We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back.”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will be back.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We have been to LA twice and every time my wife and I have always stay here. We love relaxing after a long day running around the sites of LA at the restaurant and bar that is on the hotel grounds. The rooms are clean and comfortable and having free wifi is fantastic to contact love ones at home. We love the free shuttle bus that takes you to the Metro and to Universal Studios. My wife and I will be returning to Beverly Garlandin in 2015.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank vsholden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Vsholden01:

It's great to know that this was your second time at the hotel and that you are planning to come back in 2015. We thank you for your lovely review and for your loyalty to our hotel. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,443
    1,038
    288
    98
    46
See reviews for
1,078
963
124
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banning, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in April 2014 and planned a few days at Universal City. Very nice, clean, and friendly. Breakfast was very good (choice of buffet or a la carte). Free shuttle to Universal City was a plus. Staff was always available.

Room Tip: Even though the hotel faces a major freeway, the noise was barely noticeable. They are renovating ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank languer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Ianguer

Thanks for your great feedback about the hotel. It's good to know that you liked our breakfast options, complimentary shuttle and friendly staff. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week and found a building site. The block we were put in had only one lift working as the main entrance was partitioned off whilst work was being completed. We were not allowed to use the stairs, except for fire, as these were also blocked from guests. It took up to 15 mins to get the lift to and from the room. The main access to the building was closed and you had to use the back entrance with stairs, great for carrying up and down suitcases. Our room had an adjoining door to another room, it had no sound proofing so the guests in the next room could be heard talking, TV, snoring, coughing etc, this kept us awake most nights. Final moan was $19/night for parking your car. The next stage of building work is to be done during November and that block will be closed to customers. Hugely disappointing. Probably worth avoiding till all works have been completed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne240263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Lynne240263

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry for all the inconveniences you had during your stay and for not being able to meet your expectations. We hope you come back to experience our new product "The Garland" when visiting Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsbeaMsbea
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We visited Hollywood with our kids for the very first time and when we arrived unfortunately, a pretty cool welcome. At first one of the reception staff was pretty rude and nonchalant, which really brought the tone of it down. After a bit of a room issue, Andrea sorted it all out and our new room was wonderful. the room had a balcony and was pretty spacious. The pool is the jewel - having a bar that was operated everyday, and movies at night for the kids poolside, and kids activities run by Kiley, the pool really drew in people and it had a resort feel to it. Just lovely. Nice to sit there and relax while the kids were watching a movie and have a cocktail. the restaurant and the staff were awesome and warm and the food was spot on. as they were in the middle of refurbishment, there was a little disruption but all in all pretty good. On site laundry was good for families. Free shuttle to the metro and universal made things pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsbeaMsbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Msbea:

Thanks for reviewing the hotel and for your lovely comments. I am sorry that the check in process wasn't smooth but glad that Andrea was able to recover from it.
We'll share your feedback with our team. We look forward to having you back so you can experience our new product, "The Garland".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Worst experience I've ever had at a hotel. Their fire alarm was broken and started going off at 1am.It was EXTREMELY LOUD. It continued to go on and off for 3 hours. I didn't get to sleep until 4:30am. I spoke to the manager, Andrea the next day and asked for a refund or at least at discount and they would not do anything! Unbelievable! She said she spoke to the Director of Rooms or something like that and he said all we could do is offer me a free breakfast! I paid $330/night for this room - are you kidding me? I'm shocked, really. Not only that, but Andrea kept lying to me and giving me ridiculous answers. She kept saying they did everything to keep everybody safe? Safe from what!!? There was no fire! She said they didn't know there was no fire until the fire department showed up and checked everything and in the meantime they were working hard to keep all of the guests safe...REALLY? Then how come nobody called me or came to my room to tell my to evacuate? I didn't even know what the noise was at first AND nobody tried to keep me safe. I kept trying to call the front desk and they didn't answer. Her answers were utter nonsense. I'm so upset about my experience. I actually have narcolepsy and it is really bad for me to not get sleep - it worsens my condition horribly. But the hotel didn't care. They refused to give me as much as a discount. Just unbelievable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Matt B

We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience caused by the fire alarm during your stay.
While this certainly was an inconvenience, we are 100% committed to providing a safe environment for our guests. The fire department and alarm company have reported that the alarm was a result of an electrical failure with a sensor and there was no immediate danger to our guests. Rest assured that it was not a prank or an avoidable malfunction with the system. However, the overwhelming majority of the guests who were inconvenienced by the fire alarm were understanding of the situation and appreciated our response and the fact that they were in an establishment that was committed to their safety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel was easy to find. It is especially good if you want to visit Universal Studios and the hotel tram will take you there (unfortunately we did not know this and had paid extra for Universal to pick us up!) It is small and customer service good. We stayed 2 nights and were allocated one of the newly refurbished rooms. This was the best hotel we stayed in on our California coast trip. The room was bright, airy, trendy and very comfortable. The rooms were serviced daily. I think the room had hardly been used. The bathroom was really sparkling. There was a fridge, hair dryer and lots of power points including one specifically for charging devices. There was a balcony and although right beside the freeway the noise was eliminated when the balcony door was shut. The air con was still the older style controlled by a new wall panel - although it worked we found it difficult to stop fan which was quite noisy. We were in a corner room and it was very quiet in the corridor. We used the hotel pool one afternoon and found it small but able to accommodate everyone that day. We also ate in the Blackboard restaurant, we had breakfast one morning - excellent food, staff and service. I like a good cup of tea and this was the only hotel in California who made it correctly ! We also had one evening meal when we used the complimentary drinks vouchers we were offered at check in, again the food and service was excellent. If I had any gripes about this hotel it would be the car parking charges - it was the only one of 8 hotels we stayed in during our 3 week holiday in California that we were charged for. Also as the hotel is going through renovation it was quite a walk from the car park to the lift, and then a floor's length walk to our room, as the lift closest to our room was not in use. Although not overly impressed with Los Angeles I would go back to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: As the hotel is undegoing renovation (we were in Elderado part) only one lift is servicing the block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puddleplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Puddleplum:

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the hotel. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our services and facilities. As you may know parking charges in Los Angeles are quite expensive but we still have lower rates than our competitors.
We'll share your comments with our team and we hope to have you back when visiting LA! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Beverly Garland is a good place to stay for visiting tourists in Los Angeles and Hollywood in particular. It is very central to Universal studios and the hotel amenities are well maintained and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thingamajig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thingamajig

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. As you say we do have an ideal location to most of the attraction in town and our guests do like that. We look forward to having you back when in LA! Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#107 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing