We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay. . .just not right now!”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #15 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Unless you enjoy jack hammering while you lay out by the pool. It's nice that they are renovating and they have to do it sometime, just make sure you are done before you stay here. Or, maybe you could negotiate a really killer deal right now. Read other reviews for the rooms and facilities. My guess is the group that put together my conference took advantage of a great rate due to the construction. Even so, it's not terrible, but. . .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MannyLiestold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

MannyLiestold

Thank you for your review! I apologize that your stay was disrupted by our renovations – we will soon have a brand new product and I hope you will return to see the new hotel "The Garland" Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 3,184 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked a standard room but were offered an upgrade to a Jr king suite for a small additional price. The staff took time to let me tour both rooms before making my decision. Though the standard room was nice the suite was amazing. Service was great and the hotel "chalkboard" in the hotel was also wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fancypants2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Fancypants2014

We thank you for reviewing the hotel and for great rating. It's good to hear that you took advantage of the upgrade and that you enjoyed Warren's Blackboard. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have loved my stay here. I've been here for 10 days and I couldn't pick one fault with the hotel. Our room was exactly what we wanted, we had our own balcony and the room&bathroom was very clean. Everything we needed was on site, and the staff made our stay extra enjoyable. All the staff were lovely, especially Alex and Justin. They were very welcoming and were always friendly, making us feel at home here. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurenxwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Laurenxwilliams

We thank you for reviewing the hotel and for your lovely comments about the hotel and most importantly our staff. We'll share your feedback with Alex, Justin and all of our associates.
We are happy that you found your home away home in LA! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is gorgeous and our room was spacious and comfortable. The shuttle bus to universal was a great perk and made it so easy to get to and from the park. All the staff are so friendly and helpful, especially Justin who was always lovely and couldn't do enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherylxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Cherylxw:

Thanks for a "Perfect" reciew and for your comments about the shuttle services and our staff.
We'll share your comments with Justin and the rest of the team. We look forward to having you back when visiting LA. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband had a conference at The Beverly Garland. We were very impressed with all aspects of the hotel .Our room was very nice, and the pool area and grounds were lovely.Everything was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant on site, Warren's Blackboard, had the best, locally sourced food! I don't think you could get a better meal in Southern California than at Warren's. I would stay here again, just to have easy access to the restaurant!
Free shuttle to Universal Studio and the Metro was very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Cpet

It's great to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, our services and our friendly staff. We thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you soon. Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good room, very quite on the lower level, good service and very clean room - loved the free shuttle bus to and from universal studios- only letdowns were no refrigerator in the room and was unable to check in early - would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Shane F

Thanks for your feedback about our property. We are glad that you enjoy our Trolley service and room cleanliness. We apologize for not being able to honor your early check in. Looking forward to welcoming you back when visiting LA. Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is perfectly located for a visit to Universal Studios and also has a free shuttle for drop and pick-up. There is a metro station nearby, though it might be difficult to locate the place if you decide to walk without GPS! The staff is super friendly and helpful. They helped us with space for getting ready around the swimming pool area since we landed up there early morning! There are good eating places nearby including a Starbucks, and couple of supermarkets too. Rooms are nice and clean. Overall a great property, especially perfect for a trip to Universal Studios!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank MeghaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

MeghaJain

Thank you for your great feedback about the Hotel and our friendly staff. We'll make sure to share your comments with our teams. We would like to have you back in a near future. Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#136 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,711 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,074 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,194 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#63 of 355 in Los Angeles
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £135 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing