We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Ranked #97 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the 'renovated' rooms that was just repainted really, nevertheless it was clean and everything worked. It was also large and had access directly to the pool. Several reviews have stated that car burglaries have occurred during their stay but we noticed no such issues with car park security. The staff were helpful and the breakfast menu, which was probably the best part of our stay, had an interesting selection and the best orange juice I've ever had. Overall it seems like a good hotel, or will be when completed, in a good location with reasonable rates.

I can add that The Six restaurant just down the road was very nice and worth a shot if you need somewhere to eat locally.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    373
    223
    94
    60
See reviews for
319
263
57
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Had a nice room overlooking the swimming pool. There was plenty of room in the bedroom for the 4 of us and the beds were very comfy. The bathroom was quite small however. Ate breakfast in the hotel cafe which was average. Also very busy with some customers walking out after waiting so long! The swimming pool was lovely - really warm with a wonderful hot tub. This hotel is a good place to stay if you don't want to be in central LA.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theplympopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Been staying here for about 12 years and seems that the hotel has been under construction for the whole 12 years....lol. The staff is great, the rooms are ok. Always get a non smoking room but still smells like smoke. Parking is ok, if you want to park in the back then walk to your room in the front.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjduran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie F, Manager at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your recent visit to the Sportsmen's Lodge. We are in the process of a full hotel renovation which is expected to be completed by the end of October. We are also very excited to announce that we are now a non-smoking hotel. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Thank you.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a great stay here. Breakfasts were good, rooms were clean (though tired), and the staff were helpful. The restaurant joining the hotel was pricey but worth it. Heated pool was great. Even saw two stars! Location is ideal for getting about - plenty on the doorstep, and in the car 15 mins to Sunset Boulevard and 20 minutes to the beach. Hotel was being renovated when we were there - lobby and pool finished and look good - but all done in reasonable hours. We would recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed here during renovation.... I get it there is going to be some inconvenience with construction going on. That being said they did not close any rooms for occupancy near the construction site. So of course I had a nice 8 am wake up call when the room started shaking and a loud jackhammer noise filled the room. Upon my arrival it was evident all the renovation has occurred in the lobby because once you leave the lobby and walk the corridors it becomes dark ,musty and smelly. The carpet was stained and dirty. Wallpaper was tattered and falling off the walls. The elevator was in shambles. The shore in our room leaked and was full of mildew and do it yourself tub patching. The sink had low water pressure and did not drain. The bathroom door would stick to the point where you had to kick it full force to get out. Within 3 hours of our stay 2 vehicles were burglarized in the parking lot. I should've given $160 to a homeless man and let him kick me in the nuts. I would've been better off.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BvanSEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie F, Manager at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your recent visit to the Sportsmen's Lodge. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your stay with us. The hotel is under renovation which will address many of your concerns. I hope you will come back and stay at our hotel to see our new renovations when completed; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Lovely welcoming staff in the lobby and the restaurant. Extremely handy for Universal Studios and the touristy sites of Hollywood and the Hollywood sign.
Nice big twin bedded room with good iszed bathroom.
Apparently the hotel is being refurbished, which it does need as it is tired looking. There is a pool which looked good, although we didn't use it.
The food in the restaurant was good, breakfast was excellent with really friendly and helpful staff.
Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rixy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the Sportsmans Lodge this summer for 5 days as we were visiting friends close by. The pictures on the website are very misleading as on arrival, I did not recognise the hotel from the pictures. Dark and drab rooms and corridor with very bad lighting, stained furniture, very poor visibility of the pool considering we had a poolside room, broken screen on door, long waits for breakfast to arrive, could this be that most staff members in the kitchen area were over 60? And looked tired?. Nothing wrong with being 60, but things moved very slow during breakfast time. We spent the last 2 days listening to the renovation free of charge. Very noisy, disruptive and no apology. We complained and were rewarded with an extra 1 hour before check out allowing us to check out at 1 pm instead of 12. Thanks SML. No I will not be recommending you to a friend or an enemy. Certainly not for nearly $900 for the privilege.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel until renovations are over. There was a lovely girl at the front desk. Not all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardJohnson910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie F, Manager at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back regarding your recent visit to the Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel. I want to apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We have started a full renovation of the hotel which is expected to continue till the end of October. This will address many of your concerns. We have also looked into whom you came in contact with so that these issues could be directly rectified. Please take assurance that we take this very seriously and appreciate the time you took in detailing your experience to us. We hope you will come back and visit us again.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#91 of 351 in Los Angeles
384 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,990 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Mikado Hotel
Mikado Hotel
#144 of 351 in Los Angeles
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#96 of 351 in Los Angeles
174 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#136 of 351 in Los Angeles
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel

Property: Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Address: 12825 Ventura Boulevard, Studio City, Los Angeles, CA 91604
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Universal City Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsmen`s Hotel Los Angeles
Sportsmens Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing