We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #58 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

LA was the first stop of our 3 week honeymoon and after recommendations from friends we decided to stay at Hilton Universal City and we are so glad that we did! What a great hotel with amazing staff.

We arrived at the hotel after our flight from Sydney at about 12pm. We were greeted by the porters who took care of our luggage and showed us through to Reception. I can't recall the name of the guy that checked us in but his service was exceptional and to our surprise our room was ready. Out of the 6 hotels we stayed at during or honeymoon this was hands down the most seamless and welcoming check in that we encountered. Our room was an alcove room on the 18th floor with great views of Universal Studios. Moments after we arrived we received a lovely surprise from my family to congratulate us and a small gift from the hotel which was a great start to our stay. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. We had room service a couple times and the food was great and staff efficient. The buffet breakfast is good also!

We found the location of the hotel was great- walking distance to Universal Studios and we walked to the station down the street to get the Metro into Hollywood which is only one stop away. We chose to use the town car a couple times to go to Warner Brothers and to pick up our hire car in Hollywood which was a little bit exxy but convenient.

The ladies at the tour desk were fantastic, especially Dora - she is an asset to your hotel! The only let down was the staff at the Starbucks cafe - they were the only staff we came across that seemed disinterested and unfriendly which is dissapointing as it lets the rest of the team down.

Overall, fantastic stay and we could not recommend this hotel enough! Thanks to all the staff that made our stay a memorable one!

Room Tip: If you like more space choose an Alcove room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    1,237
    550
    208
    132
See reviews for
1,581
847
132
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taft, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My family and I total 6 -- there are 3 adults and 3 teenage children. We visited Universal Studios and wanted a convienent place to stay. This was it-- they have a tram that runs every 15 min.so you never have to use your car while you are there. They do charge 18 dollars a day to park though. The rooms are great and the view( if you are facing the right way) is beautiful. My only complaint is your choice of beds in the room. Your choice is - 1 King or 2 Full beds They don't have queen beds, so it was a little uncomfortable when your used to a larger bed. The breakfast was fabulous, but very expensive. This hotel is NOT cheap, but I think its worth it. I will stay here again, next time we visit Universal Studios.

Room Tip: Roomns facing the city have a nicer view. The higher you go the more it costs. The breakfasts, and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear guest,

I am the Assistant Manager of Hotel Operations for Hilton Universal City/Los Angeles. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us during your visit to Universal Studios. Upgrading full size beds to queen beds is on the wish list we will soon be working on. Making our guests feel right at home is what we strive to achieve. Thank you for take the time to write us a review. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Los Angeles.

Tina Chien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Great hotel very clean stayed 8 nights used it as our base in LA, as the other reviews state great for Universal, we arrived early about 11.00am and although our room was not ready the very helpful front desk staff moved us to one that was 19th floor great views, did not use the pool area but it looked pristine, Only downside cost of $18 dollars per night for the car but then again thats LA it cost more to park the car for 8 days around LA than it did to feed myself! LOL. Also hotel has a limit on changing travellers cheques of $100 a day can be a bit of pain if like myself you forget to do it when you are out (but that is my fault and not the hotels). Great stay, Great staff very friendly and helpfull, I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high one the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crushtastica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

As we are planning to go to Universal Studio, decided to stay at Hilton LA Universal City. It is conveniently located and a short drive (10mins) from downtown LA.

There is a free shuttle bus to Universal City (which also picks up Sheraton next door) but it is easily walkable to Universal Studio (across the traffic lights).

Overall we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbPk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Nice hotel, we stayed 2 nights specifically to do universal studios, it was a great loctation for that. Has an amazing food dining and room service menu. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly and helpful, we recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My hubby and I were traveling from Singapore. We chose this hotel because of their location, a decent 5 minutes walk to the Universal Studio. Good location to the theme park and the metro station. Rooms were clean. Rates were affordable. Staff were not too friendly though, or maybe we are Chinese..?!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diazt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the Universal City Hilton from August 3 to August 13 of 2011. We had some difficulty choosing between the UCH and the Sheraton Universal but we were very satisfied with our stay at the Hilton. We took the bed and breakfast package which provided us with a lovely breakfast buffet each morning which had hot and cold cereals, fruit, cold cuts, and a delicious array of hot items - eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, pancakes, omelets, and even dim sum. We took advantage of the free shuttle bus that came to the front of the hotel every half hour or so to go to the Universal Theme Park. There was also a shuttle bus from the theme park to the Universal red line metro station at the bottom of the hill which was complimentary as well. The Universal City Walk has a number of restaurants including Tony Roma's, Bubba Gump's Shrimp, and our favourite eatery, Wolfgang Puck's. The hotel was modern, clean and comfortable with a good workout centre and a wonderful outdoor pool. The service was friendly and the Concierge was helpful with printing off directions for the public transit as we chose not to rent a car. We loved the location and the ambience - would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmamacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#107 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
The Garland
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#93 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#138 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing