We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #9 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you're driving to LA, this hotel is just off the freeway and very easy to access, meaning you don't have to drive through the centre of town.
The hotel was undergoing building work while we stayed but apart from reduced access to our room block, we weren't inconvenienced. We stayed in one of their newly renovated rooms which was very clean, very modern and very comfortable! When we arrived, our air conditioning unit wasn't working but they sent a friendly maintenance guy up within 10 minutes of calling reception and he fixed it without a problem. The unit was unfortunately quite noisy (I don't think that had been upgraded with the room refit) but frankly, a bit of noise was better than sweltering in the 35 degree heat! We always travel with foam earplugs so we just wore those at night which totally blocked out the air con noise.
Very good restaurant and bar on site and the breakfast choices are brilliant. There is a regular shuttle bus which takes you straight to Universal Studios and back throughout the day. If you want to go to the walk of fame/Chinese theatre, you can take the shuttle bus to the Metro station then hop on the train directly to this area. We got a cab back from there to the hotel and it was approximately $20.
All in all, a good base from which to explore LA.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Jo W

We are thrilled you were able to experience one of our brand new guest rooms! I’m so sorry to hear your air conditioning was not working, but glad to hear it was fixed by a friendly employee. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,406
    1,012
    281
    96
    44
See reviews for
1,032
950
123
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 8 nights. The best thing about this hotel are the staff. They were very friendly and helped with anything we needed. Warren's Blackboard was a lovely restaurant, very nice food.
$19 a night for parking is ridiculous, it should be made free to guests. There was a used plaster under our bed. Air con was loud.
Every time someone in another room flushed the toilet the noise travelled through ours quite loudly. We even heard someone urinate!
The pool was lovely, although the shower by it just dripped water, was cold and had a pair of dirty knickers hanging on the towel rail.
They play films every night by the pool which we were looking forward to, but all they played were kids movies. It would have been nice for at least one night they had a film for adults. I don't mean an 18 certificate but at least something that wasn't a cartoon!
The only thing that would bring us back are the staff.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 223katekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
223 KateKate

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! I’m happy to hear you have such positive feedback on our staff – I will be sure to pass on your kind words. I do apologize that you were disrupted by noise from other rooms. We hope you will come back and visit us soon once we are “The Garland”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My partner and I along with with his parents stayed at The Beverly garland for 3 nights. We had a car and found it was a great location out of the hype of Hollywood, and close to Universal Studios and access to the Freeways. My in-laws however did not have a car, and they had issues being picked up for tours as this was outside the pick up area for the companies.
The room was a bit pricey for what we got, but LA/Hollywood hotels were all highly priced in our opinion. We were offered an upgrade for and extra $30 per night, but we declined due to already paying what we considered was a high rate. The room was fine. Nothing extraordinary but comfortable and clean. My in-laws arrived the day after us, and when they arrived at the hotel early the staff were accommodating and gave them a room, however when we dropped the bags off the room had not been cleaned. We stored their luggage and they showered in our room. They staff were apologetic but no alternative arrangements or discounts were offered for the mix up.
The pool area is wonderful. Good gym. On the night we arrived they offered a food truck style menu in the pool area and a kids movie. Great little extras.
Overall we were happy with the Hotel. Unsure if we would stay again, it would depend on the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veggie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Veggie81:

Thanks for the response! We greatly appreciate the feedback you have given us in this review. I do apologize that your room was not cleaned upon check-in – but I am happy to hear that you had a great experience with our staff throughout your stay. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is one of my go to hotels when I travel to Los angles on business because it's removed from the noise of the city but still extremely easy to get to all my meetings. I stay in the back portola building which yes is dated but still comfortable, the rooms are no nonsense without any bells or whistles but if all you need is a quiet place to sleep and an easy on/off to get around la you should check this place out. The restaurant in the morning has a nice selection for breakfast and is a nice way to start the day. That said, I would stay more often if they updated the rooms. If you are traveling on business I would avoid this hotel in the summer or major vacation times as it's a popular spot for family's going to universal

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emo114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Emo114

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast at Warren’s Blackboard! It is great to hear that the location is convenient for you. We hope you return soon to experience a newly renovated room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stay here with my husband, son and daughter on the last part of our holiday. Great location for visiting universal studios with the free shuttle bus to and from the hotel. We stayed in the Portola building and our room was comfortable and clean. Every member of staff from house keeping to front desk to pool and bar staff were very helpful, courteous at all times excellent service from everyone could not fault this hotel and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good all round place to stay with exceptionally good staff. Thanks to all at The Beverly Garland for making our stay so pleasant we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Caroline C

Thank you for such a great review! We are happy to hear that you had such a great experience with us. It is fantastic that you enjoyed all of our staff – we will be sure to pass on your kind words to them. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our last hotel on our two week holiday in California. We had booked for three nights and paid everything up front many months before. I had read the reviews and was really hoping to get a re furbished room as i gathered they were nearing the refurbishment process and had read negative reviews about those that weren't. When booking in we were promptly told that our room was not refurbished and if we wanted one we could have it at a discount price of $30 per night extra. I negotiated a slight reduction and only took it as it was our last nights in America and didn't want to be in some pokey room as our last memories of a wonderful holiday so i paid up. I do however think it is a rip off and that they have you over a barrel. Will all the rooms be an extra $30 per night plus after the hotel is refurbished? If so i think they will price themselves out but i guess it is a quick way of extra revenue and leaves a slight bitter taste to an otherwise fantastic two week stay in California.
I get the $19 fee per night for parking as i am sure it is expensive parking anywhere but i don't get the fact that a refurbished room in the Portola building doesn't come with a safe. Even a low budget travelodge had a safe! Yes we could use the safety deposit box in reception but come on what year are we in and why was i paying extra without this basic facility?

The good bits are definitely the trolley bus with access to both universal studios and the metro and a nice pool and a well priced breakfast buffet to finish our last morning in California. Warrens blackboard is a nice restaurant but to us English people with service charges and tips it can be an expensive meal. I would however recommend the bar meals for the more budget conscious.

When returning for my next holiday i would very much like to stay here again but with the extra $30 dollars plus being put on the newly refurbished rooms this will sadly be out of my league.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Robert W

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry for the mix-up at check-in, as we do not charge extra for newly renovated rooms…however, different renovated rooms can be purchased at check-in. We appreciate your feedback very much and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is being renovated and the staff on reception informed us of this when we arrived and said if this caused us any problems to let them know. The renovations did not cause us any issues whilst we were there. Our room was clean and spacious and the balcony overlooked the pool. As with most things in LA everything is very spaced out and there isn't much within walking distance of the hotel however there is a supermarket, chemist and Starbucks all a five minute walk from the hotel. The free trolley shuttle to Universal Studios is very useful and will also drop you off at the metro station if you ask. We ate at the restaurant a couple of times and the food is good quality although some of the dishes are a little 'quirky'. The bar also has happy hour and as well as this applying to the drinks it also applies to some of the bar food menu. We had breakfast at the restaurant too, we opted for the buffet which consisted of fresh fruit, bacon, sausage, French toast, croissants etc. The pool area is clean and has sun loungers and we spent a few hours relaxing by the pool. The only issue we had with this hotel is the location - there is nothing to do within walking distance but as with a lot of things in LA, everything seems to be spread out The staff on reception were helpful with any queries we had and overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn16ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dawn 16ac

Thank you for your feview! I am happy to hear you were able to utilize our complimentary Trolley during your stay. It is great to hear that the renovations did not cause you any discomfort throughout your stay. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our Front Desk staff. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#99 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#47 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing