We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & comfy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #9 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean & comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Close to universal and easy to get around on the shuttle bus .
Pool nice and clean and Tulas restaurant very yummy and friendly staff.
Only negative was a couple of un interested staff on front counter. Very helpful in the gift shop though.
Would stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrayzL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
FrayzL, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks for your comments and we are really sorry that our Front Desk staff was not as friendly as the one in Tula's.
Safe travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    1,012
    281
    96
    44
See reviews for
1,032
948
123
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Although this hotel is owned by Holiday Inn it certainly doesn't feel like a chain hotel.

The staff were superb, particularly the reception and pool bar staff. A great welcome on arrival and a fantastic room which had been newly renovated. A big king size bed with a small but functional balcony and a lovely shower.

The pool is quite small but adequate for the hotel with a nice atmosphere set by the staff. There is also a lovely hot jacuzzi. For those with children there is a nightly moved shown in the pool area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Douglas_Bell:
We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for considering us a "Lovely boutique style Hotel" although we are not owned by Holiday Inn.
We are glad that you enjoy our facilities and we hope you see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid August. Reception desk was very helpful and got us checked in early even though it wasn't check in time yet. Very clean hotel with a gift shop that sells drinks and snacks too. The gym was great too. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice. Had breakfast in the restaurant which was nice. The free shuttle to Universal and the metro was fantastic, we used it quite a few times. The subway from the metro only took about 4 minutes to get into Hollywood which was great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
RachfromOz
We thank you for your review, We are thrilled to know that you had a great stay and that you could enjoy our gym, restaurant and complimentary Trolley. Hopefully next time you can experience our pool. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights while exploring LA, our room was lovely and clean but we was hardly in our room. They had films on at night around the pool to entertain those who didnt venture out at night which I thought was good! They do a free shuttle to universal and the tram station which is only 2 stops away from Hollywood boulvard very easy to get to! Not close to any other amenities but if your willing to walk and get the tram a great base to stop!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmacs1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Emmacs1989
Thank you for your good review. Hopefully next time you can spend more time at the hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We were happy with our stay. Room was clean and reasonable for the price. Hotel facilities were OK also. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel has a free shuttle to Paramount Studios and metro station that runs every half an hour in the morning, and one hour till late.

Breakfast was nice, good selection in the buffet.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dan C
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found a friendlfy and helpful staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Safe travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for just one night, and did not have high expectations, as we weren't expecting much from a Holiday Inn. We chose it for the location, which was between the Hollywood Bowl and the Ronald Reagan Library in Simi Valley. The staff was friendly and efficient, the rooms were clean as a whistle, and the property was well maintained. Our room was extremely quiet...we didn't hear a noise all night -- and I know the hotel was fairly busy. Pluses: a free shuttle to Universal City; an onsite café that provided an above average breakfast; free Wi-Fi; and coffee pot in the room. There are a few minuses: Miniscule bottles of lotion and shampoo; the $17 nightly charge for parking (in a lot); and the close proximity of a very busy freeway (50 yards from the 101). .

Room Tip: There's a chance the parking fee can be negotiated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Donita V
We are glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We thank you for your review and for your feedback. We hope yo see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Spent four nights here and had a wonderful stay. Staff were friendly and helpful, food in Tulah's was very nice. Rooms clean and well presented. The only thing is we did get quite a bit of noise from the freeway as our room was on that side. That said I would stay here again if I returned to LA.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Angela M
Thank you for your great review. We really are fortunate for our wonderful employees and their commitment to providing excellent customer service. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#99 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#47 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing