We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #17 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our second visit to the Beverly Garland, we previously stayed in 2009 when it was a Holiday Inn and have recommended it to family and friends. This time we also throughly enjoyed our stay even though they are still renovating. Our first room had a strange smell and we couldn't get the airconditioning to work but they happily moved us to another room and we were very happy. On our first night the fire alarms went off at 2:45am and we self evacuated to the car park. My only real criticism about the BG is that no staff came to check on the welfare of the guests or tell us what was going on. I was aware of a security guard during the evacuation but guests were left in the car park and decided when to go back to their rooms. Also a bit of worry that the fire department didn't attend. Of course this could have all be going on in the background but it would have been comforting to know if it was a false alarm or a real situation that had been sorted out. Apart from that our stay was wonderful. Warren's Blackboard formerly Tula's is lovely and the food was very nice. A friendly waitress told us if we wanted to go into Hollywood we only need to to catch the 156 across the road and that is what we did - very convenient. Also the hotel has a free shuttle bus to Universal Studios and Citywalk. There is a small shopping centre within a 2 block walk that has a pharmacy, Starbucks, Ralph's market and few other stores. We felt very safe walking around though we did not venture out after dark. The hotel has an onsite laundry which I think was $3 per load. They also had a wet bar at the pool and showed free movies at the pool most nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goatfishbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Goalfishbull,

Thank you for the review! It's great to hear such kind words about our hotel and your great experience at the restaurant. We do apologize for worrying you with the false alarm, but are happy that everyone was safe and it was not a real emergency. We are happy you found our location convenient as well. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,646 - 1,652 of 3,184 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went to Los Angeles for a quick get a way. Stayed at the Beverly Garland and it was wonderful. Very nice, quiet and very relaxing. Dinner at the on site restaurant was very good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Kathy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed our restaurant during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and had a great stay. Yes there was building work going on but it only meant we had to wait a little longer for the lift. Our room was a Family Suite and was great for us. My daughter was able to stay in the living area on a double sofa bed, whilst my husband and I had a double bed in the main bedroom area. We had two bathrooms. The room was newly refurbished with free wi-fi. Very nice indeed.
Although it is close to the Highway, the glazing was very efficient so we slept well.
Staff were super helpful in giving advice on getting about and there is a free shuttle bus to Universal and the Metro station.
We ate in the restaurant and had a fabulous meal. The pool was also good, not busy with a good bar service. There is also a good fitness room.

Room Tip: Ask for newly refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Annette W:

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Family Suite, Warren's Blackboard and our Pool area. We hope you come back soon to experience our new product "The Garland".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have been to LA twice and every time my wife and I have always stay here. We love relaxing after a long day running around the sites of LA at the restaurant and bar that is on the hotel grounds. The rooms are clean and comfortable and having free wifi is fantastic to contact love ones at home. We love the free shuttle bus that takes you to the Metro and to Universal Studios. My wife and I will be returning to Beverly Garlandin in 2015.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank vsholden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Vsholden01:

It's great to know that this was your second time at the hotel and that you are planning to come back in 2015. We thank you for your lovely review and for your loyalty to our hotel. Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in April 2014 and planned a few days at Universal City. Very nice, clean, and friendly. Breakfast was very good (choice of buffet or a la carte). Free shuttle to Universal City was a plus. Staff was always available.

Room Tip: Even though the hotel faces a major freeway, the noise was barely noticeable. They are renovating ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank languer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Ianguer

Thanks for your great feedback about the hotel. It's good to know that you liked our breakfast options, complimentary shuttle and friendly staff. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week and found a building site. The block we were put in had only one lift working as the main entrance was partitioned off whilst work was being completed. We were not allowed to use the stairs, except for fire, as these were also blocked from guests. It took up to 15 mins to get the lift to and from the room. The main access to the building was closed and you had to use the back entrance with stairs, great for carrying up and down suitcases. Our room had an adjoining door to another room, it had no sound proofing so the guests in the next room could be heard talking, TV, snoring, coughing etc, this kept us awake most nights. Final moan was $19/night for parking your car. The next stage of building work is to be done during November and that block will be closed to customers. Hugely disappointing. Probably worth avoiding till all works have been completed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne240263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Lynne240263

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry for all the inconveniences you had during your stay and for not being able to meet your expectations. We hope you come back to experience our new product "The Garland" when visiting Los Angeles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We visited Hollywood with our kids for the very first time and when we arrived unfortunately, a pretty cool welcome. At first one of the reception staff was pretty rude and nonchalant, which really brought the tone of it down. After a bit of a room issue, Andrea sorted it all out and our new room was wonderful. the room had a balcony and was pretty spacious. The pool is the jewel - having a bar that was operated everyday, and movies at night for the kids poolside, and kids activities run by Kiley, the pool really drew in people and it had a resort feel to it. Just lovely. Nice to sit there and relax while the kids were watching a movie and have a cocktail. the restaurant and the staff were awesome and warm and the food was spot on. as they were in the middle of refurbishment, there was a little disruption but all in all pretty good. On site laundry was good for families. Free shuttle to the metro and universal made things pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsbeaMsbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Msbea:

Thanks for reviewing the hotel and for your lovely comments. I am sorry that the check in process wasn't smooth but glad that Andrea was able to recover from it.
We'll share your feedback with our team. We look forward to having you back so you can experience our new product, "The Garland".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#135 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,711 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#21 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,075 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#63 of 355 in Los Angeles
447 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £137 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing