We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient hotel for Universal Studios visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Ranked #97 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Carlos
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel for Universal Studios visit”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights while visiting L. A. and going to Universal Studios. The free shuttle to U.S. was why we chose this hotel and it worked out perfect. There is nothing really to do in walking distance and Ventura Blvd. was pretty dead - it was midweek but still not much to do nearby. The lobby of the hotel was really nice and the pool area looked nice. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The rooms, hallways, etc. were a disappointment. Kind of run down, no refrigerator or microwave, old TV and no book with information about the hotel. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway so overall it was fine. The coffee shop for breakfast was great!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krstymsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    364
    218
    91
    57
See reviews for
308
256
56
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Driving along Ventura Boulevard you arrive at the Sportsmens Lodge, our hotel in LA at the end of our roadtrip down from San Francisco. It is like stepping back in time, you can imagine the greats of the silver screen staying here in their heyday. Now it is still a nice hotel but needs bringing back to it's former glory.

The hotel is huge, with a large car park to match so no problem finding anywhere to park. The staff are really nice but on your way to your room you will see what I mean, the decor is dated as are the rooms with a 1970s feel. The rooms though are comfortable and clean, and our trip was one where we weren't spending any time in our room so it's wasn't like we were at all disappointed, but just to let you know what it's like so you know.

We didn't use the restaurants at the hotel, they did seem a bit pricey, so we headed outside, walking down to Jerrys and also Twains, two diners very nearby

One main advantage of the Sportsmens Lodge is the location, especially for Universal. The hotel offer a free shuttle to the park, all you need to do is tell them what time you want to go. You can also book the shuttle for later on, I think the latest one is 8.15pm, which we were going to get but found a good spot on City Walk at the Hard Rock Cafe so stayed for much longer and caught a cab!

Also a good spot for the Warner Studio Tour, which is brilliant and along with Universal I would recommend. We drove to Warner in 10 minutes or so and drove into downtown LA in 20 minutes.

Again, if you are staying here for a short period, then i would definitely recommend the Sportsmen Lodge and if the hotel owners decided to spend a siginicant amount of money on this place it would rise up and be great once again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisgriff6191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for business and I was pleasantly surprised. It is in one of the best locations in LA for access to the Valley and Hollywood attractions. It is easy to get around without having to use the major (traffic clogged) freeways.
This was a fine hotel for a business traveler. They have free WiFi, a small fee for parking and a Starbucks across the street. The only downside was the crappy off sight gym you can use...make sure to wash your hands after. There is also a bar in the lobby and some amazing sushi spots within walking distance.
This would be a GREAT hotel for a family on a budget. The breakfasts were filling and inexpensive. I had a great breakfast sandwich for $6.00. They have a large enclosed pool and as I mentioned before, you are close to the Studio tours and Hollywood. There are also quite a few things within walking distance, including restaurantsand shopping.
The vibe is definitely old Hollywood and it works. The rooms are a little out dated and the TV's are ancient but who is watching TV when you are in the heart of all the action?

Just a little added bonus, they were filming CSI Miami in the back of the hotel during my stay. What could be a better way to see the LA scene in action?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalsaPicante78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

In the summer of 2010 we travelled through the South-West of the USA and friens of ours were travelling from Washington state to LA. We decided to spend the last few nights together in Los angeles since friens of ours live there. We ended up in the Sportsmen's Lodge with 3 families (our friens were moving and decided to stay with us in the hotel). It was a great experience. As a European, I find all the US Hotels similar. In essence they all look the same. Rooms are similar; one maybe being cleaner than the other. Also the atmosphere is often similar. In this hotel it was different, the atmosphere is different; an almost oldfashioned (in a good way) atmosphere. Pool area is very agreable too. Breakfast can be ordered in the hotel (a cooked breakfast). And across the street a Starbucks also offers possibilities. Along the road there are several good restaurants (several 100 meters to the right is a great japanese restaurant) and the freeway is also easily accessible.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bloemski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

i stayed here for our school tour to LA as a party of 80. The hotel was great we had pool parties in the night as the pool didn't close until 9 o clock. The pool is a decent size with a number of loungers around the side. There is also a good size hot tub which is stunningly warm and relaxing. The food was nice, if you are staying as part of a huge group like me then you will be allocated in a guest room which holds alot of people and the food is served as a buffet with continental breakfast served in the morning with pastries and cereal. The rooms are of a very decent size and are very clean and to a high standard. The rooms do not have cooking facilities but there is a restaurant for food. The maids did a very good job at keeping the hotel rooms tidy. The beds are big and are very comfortable. If you are thinkimg of staying in Studio City or LA i would definately recommend this hotel to stay. Great value for money!!! i would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: don't choose a room on the ground floor as the balconies are smaller or there is none. Choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna12345458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Nice hotel if your going to the hotel make sure you lock all your valuables up because a few things went missing on our stay!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kallum_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, Essex
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed in the hotel with around 40 students from my high school, as part of a media studies trip. We spent 4 nights in the hotel, and the prices were reasonable. I wasn't expecting wonders, and was pleasantly surprised by everything upon arrival. The room was clean and a good size, the beds were large and extremely comfortable. The shower worked well and the TV was good enough. We had a balcony, however it was over-looking the car park; not amazing but still got a pretty good view of the surrounding landscape. The food was brilliant, both in the restaurant and the room service. Prices were also quite reasonable. The hotel staff were all kind and helpful, especially the waiters and restaurant staff. The jacuzzi and pool were both warm and clean, so not much more you could ask for. The wifi worked very well and all in all, it was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#95 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#108 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#106 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel

Property: Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Address: 12825 Ventura Boulevard, Studio City, Los Angeles, CA 91604
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Universal City Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsmen`s Hotel Los Angeles
Sportsmens Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing