We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great LA base”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A great LA base”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Beverly Garland. We booked the hotel because of its close proximity to Universal Studios and the free shuttle. The service at the hotel is unfailingly friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had a nice balcony overlooking the pool. Its huge plus was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The grounds and all the public areas were very nicely maintained. One of the biggest pluses from our point of view was the on site restaurant, Tulas. This offered well priced, tasty and healthy meals with very nice outdoor seating to enjoy the warm LA evenings. On the downside the air conditioning blew straight onto the bed which was pretty unpleasant and although they assured us they were coming in a planned renovation, the rooms did not have room safes. While the hotel offered a secure safety deposit box system it was just time wasting and cumbersome and was too small to fit and iPad which pretty much negated one of the reasons we want one. This said, we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

Room Tip: 7th floor is excellent - no noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,443
    1,038
    288
    98
    46
See reviews for
1,078
963
124
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

When I made this reservation, I didn't realize the history of this hotel. The original owner was Beverly Garland & her husband. She played on "My Three Sons" & "Decoy.". Her kids still have it & run it. It is a very nice hotel!! It's right beside route 101, lots of traffic, but it is not a problem. It's very quiet. The rooms are really nice & very up to date. The staff are awesome!! They are very friendly & very welcoming & very helpful!! The Trolley driver, I think, Freddie, was awesome!! He is so sweet!! The trolley is free for guests & it will take you & pick you up from Universal studios & the metro. Would definitely stay here again & would recommend it highly!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KeepingTheRoadsHotWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Beverly Garland for 3 nights whilst on a road trip through California. Staff were very welcoming on check and offered us a free upgrade on our room as they we're short of twin rooms. This we accepted gratefully and they also threw in free parking, which saved us $17 per day. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and the en suite had superb shower facilities. The hotel provided a free hourly shuttle bus to Universal Studios and city walk, which was very convenient and also saved on parking fees. The location of the hotel is great if you are planning to visit Hollywood Walk of Fame, Dolby Theatre, Warner Brothers Studios, Universal etc. as they are all within easy access. We would definitely recommend the Beverly Garland hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again when in L.A.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Very well maintained hotel. All the facilities were excellent, rooms were clean and I was looked after very well while I was there. The free shuttle to universal studios is great and it also stops at the metro for easy access anywhere around LA.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strongtristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was a great place to stay. Stayed here while visiting Universal Studios. They have a shuttle to take you to and from the park (only a five to ten minute drive). The property is well maintained and the rooms very clean. I thought the rooms were pretty quiet for being so close to the freeway. Tula's restaurant had a breakfast deal and the food was good. The pool is quaint and has a little feel of Hollywood. For the price..this place can't be beat. I stayed at the Hilton and Sheraton which are closer to the park and feel this was a much better value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polaris4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Excellent hotel. The conference facilities and restaurant and bar have undergone significant updates (remodels) in recent years. This hotel is old - 43 years, to be exact - but I always enjoyed staying there. It's really a charming hotel - more of a homey hotel than the other ones in the Universal Studios area. It's not fancy and does not need to be. The price per night can get high if you don't book at the right time, or if you're there during the travel seasons, but even my own family has stayed there when they come to visit me. So there ya go. I used to know Beverly; she was a gem. Very nice person and a virtuosa actress. She proved that she could be a great businesswoman as well as a Hollywood star. Her family has always been involved in the hotel operations and I think that's what has kept it from getting to be extremely profit-driven, like the hotels up the hill/over the hill are. The staff at the Garland are great too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon020201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you want to spend a few days around Universal Studios, this is a nice place to rest!
This hotel has a unique charm, and somehow some Californian Glamour.
Their restaurant is quite nice, delicious food, good service and surprisingly reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waehneldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#107 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing