We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #10 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is lovely on very nice grounds. It has a good restaurant called 'Warrens Blackboard' and the food is lovely. The reception staff are very helpful, the rooms are clean and reasonably sized. There is currently some construction work going on there to better the lobby area etc. but it caused me minimal disruption. There is a free shuttle bus to Universal Studios which is handy because it costs a lot to park up there. I did find having a car helpful in getting around because it's about 15-20 minutes drive to other sights. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Nicole P

Thank you for writing this fantastic review! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed Warren’s Blackboard and our reception staff – I will be sure to pass on your kind words. I’m glad you were not disrupted by our renovations – we hope to welcome you back to enjoy the new hotel, “The Garland”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,432
    1,026
    286
    96
    45
See reviews for
1,066
956
124
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were told in advance that this hotel was undergoing renovation work but decided to stick with it. So glad we did! Upgraded to a newly refurbished room when we told reception about our Silver Wedding. We were on the 7th floor of the El Dorado block. A lovely room with a very comfortable bed, lovely bath and shower, large TV, fridge, coffee machine and free WiFi. We ate 3 times at Warren's Blackboard attached to the hotel, wonderful food and service! Our first night was a little disturbed by the traffic from the nearby freeway. Thought about asking to be moved but we really loved the room so stuck with it. The other 3 nights it didn't seem to bother us. One day our room was not cleaned, but a phone call to reception, someone came up straight away with fresh towels and coffee. Aiden, the concierge was so helpful in booking our tickets to Universal Studios and a day trip with Starline Tours, which was fantastic. The free shuttle bus was a real bonus. On our last morning, reception were more than happy to let us keep our room until 2pm. We did go to the pool and the drilling work was very noisy, but with our ipods on, it didn't really matter, All the staff were so friendly, everybody always spoke, no matter what their job was. A brilliant way to end our USA holiday!!

Room Tip: Maybe a room overlooking the pool wouldn't have quite so much traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jax002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Jax002

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! It’s fantastic that you tried out one of our new rooms and have such great feedback to give us. I’m glad to hear the traffic noise did not disrupt you – we do have sound-proof doors installed to prevent this. We will inform Aiden in our Boutique of your kind words – I’m sure he will appreciate the great feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and was very impressed. When we arrived we were immediately greeted by Justin who took our luggage to the room. He was very friendly and helpful when we asked him questions about the area.

We had dinner at Warren's Blackboard on the first night and thought it was amazing. The food was made to such a high standard and it was reasonably priced.

The pool and Jacuzzi was a massive bonus when we needed to relax after a long day of sightseeing.

The shuttle is also very handy to travel to the Metro and Universal Studios.

Overall, I was very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruthie23988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Ruthie23988

We appreciate the great review! I’m happy to hear your positive feedback on the features of our hotel, especially our restaurant Warren’s Blackboard. I will be sure to inform Justin of your great comment – he will be thrilled! We hope to see you back soon to experience the hotel after renovations are complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

At the bg they offer a buffet in the adjoining restaurant its $19 pp and there is a great selection, open really early too. Ok rooms they are in the process of upgrading. Only complaint is there is only 1 spa for the whole complex, so if your wanting to get in go down around 6 -7pm while everyone else is eating

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmandstuartfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Stuart

We greatly appreciate your comments! I’m glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet – we do have quite the selection. I apologize you had issues with the pool and spa being crowded – it is a very popular feature of our hotel, as you can tell. We hope to see you back soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here last month for a week with husband and 2 teenager daughters, family room was plenty big enough and very clean, staff are amazing and always happy to help at any time,food at the blackboard was very nice and lots of it, free tram to universal is a massive bonus, jacuzzi at the end of a long day was very welcomed, pool is clean and a warm temp, overall I cannot fault this hotel and we will be back from the uk to stay again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsperry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Mrsperry1

I’m glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate the great feedback on Warren’s Blackboard and the features of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our new “Garland” hotel next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desert Hot Springs, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed 3 nights for a conference and fell in love with resort. Upon my arrival I also had the occasion to meet the owners James & Scott at the bar of the Blackboard - their onsite restaurant, where I indulged in a gourmet burger, fries and beer. Just what I needed to prepare for a weekend of learning. I loved hearing old stories about Beverly, Jame's mother. Now I have to see her films - the posters of which are hung on the walls of the on-site theater. What a treat! Her style and presence is felt throughout from the old photos in the lobby to the new retro 70's decor. So, not only is this a lovely and convenient location, but also has it's own Hollywood history that makes you feel like you were visiting an LA attraction. Nice bonus for a business stay with no time to check out the area. Plus, I don't know what I would have done without Lucy from room service delivering a latte to my room each morning. Nor can I believe she does it all by herself! All the staff was warm and caring, like an extended family. I stayed in the Portola wing that is next on the list for renovation, but it was very comfortable and clean. Now that I know about this wonderful destination I'm planning a weekend get away to see a concert at the nearby Hollywood Bowl and take advantage of their trolley.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Nina Brad:

We are thrilled to read such an enthusiastic review! It’s great to hear that you appreciated Beverly’s personal touch throughout the hotel, and that James and Scott were able to give you such an insight into what a wonderful person she was. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Luz as well – she is definitely a great asset of our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back during your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had a very nice 2 day stay. The hotel is being renovated and we stayed in one of the new rooms. They have done a good job on the updates.

The staff was very responsive and friendly. The shuttle to and from Universal Studios was great. They also picked us up at the Metro station.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwright99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Pwright99

Thank you for taking the time to review us! I’m happy to hear you were able to experience one of our newly renovated rooms and enjoyed it so much. It’s great you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle to Universal Studios as well. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#105 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#16 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing