We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price, good location, but the renovation is average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Ranked #97 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great price, good location, but the renovation is average”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is the 2nd time that we stayed at the Sportsmen's because of the location and great price for L.A. The hotel needed renovating badly. They are in the middle of renovating it, but they have updated the room, but not the bathrooms. The beds are comfortable, but the pillows are like sleeping on a rock. The pool area is very nice and the hotel is surprisingly quiet. They need to install refrigerators in all of the rooms that would be a big plus. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and professional. They should spend the money to update the bathrooms and add refrigerators.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie F, Manager at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Sportsmen's Lodge. Unfortunately the hotel will not stock each room with a refrigerator, however we do have mini frig's available upon request. I apologize that the bathrooms did not meet your expectations. The bathrooms were redone with new vanities, sinks, toilets and tiles. The bathtubs might be changed at a later time. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Thank you again.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    364
    219
    91
    57
See reviews for
308
256
56
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for a week and it was really lovely. We had a pool side room, and the events area was booked every night with either a rich kids sweet16 or other swank event. Going to sleep to cool music was pretty nice; it was never too loud. Studio City is a great and safe part of LA and Ventura Blvd is pretty happening. Rooms were clean and spacious, service was excellent. Plenty of parking, and the pool is pretty impressive. All in all a comfortable stay and the price is about right. A nice trip to my hometown. Will do this place again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for two days whist visiting America on a road trip from the UK. The hotel was easy to find, and located well for visiting universal studios and city. The hotel was in the process of been renovated but this did not effect our stay. The room was a good size and and modern. The staff at reception were pleasant and helpful. Parking at the hotel is ample. My one criticism was that the room had been renovated but the original sliding windows/door were still in an we had difficulty shutting and locking them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the 'renovated' rooms that was just repainted really, nevertheless it was clean and everything worked. It was also large and had access directly to the pool. Several reviews have stated that car burglaries have occurred during their stay but we noticed no such issues with car park security. The staff were helpful and the breakfast menu, which was probably the best part of our stay, had an interesting selection and the best orange juice I've ever had. Overall it seems like a good hotel, or will be when completed, in a good location with reasonable rates.

I can add that The Six restaurant just down the road was very nice and worth a shot if you need somewhere to eat locally.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Had a nice room overlooking the swimming pool. There was plenty of room in the bedroom for the 4 of us and the beds were very comfy. The bathroom was quite small however. Ate breakfast in the hotel cafe which was average. Also very busy with some customers walking out after waiting so long! The swimming pool was lovely - really warm with a wonderful hot tub. This hotel is a good place to stay if you don't want to be in central LA.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theplympopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Been staying here for about 12 years and seems that the hotel has been under construction for the whole 12 years....lol. The staff is great, the rooms are ok. Always get a non smoking room but still smells like smoke. Parking is ok, if you want to park in the back then walk to your room in the front.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjduran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie F, Manager at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your recent visit to the Sportsmen's Lodge. We are in the process of a full hotel renovation which is expected to be completed by the end of October. We are also very excited to announce that we are now a non-smoking hotel. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Thank you.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a great stay here. Breakfasts were good, rooms were clean (though tired), and the staff were helpful. The restaurant joining the hotel was pricey but worth it. Heated pool was great. Even saw two stars! Location is ideal for getting about - plenty on the doorstep, and in the car 15 mins to Sunset Boulevard and 20 minutes to the beach. Hotel was being renovated when we were there - lobby and pool finished and look good - but all done in reasonable hours. We would recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,916 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#94 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#106 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#105 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel

Property: Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Address: 12825 Ventura Boulevard, Studio City, Los Angeles, CA 91604
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Universal City Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsmen`s Hotel Los Angeles
Sportsmens Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing