We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday review”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday review”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My family stayed here for a week in a family room. The room was fine albeit we faced out onto the Freeway which was noisy.

The hotel was fine and had an excellent swimming pool which showed a movie each evening. A nice touch was the ample supply of towels at pool side.

The restaurant attached to the hotel was better than good and the staff very friendly which made up for the slightly less than helpful staff at reception.

Location was perfect for getting about and the shuttle bus very good for getting to universal studios.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing he pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Paul W

Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re sorry about the highway noise and hope that it wasn’t too distracting. We are very proud of our restaurant Warren’s Blackboard, and it makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,506
    1,071
    297
    101
    47
See reviews for
1,132
988
129
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is currently being refurbished and some of the negative reviews are probably as a result of this. We were told that the first block was refurbished by taking a floor at a time which caused some disruption. The hotel has learned from this and the next phase will take a whole block but out of peak season. Our room had not been refurbed but we were more than happy with it. We were shown a refurbed room and they look really great. The rooms are clean and comfortable and offer free wifi. The Pool area is a nice place to relax with snacks and cocktails available. The food at Warren's Blackboard is first rate. The staff are Friendly and helpful, Jess on the front desk was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for her and always with a smile to brighten anyone's day. We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return very soon.
We liked:
Clean comfortable Rooms
Free wifi
Free shuttle to Universal
Great Food
nice pool
fantastic staff

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
James,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us! It's great to hear your positive feedback on our hotel and restaurant. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Jessica. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights recently and enjoyed our stay. We made use of the facilities including the fitness Centre, laundry and pool and all were modern, clean and functional. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The shuttle to universal studios was also good as you could also go for tea. The location was good, close to the Metro and also a supermarket. Only wish we had a fridge in our studio room. Great stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 825emmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
825emmam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great that you were able to utilize our complimentary trolley to Universal Studios. We are happy to hear such kind comments on our staff. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 days at the end of July. The room was lovely and staff polite and helpful - pool was also nice. We did not rent a car when we stayed here, instead preferring to use the metro buses which we found very easy. We got the metro to hollywood and also to santa monica. A nice Ralphs store at the end of the road. Lovely hotel, would return

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma161181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
emma161181,

Thanks for the review! We are glad to hear your appreciation for our staff. It's wonderful that you were able to utilize the Metro easily during your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

In from Wisconsin on business. Long days on photo shoots and it's very comforting to come back to a well maintained, clean, modern and laid back resort. Love the lobby and the rooms. It was even sold out and I couldn't tell. If only all my business trips had this.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cory Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for the great comments about the Hotel. We are glad that you loved the new lobby and our renovated rooms. We hope to have you back but ideally on a leisure trip next time. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Retro meets modern in this North Hollywood gem. We drove in from Vegas, and were tired and surly by the time we arrived. My mood lifted instantly when greeted by the friendly (and multi-lingual) staff. The rooms are cheerful with pops of bright orange. The hotel was probably constructed in the 1950s or 1960s, and you can see those bones, but they've been given a modern, almost Scandinavian, makeover. The beds are super comfortable and the bathrooms were sleek and well-appointed. The pool, though not heated, was well-maintained and they make a mean raspberry daiquiri at the pool bar. I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sha820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Sha820

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our remodeled rooms. We have many exciting changes in store as we become “The Garland”. We hope you’ll join us again soon and thanks for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
van nuys
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Okay, I'm writing this review because it's all true and NOT because I like the sound of my own voice (as I see in SO many reviews) so I'll give you the straight deal:

The grounds are really pretty and comfortable. Created a very tranquil atmosphere. For a location so close to major streets, it's very peaceful... The room was VERY clean. The AC was working just fine- very comfortable. Check in/out a breeze. While I didn't utilize any, there seemd to be a good amount of activities on the grounds.

The staff: from the servers to desk staff to cleaning staff I paased in the hall- WAY friendly. The food- off the hook. I ate dinner and lunch. Delicious, comfy and again, the staff was spectacular. The same can be said for the bar staff.

Overall: it WAY more than served its purpose. I would go for the day or just to eat and drink. It was indeed a good discovery for me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaycheck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Kaycheck84

Thank you very much for your kind words. We love it when a guest goes into great detail about their stay, so please do not feel pressured to hold anything back. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed so much about your stay with us. We are proud of our service, our rooms and of our restaurant; Warren’s Blackboard. We hope you’ll join us again as our remodel is nearly complete and we will be unveiling our newest product “The Garland” very shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,657 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,897 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#119 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,642 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing