We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #14 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed for two nights, the room was really nice, bed was very comfortable.

Tulas restaurant was very good for both breakfast and dinner especially sitting outside when they light heaters.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and if I return would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
LindaWolverhampton: Thanks so much for the great review and joining our fan club - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,445
    1,040
    288
    98
    46
See reviews for
1,079
964
126
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel was spotless and good value for a budget hotel. The 'Judge Judy' tv show participants stay here which adds to the spice. The pool is basic with a jacuzzi and sunloungers. The rooms are large with nice balconies. The in room breakfast was wonderful. There is a hotel shuttle but it is not an ideal base for walking and exploring on foot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picksie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Picksie 1: Thank you for the review and we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We have a very convenient and ideal location for many Los Angeles attractions as you mention. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel is 20 minutes from downtown La Hollywood , Just a simple bus trip (bus stop across the rd from hotel Only 1.50 us each way . . Very close the universal city walk and universal studios . The hotel has a free trolley takes guests to and from every hr .
The hotel staff have excellent customer service from time staff greet you at the door and front staff are very helpful giving you the tips how the to get around Hollywood. The hotel has a excellent outdoor pool , spa . sauna open till 10 pm . Fitness center and laundromat in the hotel . Which rare to find in a hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darren2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
darren2060: Thanks so much for naming us the "Best hotel in Los Angeles"! We appreciate it and are happy you enjoyed your visit with us! We really are fortunate for our wonderful employees and their commitment to providing excellent customer service and experiences to all our guests. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had travelled across the US by train, been to Chicago, Indianapolis and New York and needed a few days to relax before flying home to Australia. The Beverly Garland was perfect. Good comfortable room, great snacks by the pool, freindly staff and shuttle to Universal Studios. We even found a great Golf Shop just down the road for my wife to stock up on clothing and shoes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Les W: we are glad to hear that you had a "perfect" stay and that our staff was friendly as well.
We thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

stayed 3 nights recently and couldn't fault the hotel. The closeness to Universal Studios and the free shuttle bus are real positives. Breakfast was a buffet and there was plenty of variety to choose from.Rooms were a bit on small side but adequate, bed was comfortable and ensuite fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stansevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Stansevers
We are happy to hear that you took advantage of the closeness of our Hotel to Universal Studios and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
We hope to see you soon in the near future. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for two nights during our two-week trip to California. I chose it over several of the hotels in the heart of Hollywood--and I'm sure glad I did! It was so spacious and peaceful that I had to keep reminding myself I was in Los Angeles. The kids loved playing in the huge outdoor pool, and I appreciated being able to do some laundry while they swam. The hotel has a 70's feel to it, and we affectionately called it the Brady Bunch hotel; however, the rooms were modern, spacious and clean. We did eat in the restaurant one evening--the food and service were good, and kids ate free! I was a bit apprehensive about the busy freeway so close by, but was pleasantly surprised that I didn't hear it much. Despite being away from central Hollywood, it was still a very convenient drive to the studio tours, Walk of Fame and Beverly Hills. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahtomedigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Beverly Garland for 7 days as part of a dance convention - some of which was held at the hotel. I really enjoyed the quirkiness of the hotel.... it definitely didn't feel like a chain hotel as it seemed very unique in it's decor. Our room was great size wise and we never felt on top of one another in the space. I also liked the fact that our room had two sinks - one outside and one inside the bathroom which was just great for my daughter and I as we both had our own. The shower pressure was awesome - I just love a strong powerful shower!!! The only thing bathroom wise that I didn't like was the fact that the sink took forever to drain and I'm not a big fan of that when I brush my teeth and have to wait for the sink to drain after and try and wash my rinsed toothpaste away. I have to be honest and say that I did find the bed to be pretty uncomfortable.... especially, the bedding which I found to be very heavy on top of me, it just didn't seem snuggly enough, if that makes sense. That's my only real reason for giving the hotel an average rating as I didn't really have a good night's sleep for any night that I was there. After having read the reviews on trip advisor before going, I got a room in the Portola building away from the Freeway and I honestly didn't have a problem at all with noise at all (and I am a pretty light sleeper). My daughter and her friends enjoyed the movies by the pool at night - swimming and watching a movie was a great way to relax after a busy day. We also ate during the Happy Hour in the bar and the food was awesome - would totally recommend the Quesadillas! They were yummy! The staff were also very helpful and friendly. I think the hotel could do with some updating and the bedding renewed so it would be a little more cozy but I would still recommend this hotel as a place to stay; especially if you are looking to go to Universal as the shuttle to there is great (about a 7 min drive). We didn't have a car but do be aware there is a cost to park your car there.

Room Tip: Portola buidling is away from the Freeway.... would suggest second floor or higher in that building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blebsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Blebsie: Thanks for calling us "home" for a week. We appreciate your comments on our great summer programming, happy hour food and the friendly and helpful attitude of all our team. We apologize for your experience with the sink draining and we do have systems in place to prevent future occurrences. Good luck to your daughter with the dancing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#107 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing