We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #9 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

During our holiday to Las Vegas we chose this family friendly hotel and were not disappointed. The hotel is conveniently located close to Universal Studios and offers a regular shuttle to the attraction. We found the laundromat at the hotel very convenient as it allowed us to wash our clothes for the next destination. The pool and evening movies were great for the kids. The Tulas restaurant did not disappoint, especially for room service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siphov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Siphov
Thank you for chosing us while staying in Los Angeles. We are glad that you and your family were able to enjoy our faciities. We hope to see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    1,013
    283
    96
    45
See reviews for
1,038
950
123
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here as part of a larger tour of the Western US.

The location is way out of the centre but only a 10 minute walk to the metro - so you can get to the main tourist spots easily. There is a decent pool and good restaurant attached as well as a shopping area a short walk away.

Service was very good - young friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cran4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Cran4
Thanks for your review. Hopefully next visit you can spend more time and enjoy our facilities.
We look forward to seeing you soon ! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very friendly welcome. Large comfortable rooms, fast wifi. There is a free shuttle to city walk and back with a clear timetable. We were also informed that you could park at the local metro stop (less than a 5 minute drive away) for free which took you into downtown LA and the Hollywood area along with other areas. A simple drive to Beverly Hills and LAX also. Lots of parking but be aware it is $17 per NIGHT not for the whole stay which we thought was quite pricey. There was a problem with our third night which had not been booked by our travel company by mistake. The 1st gentleman on reception said he would get in contact with someone to sort it out, when we went back in the evening he was not present and no one knew of our predicament so we had to go through explaining the problem again, but luckily this time it was sorted but it was just unfortunate this was not done in the 1st place and when we saw the gentleman the next day he didn't check with us if it had been sorted which was disappointing, but this was only a small criticism. On the whole we had a fantastic stay, we LOVED the observatory which was only a 15 minute drive away and the hotel have written instructions how to get there (get there VERY early if you are going to see sunset over LA) and the restaurant on site - Tulas was great when we went for dinner. The hotel is decorated beautifully inside and out, with water features outside, loads of space to sit and a pool which was large. Would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank excitedexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Excitedexporer:

We thank you for your good review and for your constructive criticism. We are sorry that we didn't get back to you on a timely manner but we are thrilled that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We hope to see you when you get back to Los Angeles for another "fantastic stay".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Totally enjoyed my recent stay at the Beverly Garland Holiday Inn located on Vineland Ave. in North Hollywood, CA. Great staff, location is perfect with easy access to highways and attractions, rooms are clean and well-maintained, nice pool area. Had a great time. Definitely give it 5 stars *****. Tula's restaurant has good food & service and is on the property. It is just a great trolley ride away from Universal Studios.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Pinehurst:
Thank you for giving us five stars in your review and for consider us a "Great LA Hotel" We do have a very convenient and ideal location for many Los Angeles attractions. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our food at Tula's. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stay for two nights. The night we check in, it was almost 11pm. There was no bell-hop, and we had to move our big luggages to our room by ourselve.
The reason that we felt terrible is that there is a big glass door to open before you can get out of the lobby and walk to our building. There was a manager-type-of-person sitting there and playing with his computer, and totally ignored us, who got our hands full with luggages. We had to in turn holding the doors to let us pass one after another. He could have just stand up and holding the doors for us to save us a lot of trouble.
Right after getting out the doors, we were at another door that we must use our cards to open. The door has steps in front, and we had to lift our luggages to the top stair.
The next morning, we discovered that we don't have to bring the luggages into the lobby with our luggages, so we don't have to pass that glass door. There is another route from the front door directly to the building door without any doors in between. We also discovered that on the other side of the building there is a ramp, so we don't have to lift our luggages. The guy who check us in is a nice guy, but maybe he could have pointed out those discoveries and we don't have to look for them.
The room is quite nice (though small), and the balcany is very nice. The hotel has a pool which is lovely. We didn't try any of the amenities of the hotel as we have all sorts of reservations in LA. But they look nice.
It is a good boutique hotel. but it is going to end its contract with InterContinental at the end of the year. I am too cheap to not stick to a program though... So I have to find another InterContinental property in Universal City.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zyxlsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Michael C

It's good to read that after a not ideal start you began to love the hotel. We thank you for your detailed feedback, it helps us get better and avoid this to happen to other guests.
We would like to keep you as our guest and hopefully next visit you can enjoy our amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is in a good location for both Universal Studios and generally – as it’s close to the 101.

We had a double room with 2 x queen beds, I thought we might struggle with tall teens but the room was a good size. The TV was also big enough with a wide choice of channels, particularly good for sport.

If your kids are younger than ours the nightly entertainment of a family film alongside the reasonably-sized outdoor pool might be a good additional attraction. The on-site restaurant was also good and the gym had a decent range of equipment.

$13 per day to park (more without a Holiday Inn ‘loyalty’ card), an hourly shuttle ‘tram’ to Universal, friendly staff, it’s a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo_Fiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Paolo Fiori
We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations and that your family enjoyed our pool, gym and restaurant. We hope you chose us when you come back to Los Angeles in the future.
Thanks for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARLINGTON, TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

A pleasant stay. This is an older hotel, but it has been very well maintained. Everything has been nicely updated.

Convenient shuttle to Universal Studios and City Walk.

On site laundry with free detergent.

Cozy pool area that was never overcrowded.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jneuzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Jneuzil
Thank you for you "perfect stay" review. We are thrilled that you enjoy our convenient shuttle, laundry facilities and cozy pool.
Looking forward to seeing you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#98 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#47 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing