We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #9 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
City of Greater Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel On 2 occasions. And heading back there for our third time in February 2015. We really love this hotel the staff are very friendly .rooms are nice & clean ,
Love the fact they have a laundry which is great.
Love the heated pool .
Love the restaurant for meals .
Very close to metro & universal studio
I'm very excited about returning to the Beverly Garland in February

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Pam R

Thanks for the review! We are so happy to hear that you appreciate our lovely staff – we will be sure to pass along your kind words. It’s great that you were able to take advantage of our pool, restaurant, and complimentary Trolley to Universal Studios. We look forward to welcoming you back next February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,411
    1,014
    283
    97
    45
See reviews for
1,041
950
124
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I booked the KidSuites in January because this suite would fill our families needs. The very day we showed up to check in (June) they said our suite was not available. Why then didn't they notify me before, I have no idea. I had 2 choices - stay in a room with a King bed and sofa bed or upgrade to the producer's suite for a $70 upgrade fee. They would also throw in a free breakfast and comp the parking. I took it, but warily thinking that it should've been at no extra charge.

Okay, now to the suite. Very nice, comfortable mattresses however it's not my idea of a vacation to worry about setting up sofa beds and roll-away and it being in the way the whole time we were there. The breakfast buffet was delicious albeit very expensive (22 per adult and 18 for kids) and probably would not have eaten there if we had paid. The pool side food cart was tasty too, but watch out, drinks are 8 bucks and beer is 6. After reviewing my bill at home, we were OVERCHARGED by 12 bucks - ugh!!

Here is the kicker, a few days after we got home, we received a message on our answering machine that the TV was broken in our room and that we would be charged!! What?!! We are the kind of family that takes care of a room as if it were our own, we tip housekeeping and before we leave, we pick up after ourselves. After being completely livid for 10 minutes and trying to call to correct this, we find out that the people that stayed there after we did were to blame! Shouldn't you check and research thoroughly before completely freaking out your previous guests?

If you decide to stay here, it is nice hotel and people are friendly however be careful with overcharges and double check your bill before you leave, confirm your reservations SEVERAL times before your visit, and walk your room with a manager before you leave so you won't be accused of things you didn't do.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank txmom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Txmom09

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I do apologize for the miscommunication and bumps you ran into along the road. We greatly appreciate your detailed feedback and have addressed this with the departments involved. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRETORIA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I expected a lot more from this hotel after checking it out but the pictures and reality were very different. And then although my travel agent advised that she booked me a luxury room, when I checked in the first question was if I wanted to upgrade at a cost of 15 dollars a night as my room had no fridge and was not a luxury room, which I was not prepared to do.Then there was a problem with breakfast which was sorted out. The room was clean and staff friendly so ultimately it was not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MBALIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Mbalim:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that it wasn't what you expected. All our renovated rooms do have a fridge and a safe now and they really look amazing. We hope you can try us again when we become "The Garland".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We are day 4 into a 6 day stay I'm writing this review by the pool (which is lovely) but struggle to hear my wife who is sitting next to me, due to the building noise, our room overlooks the building delivery and storage area that receives deliveries from 7:00 a.m - no need for us to set alarm calls as the wagons do this for us, when booking this holiday and checking in there has been no mention or offer of apology for the noise, apart from that the room is average (no fridge & noisy air con) but the bar staff and restaurant staff excellent.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
John T:

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are really sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations and that you were continually disturbed by our renovation. I'd like to inform you that our renovated rooms do have a fridge and a safety box. We'll share your comments with our bar/restaurant staff and we hope you come back again so you can experience our brand new product "The Garland"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here because it's close to Universal Studios. One of the perks they offer is free shuttle service to Universal. But the morning we wanted to take advantage of that, the shuttle wasn't working. I mentioned that upon checkout, and they credited us the self-parking fee.

The pool was fantastic. We went here every night. The hotel was clean and safe, and the beds plush and comfy. The staff was polite and helpful.

I was very impressed with the restaurant on site. The food was fantastic and fresh - think farm to table.

I would rate it 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Photogurrl

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. It's great to read that you enjoyed our pool, Warren's Blackboard and our friendly staff. We hope you visit us again when we become "The Garland".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

First impressions of the hotel were not great, the reception area looks like a doctors waiting room.

We were taken to our room in the Portola Block of the hotel. Unfortunately when we entered the room we were extremely disappointed. Firstly, our room was on the basement floor which meant that it was extremely dark and we had a view of a hedge. Secondly, the room was so basic and dated and had stains on the wall and carpet, horrible. I had read on trip advisor that the hotel was under going refurbishments and told the porter that we would not stay in this room and wanted to be in only of the refurbished rooms.

The hotel kindly accommodated this request and what a difference. The new rooms do not even compare. Very modern, bathroom lovely and balcony overlooking the pool. If only we were in this room to start with it wouldn't have left a sour taste in our mouths.

Location of the hotel is very remote is you do not intend to go to Universal, so do bear this in mind if you plan to do anything else and especially if you don't have a car.

Overall though if you are coming to LA for universal and have a renovated room, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Tom S

Thank you for your review about our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you liked our newly renovated rooms! We are sorry that the rooms weren’t up to standard, as you had hoped, as a first impression in our Portola building. Though, we are currently going through a full hotel renovation and with that we will have a brand new lobby and all of the rooms in our Portola building will look like the room you were able to experience. We hope to have welcome you back when are “The Garland”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay here while visiting Universal Studios was very pleasant. The staff was very courteous and helpful.
The restaurant was good with an excellent morning buffet.
Our room had been remodeled and there was more going on, but we heard no noise.
It is evident that the owners have pride in keeping this hotel up to date.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Bill T

Thanks for sharing your comments about the Hotel. We are so happy that we were able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed Warren’s Blackboard and our helpful staff. We hope to see you again when in LA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#99 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#48 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing