We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect when going to Universal Studio's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #51 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have stayed at the Hilton Universal Studio many times over several years. Always a perfect stay and the location cannot be beat. There is a shuttle to the park and the Universal Studio's City walk. So you spend the day at the park, back to the hotel to shower and get ready for dining and a nigh of entertainment on the city walk. Never have to drive or get in your car during your stay at the hotel is you are just doing the park. It is tucked back away from the hustle of LA traffic. 1 minute off the freeway to easy access when you are ready to venture out in the car. Rooms are huge and the staff is so nice and professional. This hotel is safe, secure and worth every cent due to it's location to the park. You can take the shuttle but it's just as easy to walk there. No matter where we go in LA or our plans we always stay at this hotel. We have stayed at this hotel at least 40 times and always had a perfect experience. They do charge to much for parking but that's just part of visiting LA. Lots of cities do the same. Enjoy this hotel!

Room Tip: To floor rooms are the best and have fantastic views of LA.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,747)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,555 - 2,561 of 3,747 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by my experience at this hotel. I am somewhat jaded as my Los Angeles hotels experiences have been less than remarkable. This hotel is the exception. Great location within easy 10 minute walking distance to Universal Studios and City Walk. Check-in was a breeze and the doormen were helpful without any attitude at all. The hotel is tall with upper floors eliminating any highway noise below. Great views too. The room was clean as was the carpet. Nothing to complain about here as it is up to better Hilton hotel standards.
The bar area had a fresh Sushi stand which looked great. The hotel bar also had an entertaining and talented piano player who actually serenaded my 19 year old son. Very fun.
This is a very welcoming property/hotel. I wish more LA area hotels were as nice an experience.
Definitely would stay here again on business or family travel. Reasonable valet parking fee with in/out privileges too

Room Tip: higher floors have nice views
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here recently with the family. The location is good for those wanting to do the Universal Studios theme park, but the hotel seemed dated and not up to usual Hilton standards. For example, the hotels at Universal Studios Florida are much higher quality.

The price (I assume due to location) was not justified by the hotel rooms and amenities.

Also, it appears that Hilton HHonors has discontinued complimentary hot breakfasts for members and instead providing a continental (cold) breakfast. Why hot breakfast at Hampton Inn, but not Hilton? A poor move considering many loyal HHonors members.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bemison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel is ideally located for Universal Studios and City Walk, both being a 5 min walk up the hill (a free shuttle is available but seemed pointless!). It is also a 10 min walk down the hill to the metro stop, which takes you in to Hollywood. Citywalk is a great place to shop and eat out, and Universal Studios is a must. The room was just the right size and was nice and clean. The staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful, in particular the concierge desk who helped us with a number of enquiries.
I only had two issues with the hotel: 1) the cost of everything is very expensive. Parking is $20/day, which seems a bit steep to me, and the internet was about $8 per day. Both these things should be included in your room rate in my opinion. We also ordered breakfast room service on one day, which came to about $50 – this also seems quite pricey. 2) My second issue was the noise – at about 3am we were woken up by noisy guests, first shouting and running up and down the corridor and then we could here every word from their room next door because the walls appeared to be so thin. This went on for 2 hours. I know the hotel can’t vet the guests and control their behaviour, but the soundproofing between each room and the corridor was minimal – I could hear them using the toilet and brushing their teeth!! The second night we were there was much better.
I’m unsure as to whether I would stay at this hotel again – maybe if I got a good deal!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annat1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Well, you have only one mission and that is of course to go to Universal studios, if that is your mission as well, this hotel is the one to go for. You can easily walk to the studios AND to the Universal vity walk were you can find all kind of restaurants. That means you dont have to eat at the hotels restaurant. Very "American" large beds, big rooms. But the ting to point out are again the walking distance to the studios.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valle1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

You couldn't find a better location to visit Universal Studios. We had two rooms, one on the 9th floor and one on the 22nd floor. Both were very nice with great views. Only thing is that if someone has a disability, you should wait for the shuttle service or call a taxi instead of trying to walk to Universal City Walk. Clean, nicely maintained, great beds and bedding. Restaurant was super expensive, but had the largest buffet I have ever seen. $47 per person, but overall, it was worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TelmaWomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Universal for a conference in LA. The hotel is in very good condition, with nice public spaces and well maintained, comfortable rooms. My room was quite large for an urban hotel. The location, across the street from Universal Studios, would be very convenient for those visiting the park. Otherwise, there isn't much near by. The hotel is close to a subway stop and you can get to Hollywood or downtown easily on the metro.

Although the staff was generally friendly, I experienced some lackluster service: no maid service one day, slow check in, a concierge without information about convention transportation (the Hilton was one of the host hotels). The other nit I'd have was the prices in their convenience/gift shop - made airport gift shops look like Walmart.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1000Islands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#125 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,667 reviews
The Garland
#14 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,087 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#93 of 353 in Los Angeles
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#140 of 353 in Los Angeles
181 reviews
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £166 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing