$462
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Los Angeles Airport(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
US$582
US$463
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$317
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$335
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$434
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,281)
Filter reviews
3,281 results
Traveller rating
1,655
1,139
324
112
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,655
1,139
324
112
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuniversal studiosfree shuttleyard restaurantbrady bunch housetrolley servicenorth hollywoodholiday innel doradopool areametro stationlovely hotelbunk bedson site restauranthot tubstudio citysmall balconycity walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,259 - 2,264 of 3,281 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon and found this to be a nice hotel. Its in a good location, plently of places to eat and drink that are within walking distance of the hotel. Metro station is a 15-20 minute walk away. Hollywood walk of fame is 1 stop away.
Rooms are fine, although we did have to change on our second night as they patio door didnt seem to seal fully when closed so freeway traffic was terrible, second room slightly less noisey. Balcony just barely fits a table and 2 chairs, so sitting out there was a challenge. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Layout of the hotel is a little confusing in my opinion, I could never find my way back to reception without going around in circles first.
Parking is $15 per night. Hotel has a nice pool area, gift shop with helpful staff regarding tours etc. Restaurant was nice, however staff seemed a little run off their feet even though it was not full.
Overall we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Away from the freeway side
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thanks for staying with us during your honeymoon….CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! We appreciate you letting us know how you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is set on 7 acres of land and comprises 7 building so yes, it can be challenging for some, but I know you will agree that the garden setting makes it all worth it. Again, congratulations and we wish you many years of happiness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Nice accommodations for the area I suppose. Nothing special, nothing bad. My only complaint is that it seems all Holiday Inns have crappy beds. We were taking a family trip to Universal Studios, so the kids didn't care and the parents were tired. If I were going on business, I don't think I would stay here soley because of the uncomfortable beds. Otherwise, it is a great place.

Room Tip: There is a loud bar connected to the hotel and those patrons use the parking lot. It is secured, but ask for a room and parking that is as far away from that as you can get.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Universal. Sorry you were not satisfied with our beds as this comes as a surprise because we get numerous favorable comments about our beds. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The Beverly Garland is a hidden gem in the craziness of Los Angeles. The details of the hotel, service and cleanliness are fantastic. We stayed with the family on a weekend when they show movies by the pool, the kids had a blast.The food prices are very affordable for families.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

So glad to hear the kids enjoyed the pool and movies…our Dive-In Movies have really become a hotel favorite…hope with them being busy enjoying the pool and movie, you had an opportunity for some R&R. We look forward for your travels taking you back to LA soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in August 2012 as part of a 3 centre USA west coast holiday.

I was expecting this to be just another "standard" Holiday Inn hotel, having stayed in a number of Holiday Inn hotels in the UK. However, this hotel was so much better than those I have stayed in previously. Everything about the hotel was superb - the rooms, the beds, the public areas, the swimming pool area, the hotel's complimentary free shuttle bus which runs frequently to and from City Walk and Universal Studios - everything.

I have to also give a special mention to Carla who manages the reception. We had reason to seek her help and local knowledge on a couple of ocassions and found her to be exceptionally pleasant and helpful.

This was by far the best hotel we stayed in throughout our stay and hope to return to LA on vacation again in the future. I will not hesitate to stay here again.

If you are looking for a great place to stay which is conveniently located for Hollywood, Beverly Hills and Universal Studios then you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I would suggest you ask for a room not facing the freeway as this can be noisy at times.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cawdy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thanks for choosing us for your accommodations during your visit to Los Angeles. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city. We work very hard to create an environment that is different from the typical LA hotel; from our beautifully landscaped grounds, outside courtyards, relaxing pool complex, Tula’s Restaurant, rooms and more. However, none of this would mean anything without great associates like Karla. Thanks for recognizing her, we are very honored to have her on our team. Looking forward to your next visit to The Beverly Garland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Well we have never been to Los Angeles before so had no idea what to expect both me and my wife where very pleased with the hotel overall it was a friendly atmosphere all the staff were very good handling our queries and giving us any information we needed.Terri in the shop was very good she helped us sort out our super shuttle problem out thats another story. Breakfast buffet was superb we used this everyday good value and Tulas cocktails were delicous!
The room was more than what we expected we had two queen sized beds very comfortable and plenty of space with iron and ironing board and free wifi which was great for keeping in touch with home.The location is North Hollywood and not Hollywood thats something to remember when you book up any transport to the airport its a little out of the way but the shuttle to Universal city and the Metro was very welcome and we used this everyday.
There is a small shop with gifts etc this was also useful but if you walk out of the hotel to the left over a bridge there is small shopping area with a bar and supermarket with a couple of stores if you need any supplies.I would recommend this hotel to anyone we loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridget r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thanks for staying with us. I am happy to hear that out staff, especially Terri was able to help you with all your needs. We enjoy helping our guests make the most out of their time while staying with us as Los Angeles has so much to offer. We also thank you for dining at Tula’s, our Executive Chef, Dani Csotai and his culinary team create beautiful and tasty dishes that coupled with the right cocktail makes a perfect combination. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews