We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask for a newly renovated room!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #9 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ask for a newly renovated room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We only stayed here for one night, but we weren't disappointed.
On our late check in (around 11pm) the front desk staff told us there were no more king beds available, but to make up for that she would upgrade us to one of their newly renovated queen bed rooms, which she assured us would be much nicer anyway.
The room clearly was very newly renovated. Everything was sparkling clean, with a very modern feel. The shower was amazingly spacious and everything in the room had a cool design.
The hotel is near a busy road, but the sound didn't reach our room at all.
We had a great nights sleep here and I wouldn't hesitate to go back. Just note that the hotel isn't particularly central and it's a good 15 minute drive to downtown Hollywood.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Harriet K

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We hope to see you back soon when visiting LA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,410
    1,013
    283
    96
    45
See reviews for
1,038
950
124
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here on our last stop in the USA for three nights. Previously San Fran and Vegas. We arrived at LA Airport around 4pm and got a taxi it took us one and a half hours to get to the Beverly Garland which cost us 90 Dollars. It took us a while to get into reception because there were so many people crammed into a small room which was the reception. We checked in and they pointed to were the room was, we walked with our cases into a courtyard crowded with people so we made our way around them only to find that the entrance was closed due to refurbishment work, we eventually found another entrance at the other end of the building and made our way down the corridor to our room 105 on the ground floor. On entering the room we got the impression that the room had not been used for some time. The patio doors overlooked the courtyard with the crowds of people eating and drinking outside our window and looking straight into our room so we decided to close the black out Curtain to have some privacy only to find that the curtain didn't pull all the way over and people could still see in not only that the curtain had a large tear near the patio door handle which we figured out that someone had done so that they could hook this around the door handle to try and obscure the window. The lamp shades were stained like water marks, and the bath had two large chips on it and then later found out that the bath did not hold the water. We went of to reception to complain about the condition of the room and were told that they were fully booked because of the conference, we asked them to inform us as soon as another room became available and they said that they would. Our first night we had to spend in total darkness to prevent anyone looking in at us.
Next day we hadn't heard anything from reception so we went to find out if we could be moved, once again were told nothing was available as there was another conference and a wedding going on that day. We went into the little shop to find out some of the excursions going on and a lady called Andrea asked us if we were enjoying our stay, we told here that we were not happy with the hotel and all the problems we were having luckily she was the supervisor and told us that she would try and sort things out for us. We went out for the day because you could not relax around the hotel because of all the workmen and renovations that were going on, We got back at around 4.45pm to freshen up only to find that our room had not been cleaned, back to reception we went and they told us that if it had not been done before 5.00pm then they had a problem as the cleaners finished there shift, they told us they would sort it so we went and had a drink at the pool bar, we left if for one hour and went back to the room, still had not been done now it was 6,00pm, back to reception again and they again told us they would try and sort it. We went back to the room to get ready for going out and found a letter on the floor for Andrea apologizing for the trouble we had been having and offered us a complementary breakfast for the two of us. Also the curtain had and lamp shades had been replaced but the room still had not been cleaned, We went out and got back about 9.30pm room still not been cleaned, but at least we could turn the light on without anyone looking in. We received a call from the manager asking us to tell him about our problems he then offered us a room that had just been renovated but this was too little too late we decided that we only had two more nights to go and to start packing and getting all our stuff back in cases at this time of night was just not worth doing, we have already spent to much time at reception complaining and getting nothing in return, when we should of been out enjoying the last leg of our holiday. One more day left in LA and looking forward to getting home. Workmen everywhere, dust in the air and drilling going on in the day this was not relaxing. Went out again for the day and got back again to find room not cleaned this is a room which I do not think was on the list of cleaning. We checked out on 5th May and found out that they had charged us for our complementary breakfast, I showed them the letter for the supervisor and they took it off the bill.

Anyone wanting to visit this hotel should be aware that things do not get done quickly resulting in ruining your holiday altogether, we visit the USA every year and love to holiday here, this was holiday was booked as a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday and we were having a great time until we hit the Beverly Garland. What a disappointment.

The restaurant at the Beverly is not good, the first morning I ordered fresh fruit and a poached egg on toast, when it arrived it looked good but when cutting into the egg it was raw they took it back and did another one, The buffet breakfast is not that good either and you are paying 20 Dollars per head, I don't mind paying out if you have a good selection and the food is good, but this restaurant is not good and therefore we always went out to have a decent meal.

Thanks to Andrea for at least trying to help us and Justin for his pleasant manner also Alex on the Shuttle Bus very pleasant man.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Phil o

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I regret to hear that your recent visit did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide the best service, and guest comments allow us to continue to improve and offer the experiences expected. I'll share tour notes with our team to ensure the opportunities you encountered are taken into consideration and that necessary action is taken, so we may enhance the guest experience.
We value your comments and hope to have the opportunity to have you back, so we may regain your trust in us. Please feel free to contact me directly for any further assistance.

Warm Regards

Daniel Miraval
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beverley garland! The staff were all so lovely and welcoming as it was out first few days in the states.
Best things about the hotel:
- free breakfast every morning! And it's so yum!
- free shuttle to the metro and universal studios
- the spa was so warm and great to soak in after a day of walking

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KD1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
KD1202

Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you had a lovely stay with us and that you enjoyed our facilities and welcoming staff. We hope to have you back again when visiting LA! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This place was amazing, the staff were so friendly and very helpful. A massive thank you to Shawn and Alex the shuttle driver. After reading not so good comments from locals about distance from things and being near a freeway and all the other negative things said I was a little worried. Both my partner and I were Visiting from Australia and would stay again. For all you Aussies or anyone planing to stay or thinking about staying, don't listen to all the negative there is free shuttle to universal there are shops up the road to buy what ever you need a couple mins walk if that. Shuttle takes you to metro station from there a 1.50 for the train and it's one stop to hollywood walk of fame and hop on/off and everything else..even if you miss last shuttle back there is a bus stop at metro takes you right across the road from the hotel or just walk, it takes like 10 mins it's a great walk done it heaps of times and stopped in at rite aid or ralfs to get some alcohol or some munchies. Again top place and staff

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Puls3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Puls3

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a lovely time with us. We'll share your comments with Shawn, Alex and the rest of our team. We hope to have you back with us soon and we thank you once again for your review. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great room, great staff, great restaurant. We loved the Beverly Garland.

We stayed as a family of 6 in a kids suite (what a GREAT room - thanks so much to Shawn) and a double. Rooms were so spacious and well equip. The kids LOVED the pool. My husband and I loved the restaurant. The servers were so helpful - as were all the staff.

We will be back :) - thanks so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rtqp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Rtqp

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the room, Warren's Blackboard and most importantly our helpful and friendly staff.
We'll share your lovely comments with Shawn and the rest of the team. We look forward to having you back with us when visiting LA. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We weren' expecting too much from this hotel but from the minute we arrived we were treated like valued guests. We arrived at 9:00am and were allowed access to our room after 10 minutes with help from the wonderful Kiley at the front desk. She was an absolute pleasure to deal with throughout the entire stay, helping us with recommendations with attractions and restaurants to arranging our hire car for us and just generally chatting to us whenever we walked past. I'm sure they would be lost without her. We were told the upgrades to the hotel would be noisy, but we heard nothing, our rooms was clean, modern and comfortable, great bed, great tv service and we loved the boutique type charm of the hotel and enjoyed the pool, spa and laundry service. The restraunt had great food at a reasonable price and the shuttle to and from Universal was always on time and made the whole stay easy. There wasn't anything i could pick the hotel on, it was the perfect way to start our holiday in the US… Thankyou very much Kiley and everyone at the Garland...

Room Tip: Hotel has been upgraded so all rooms are nice Arrange a hire car and get picked up from the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhysCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Rhys

We thank you for your great review and feedback about the hotel and our services. We are thrilled to read that we exceeded your expectations and that Kiley went above and beyond to make your stay more memorable. I'll make sure Kiley gets your lovely comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back when visiting LA. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Our 3 night stay was great,the room and service superb.The $19 parking charge I feel is steep per night and the only parking charge I had throughout my 9 state drive and 10 hotels.Great to see the upgrades there,but beware if you want a lie in work starts at 8.30.The free trolley bus is a good addition for Universal,we used it the once.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodies748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Woodies 748

Thank you for your review. We are glad to read you liked your room and enjoyed our Trolley to Universal Studios. Unfortunately parking in LA is expensive anywhere you go, we put effort into keeping the rate still lower than our competitors. We will pass your compliments to our staff and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#98 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#47 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing