We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Definitely Be Returning!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #9 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will Definitely Be Returning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Reception and Guest Services staff were nothing but friendly and helpful. The hotel had great amenities, Pool, Spa, Gym, Bar, Restaurant, Tennis Court and a Laundromat which was of great service during our extended trip to America. Parking available for $17 per day and a buffet breakfast was also included each morning which was a bonus. Buildings required room keys to access the building which I thought was great. Only thing that would have made our stay perfect was a Bar Fridge in the room as that was quite inconvenient. The staff working in the Gift Shop were able to organise our rental car and we were able to purchase ourUniversal Studio passes from and they were very helpful, they also have a free shuttle bus which goes out to the Studios everyday.

Great place for all people to stay and is also very family friendly. Very close location to Universal studios and there is a supermarket and pharmacy just down the street which was handy.

Overall no complaints and I will return here on my next trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiddelywinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    1,013
    282
    96
    45
See reviews for
1,037
950
123
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our second stay here as our first experience was excellent. The comfort and cleanliness of this hotel and pool is still very good and has a great gym and also the check-in staff were friendly enough but we found some of the staff in Tulas and Decoy to be quite rude. the problem with Decoy was one waitress in particular just completely ignored us, even when we tried to get her attention. I don't mind going into bar but when every other table is getting table service I expect it too. We ended up just settling bill and leaving. Met people later on who had had same experience with her but that night she could not have been nicer to us but when it was the end of her shift and she demanded we settle our tab with her, even though we were not ready to leave yet we realised it was all about getting tips for her and the reason for the rudeness the first time was we didn't start a tab with her. Needless to say we weren't back and she never got her big tip!
As for Tulas most staff lovely but every time I tried to order French toast they didn't have it and one day the waiter actually laughed about not having what we both wanted and that was after sitting and waiting about 15 minutes before being served. Yes the place was busy but we watched people sit after us and get served first.
If you are wanting help from the concierge go to the boys that work at night they are far friendlier and helpful.
If I was marking it on the hotel itself I would have given higher but for the price we paid I would expect a bit more from the restaurant and bar staff. We also asked for a room that didn't overlook the freeway when we booked 9 months earlier but once again we got the freeway!

Room Tip: make sure to ask for one that doesn't overlook the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susiejo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
On behalf of the Beverly Garland and the Food and Beverage team, we are very sorry for the poor experience you suffered while you stayed with us at the hotel.
While we are currently following up with our staff to make sure that no guest in the future has a similar experience, it does not take away from the unfortunate occurrence that you encountered. We always strive to get better as a team and your feedback will help us to do that. As we continue to grow our offerings and service, we hope that you will give us another opportunity to earn your trust. Thank you again for the very valuable feedback and our true apologies for the poor service and food you received.
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here with a friend on our first night in LA. We were going to Universal Studios the next day to see a Hello Ross taping and wanted to stay close to the studio. The hotel had multiple buildings and you could only get into the building with your room key, which I was happy to see. The room itself was fine, had enough space for two and the beds were typical hotel beds. The next morning we ordered breakfast, which cost $45 bucks for the two of us. No continental breakfast/breakfast vouchers, which would have been appreciated. The bathroom was not very clean at all- it didn't seem like that much attention was paid to that area of the room. The hair dryer that comes with the room overheated so I called the front desk and they had a maintenance person come up. He was very nice and replaced the hairdryer but the same thing happened again with the new hairdryer. There was obviously an electrical problem with the room we were in which was really inconvenient. I also got the room for $250+ with room service so this was not exactly cheap and I felt I could have gotten more for my money than I did. I will probably stay elsewhere if I go to the Universal City area again. The hotel wasn't awful by any means, but it could have been better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaVA713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
JuliaVA713
Thank you for your detailed feedback, it is very important to us. We are truly sorry for the inconveniences with the hair dryer and the cleanliness of the bathroom. We appreciate that you realize how safe the hotel is and the friendliness of our staff.
We are going through a full renovation of our hotel soon and we do hope you give us another chance in the near future to get you right.
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nice hotel with very friendly informative staff nothing too much trouble. It was delightful staying here after the hustle and bustle of caesars palace in Las Vegas. Room was good size and bed really comfy. We had room service for dinner one night and it was delivered quickly and hot and was very good. Free wifi in the rooms with easy access. A safe was available to guests in the business centre which was not ideal but better than nothing. Overall nothing bad to say We stayed in six hotels during our two week stay and this one we would definitely stay in again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
dmi65
We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services and we thank you for your kind review.
We are going through a major renovation soon and all our rooms will have safety boxes. We hope you can visit us again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I only had the chance to stay two nights at this wonderful Hotel, after four nights in another Hotel [dump] in Hawaii this was heaven, friendly and helpfull reception staff, quiet clean and comfortable room, one complaint no BAR FRIDGE.

Decoy bar & lounge unbelievable with great staff, I arrived on a late flight and Tulsa's were closed, however a young fellow managed to make me the best salad sandwich I've ever had what a treat.

As I had a midnight flight I managed to get two breakfasts & two dinners in Tulsa's and what a treat, breakfast almost all you can eat and for dinner you can't go past their New York Steak and the Chocolate Lave Cake & Vanilla Bean Icecream, the waiting staff very cutious and helpfull.

Iwill return again for a much longer stay, even at 76

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Very nice hotel at an affordable rate. The grounds are nice and lush. The design of the hotel and rooms is modern and rustic. The bathroom was a bit small and could use a remodel but fine. The only thing missing was a safe in the room. Everything was great with a nice restaurant/lounge and complimentary and reliable shuttle service to Universal Studios. Businesses like drug stores, coffee, drive-thru restaurants are close but not walkable. Friendly staff. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urban_Traveler650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I don't have a bad word to say about the Beverly Garland, we stayed there at the beginning of our trip and at the end in September. The hotel has lovely grounds and the pool area is nice too, the rooms were very clean and modern with free wifi access which is a must these days. Although there's not much in the near vicinity to do the restaurant on site serves top notch food and there's also a bar, if that's not enough then there is a free shuttle bus that goes to Universal city hourly which is only a 5 minute ride, we went there most nights to eat and for entertainment as there is a huge variety of restaurants, bars and shops there, the hotel is also in a very good location for visiting Hollywood, WB studios, Griffith park and observatory and a has easy access onto the 101 freeway which will get you to most places. The staff at the hotel can't do enough for you, they were always very helpful and very friendly making our stay very pleasurable. In conclusion I would definitely recommend this hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#98 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#47 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing