We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smitten with this lovely little place...”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #14 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We checked in this wonderful hotel today. The rooms are clean, spacious, and a little funky (which I love). The on-site restaurant, Warren's Blackboard, is AMAZING! Creative menu, attentive staff, and the food was delicious! The hotel concierge was very helpful, the bellman was lovely, and the evening movies by the pool were an great bonus! In all - we would definitely return. That said, the bartender by the pool, Michael, is not very friendly nor welcoming. Actually, he is rude! I watched him interact with many guests and he treated them all as though they are a waste of his time. He presents himself as someone who hates his job.
Other than his gruff and rude demeanor, we just LOVE this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrieandtheshorties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Carrieandtheshorties

You’re very kind with your review. Thank you. I’m so happy to hear that we left such a wonderful impression on you, and that you’ll be joining us again in the future. I apologize about the issue you had regarding the bartender, but we appreciate you letting us know so that we can take steps to improve our service. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,083)
There are newer reviews for The Garland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 3,083 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel is having lots of renovations and will I am sure be great when these are complete.
We stayed for 2 nights and upgraded to a suite on the 7th floor. This had just been refurbished and was very nice, spacious 2 nice bathrooms and more importantly comfy beds.
We did initially have an issue with the service in the hotel, this was resolved by the evening duty Manager and we did put it down to teething problems.
Good facilities in the hotel, very child friendly with movies being shown poolside in the evenings, a great idea.
Shuttle to Universal which will also drop you off at the metro stop for going downtown.
A little frustrated with the assistance from the concierge who was relying on the internet to assist us with questions and when this was down, could not assist us and I would have expected a level of local LA knowledge.
Staff in the restaurant were all excellent and gave us good tips on travelling, good service with a smile.
Ideal for highway/freeway links if you are travelling, however the beaches are miles away.
Good hotel if your stay is short and you are planning to visit Universal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amandar044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Amandar044

Thank you for your wonderful review. We’re sorry about the “teething” problems that you mentioned. I hope they were not too much of a distraction from your vacation. I’m glad that we were able to fix some of these problems within a short time period, after all your comfort is important to us. I hope we’ll be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We used this hotel for our base while staying in LA for 4 days. As a hotel it is great, with clean big rooms (we had 2 kids in our room as it had 2 queen size beds). The outdoor pool and bar area was popular, as was the evening film for the kids. The restaurant attached to the hotel does excellent food. The main attraction about the hotel is its close proximity to Universal Studios, with it being only about 1 mile away. The hotel does shuttle buses to and from the park from 8am to 10pm.

The only note of caution, is that it is in North Hollywood, so a distance from LAX. We also didn't realise that the Cruise America depot which we needed afterwards was also quite a distance, but the hotel does have a Chauffeur service which does cater for these drives.

However we were in LA, and LA is big, so travelling around it does take time and money

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zico_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Zico_B

L.A. is a very big and widespread city indeed, which makes it even more wonderful that you chose us out of all the options available to you. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you took the time to fill out this review for us. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you’ll join us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed in our 4 city holiday all the way from Australia. Although a fair distance from the accepted attractions eg Hollywood Boulevard it is not that far to be a nuisance. Rooms are above average and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on (good to get decent pillows). All staff were friendly, courteous and went above expected levels of service. The meals in the adjoining Restaurant were first class and pricing was more than acceptable. Noise levels from nearby freeway were negligible and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Adelaide:

Thank you very much for the feedback and the kind words. Our goal is your comfort and enjoyment during your stay. We are so looking forward to having you return to us in the future, and for anyone you send our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our second visit to the Beverly Garland, we previously stayed in 2009 when it was a Holiday Inn and have recommended it to family and friends. This time we also throughly enjoyed our stay even though they are still renovating. Our first room had a strange smell and we couldn't get the airconditioning to work but they happily moved us to another room and we were very happy. On our first night the fire alarms went off at 2:45am and we self evacuated to the car park. My only real criticism about the BG is that no staff came to check on the welfare of the guests or tell us what was going on. I was aware of a security guard during the evacuation but guests were left in the car park and decided when to go back to their rooms. Also a bit of worry that the fire department didn't attend. Of course this could have all be going on in the background but it would have been comforting to know if it was a false alarm or a real situation that had been sorted out. Apart from that our stay was wonderful. Warren's Blackboard formerly Tula's is lovely and the food was very nice. A friendly waitress told us if we wanted to go into Hollywood we only need to to catch the 156 across the road and that is what we did - very convenient. Also the hotel has a free shuttle bus to Universal Studios and Citywalk. There is a small shopping centre within a 2 block walk that has a pharmacy, Starbucks, Ralph's market and few other stores. We felt very safe walking around though we did not venture out after dark. The hotel has an onsite laundry which I think was $3 per load. They also had a wet bar at the pool and showed free movies at the pool most nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goatfishbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Goalfishbull,

Thank you for the review! It's great to hear such kind words about our hotel and your great experience at the restaurant. We do apologize for worrying you with the false alarm, but are happy that everyone was safe and it was not a real emergency. We are happy you found our location convenient as well. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went to Los Angeles for a quick get a way. Stayed at the Beverly Garland and it was wonderful. Very nice, quiet and very relaxing. Dinner at the on site restaurant was very good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Kathy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed our restaurant during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and had a great stay. Yes there was building work going on but it only meant we had to wait a little longer for the lift. Our room was a Family Suite and was great for us. My daughter was able to stay in the living area on a double sofa bed, whilst my husband and I had a double bed in the main bedroom area. We had two bathrooms. The room was newly refurbished with free wi-fi. Very nice indeed.
Although it is close to the Highway, the glazing was very efficient so we slept well.
Staff were super helpful in giving advice on getting about and there is a free shuttle bus to Universal and the Metro station.
We ate in the restaurant and had a fabulous meal. The pool was also good, not busy with a good bar service. There is also a good fitness room.

Room Tip: Ask for newly refurbished room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Annette W:

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Family Suite, Warren's Blackboard and our Pool area. We hope you come back soon to experience our new product "The Garland".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,748 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#122 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,662 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#67 of 352 in Los Angeles
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £158 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing