We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel but could do with some modernising”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #14 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here for Christmas Eve and Christmas day as we were on a 2 week holiday in California. We were greeted by a nice young man that carried our bags to the room and had an easy check in. The lobby was lovely with a fire burning. We had breakfast on Christmas day at Warren's Blackboard and the Christmas buffet- no complaints. The room was spacious and clean. It wasn't the best hotel on the trip but I can't complain either. The room was a little dated but was still nice. The free bus was soooo handy to Universal- we used it on Christmas Eve to go to Universal City Walk and then on Christmas day to Universal City. Ideal!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicli-dw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Nicli-dw

We are happy to hear that you had a good time with us over the holidays and that you enjoyed your Christmas breakfast at Warren's Blackboard. We are in the process of a full renovation and we'll have a new product early this summer "The Garland". We hope to have you back for Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,732 - 1,738 of 3,165 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

I am afraid that we did not enjoy the stay at the Beverley Garland. We were treated very disrespectful by the reception staff. On one occasion we were laughed about and our behaviour was called 'shocking' just because we asked for change for a phone booth !! The parking fee is up to $ 17 which is ridiculous high and also the breakfast buffet comes in at that price and doesn't even include coffee. We ended up going down the road to a well known coffee place where we saved a lot of money. The room were sort of ok but outdated. The worst is however the incredible noise level. We didn't sleep a single night but laid awake for hours listening to the 101 non-stop. Even with closed windows the road noise was unbearable. The 101 has 8 or 10 lanes there plus the 4-6 laned Vineland Boulevard turned our stay into headache mission!
I am sorry to have to write this but it put a dampener on our holidays; your receptionists could have made it easier for us but they should be trained to see customers as your paying visitor who pays their wages and not as some low live that can be treated with arrogance.
Having said that, the room service personal was much nicer !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Becky J

Thanks for the review! I apologize for the negative interaction you had with our hotel staff and for the noise. This is great feedback – thank you for sharing with us. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future and turn this experience around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We picked this hotel because they offered good room rates. It is a good location for a stay in LA with visits to the Universal Studios, Mulholland Drive, Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Sign, Sunset Strip and all other landmarks in LA. The rooms were fine, the facilities well maintained and the personnel was always helpful to any requests from our side. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the nearby tube station 'Universal / Studio City'. From there you can easily can go anywhere in LA with public transport.

A spacious and relatively quiet place just outside the city centre with good connections to travel by car or public transport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeReuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

DeReuf

Thanks for your great review! I’m happy to hear you got the chance to utilize our complimentary shuttle during your stay – it seems you enjoyed yourself on your vacation here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Interesting hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Hollywood. Well appointed, and though a little dated (read charming) on the outside, recent renovations are keeping the insides up to date. Well placed for access to Universal Studios and universal City. Free shuttle is convenient. A good selection of shops just a short walk down Vineland Avenue. I will keep coming back to the Beverly Garland. A tip for GPS Users - the Garmin still has the Hotel listed under Holiday Inn Universal .....

Room Tip: The Director's Suites are roomy - but the Hollywood Freeway can be a little noisy if you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerykAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

DerykAnderson

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are very excited about our renovations and I’m glad you are too. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience “The Garland”!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here nite of 3/24/14 quite by accident. Business meeting nearby was extended and we stayed over. After having spent previous nite elsewhere we just parked and walked in to ask rates, availability, etc. The receptionist answered all questions and asked if I'd like to see the room. She had one of the the bellhops escort me to see a large, comfortable suite. It was large almost to the point of being too large, but I liked it immediately and registered.
You have to pay for parking which seems to be normal for LA area. Comfortable bed, central air worked great, terrific water pressure (one of my pet peeves when I don't have it), and easy access. Internet WiFi fast and dependable. Easy log on. Office area in suite was great a nice surprise plus generous sitting room area, although phone only next to bed. In such a large room, should have been a couple more phones, but not a big deal. Didn't use spa so no comment.
Food was very good and breakfast buffet excellent. One annoying complaint is that restaurant staff seemed to disappear often.
Room very much worth the price!

Room Tip: Choose a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Luz H

Thanks for the great review! I’m glad our Front Desk Agent was able to assist you with showing a room and informing you about the hotel. It’s great to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our stay at The Beverly Garland is a mixed review. The pros: security was very tight. You couldn't get in or out of any building without your room key/card. They have a guest laundry which we did use. The pool area is very nice and had a fire going you could sit around. They had a shuttle to Universal and to the subway. Front desk was helpful and nice most of the time. Our room was older but it was still nice and the bed was heavenly!

The cons: Our room had been remodeled in the bathroom. There was a part unfinished and you could see it when you were taking a bath. It looked kinda gross and I tried not to look at it. I called down to the front desk one morning to see if they could cash a personal check and they said "no" and that's it! Didn't suggest an ATM or anyplace I might be able to get cash. No exhaust fan in the bathroom; just a heat lamp. Not a great location if you are doing things around LA besides Universal. And the thing that brought my rating down most: construction was being done on the bldg. we were in and it was the room above us. Hammers and other things started around 8:00 am every morning!! It sounded like gravel was falling, tools falling, and just overall general construction which was very loud. They have several bldgs. so I'm not sure why they didn't house all the guests in the other bldgs. while they did construction. Aggravating to say the least!!! It's not ultra expensive to stay here but I paid a fair amount and I didn't expect to have to put up with that type of noise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank threepowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Threepowells

Thank you for the review! You have some fantastic feedback and we will make sure to address each issue you outline here. I’m glad you appreciated our amenities and the security of our guest buildings. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Overall, I really enjoyed my three-night stay. The pool is very pretty, the grounds are well maintained and peaceful. The staff is very nice. The parking was $19 a night but I was using a Groupon for the room so I didn't mind so much. There are not really any restaurants within walking distance but there is a Marshall's, Michael s, etc. you can walk to shop. The Blackboard restaurant is expensive. There are no refrigerators in the rooms unless you rent them. The hallways if there is not a window at the end are low-ceiling and dimly lit. Our first night, we were put in a room beneath construction which is inexcusable. We were awakened at 8 am with banging and DRILLING! Ridiculous. Make sure when you request a room it is away from any construction (this should be a given!) and also make sure your balcony is not overlooking the freeway. Very loud even with the sliding door shut. Other than that, we requested a new room and were moved-no problem. The next room was nicer, and quieter. I hope we were not put in the first room because of the Groupon? The location was very good.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side with the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisekv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Denisekv

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your detailed feedback. I appreciate your compliments regarding our nice pool, peaceful grounds and nice staff.
We apologized for any inconveniences during your stay. We are in the process of a full renovation that will be completed early this summer and all rooms will have a refrigerator and a safe. Room assignment has nothing to do with the source of the booking but as we were fully committed it can get very difficult to honor all requests. We hope to see you back to try our new product "The Garland".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#135 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,704 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,861 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,183 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £158 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing