We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beverly Garland Hotel review”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lupton, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beverly Garland Hotel review”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Service is always fantastic. The staff are very professional and accommodating. The new movie nights at the pool are a lot of fun. A bus goes to Universal studios and the metro, which is very helpful. The new lobby remodel looks great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Karen T

Thanks for your lovely comments about our hotel and great staff. We are very proud of our new rooms, lobby and Beverly Park. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,443
    1,036
    288
    98
    46
See reviews for
1,077
962
124
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My Family and I originally booked to stay for 4 nights at the Beverly Garland in Los Angeles but we extended it to 5. This is a beautiful hotel with a contempory feel to it. Our rooms were newly renovated with an orange and grey decor theme. We loved it here and didn't want to leave.

Staff were very friendly and helpful to our needs. Warren's Blackboard is a great restaurant/bar and it has a fantastic breakfast buffet to offer.
Their shuttle service to Universal/CityWalk was a fantastic bonus to our stay here. We stayed in several hotels on our Holiday in California but this one was our favourite.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minnie1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Minnie1609

We’re so happy to hear that you loved us so much that you chose to stay longer. We really try hard to make everyone’s stay special and enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Not everything was perfect, but the good more than outweighed the bad.

Its not the most modern hotel, but it was really nice, and the room was great. We had an issue with the bathroom sink, (the overflow pipe was disconnected resulting in a wet floor) but it was quickly mended.

They have a nice pool, and while we were there they had a big screen showing family movies by the pool which meant a nice family atmosphere by the pool in the evenings.

There is a very handy shuttle bus up to Universal studios, and which can drop you off and pick up at Universal city Metro station too. Just make sure to check with the driver about pick ups as some drivers only called to the Metro by request.

It also a short bus ride up to Warner Brothers studio, although when given a timetable and directions for the bus up, the concierge didn't think to give information for the return.

Parking is $19 per night - watch out if this is an issue for you

Room Tip: Check with the driver if using the shuttle bus from Universal city Metro station - we generally watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Paul M

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you took advantage of the wonderful amenities that we offer at the Beverly Garland. We know the parking can be pricey in LA, though we keep it comparable with the other hotels in the area. We hope to have you back soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
280 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is definitely a throw back to old Hollywood. You can smell (not literally) old town glory as you walk the grounds of this historic hotel. I have been coming to Hollywood for 20+ years and never thought to stay here because I was always afraid of it's age and that the Holiday Inn took it over. Must say I was pleasantly surprised. It was clean and a pretty cool place and for my business all being in Burbank and Universal City it couldn't be more convenient. Had a nice little bar as well. I didn't eat in the restaurant it use the pool so I don't know how they are but I would think on par with what you would expect. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gma0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Gma0917

We appreciate your wonderful description of our hotel. We are no longer part of the Holiday Inn franchise and run independently since December 2013. We hope you’ll join us again soon, and hopefully have a chance to enjoy our restaurant and pool next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst travelling between San Fran and San Diego and I loved it! The hotel had an amazing sophisticated feel about it and the room, which looked brand new, was gorgeous. I didn't sample the pool area but my husband and son did and they said it was great. Didn't get to catch one of the movies they show in the evenings by the pool either but sounded like a great idea. Warrens Blackboard was fab, breakfast buffet had amazing choice and was good value for money. All in all a great stay, would definitely stay here again if ever revisited area.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionab44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Fionab44

We’re thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope you come by again and get to try out the pool for yourself, the movies, and anything else you may have missed. Thank you for your wonderful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My family stayed here for a week in a family room. The room was fine albeit we faced out onto the Freeway which was noisy.

The hotel was fine and had an excellent swimming pool which showed a movie each evening. A nice touch was the ample supply of towels at pool side.

The restaurant attached to the hotel was better than good and the staff very friendly which made up for the slightly less than helpful staff at reception.

Location was perfect for getting about and the shuttle bus very good for getting to universal studios.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing he pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Paul W

Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re sorry about the highway noise and hope that it wasn’t too distracting. We are very proud of our restaurant Warren’s Blackboard, and it makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is currently being refurbished and some of the negative reviews are probably as a result of this. We were told that the first block was refurbished by taking a floor at a time which caused some disruption. The hotel has learned from this and the next phase will take a whole block but out of peak season. Our room had not been refurbed but we were more than happy with it. We were shown a refurbed room and they look really great. The rooms are clean and comfortable and offer free wifi. The Pool area is a nice place to relax with snacks and cocktails available. The food at Warren's Blackboard is first rate. The staff are Friendly and helpful, Jess on the front desk was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for her and always with a smile to brighten anyone's day. We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return very soon.
We liked:
Clean comfortable Rooms
Free wifi
Free shuttle to Universal
Great Food
nice pool
fantastic staff

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
James,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us! It's great to hear your positive feedback on our hotel and restaurant. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Jessica. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#108 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing