We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the location, and it is a very good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #55 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I love the location, and it is a very good hotel!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I love the location, it is the closest to Universal Studios and City Walk. I think that just the extra couple blocks of steps up hill to get to City Walk and the park would disuade one from staying at the Neighboring Sheriton. Since Hilton is so close we had no qualms about going back to the hotel to allow our little one to nap while Dad & our preteen swam in the pool. Then we would head back out for late afternoon at the park, and even back to hotel and back out to City Walk for the evening.

The pool is large heated and has cabana tents, food and drink service .

I love that they have a little convienence refrigerator in the room

We stayed at the hotel a couple years ago and spent the big bucks to get a tower room one of the special the top floors with view of Universal Studios whivh was fun, but this visit we decided to save money and only had a 7th floor room and I have to say I would do this again because it was the same room, just no park view, and we found other thighs to spend the money on, like the fabulous seafood Buffett in the Hilton's Sienna Resturant and a front of the line pass for Universal Studios.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hinrichsen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    1,268
    572
    213
    137
See reviews for
1,652
863
134
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Given its location directly next to Universal Studios, it is not surprising that this hotel was rather touristy. But it makes it less than ideal for a business stay. It is nice enough, though, and quite clean and well maintained.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brad_K_NY_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotel is very close to Universal Studios and City Walk and provides shuttle transportation. It's an ideal location for those planning on spending their time at Universal Studios. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel and guest rooms were in need of some updating. Daily self parking fee seemed high.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

After flying from Sydney Australia and going straight to the hotel we arrived at approx 10am, well before check in but we were very happy that they had a room ready and were happy for us to check in. this is where we had our only issue. we get to the room and try the key a couple of times but its no good so we head back down to the front desk and they give us new keys and we start again. Back to the room same problem only this time someone opens the door as they are staying in there. Call the desk from the phone in the hall and they say to come back down as the room was meant to be vacant and they are sending security to the room. The front desk man was very apologetic and escorted us to a new room and gave us free breakfast for the few days we were there. We finally got a room and were happy to sit down.
We chose this hotel for the proximity to universal and it did not disappoint us. We could see the main gate to universal from our room and it was literally a 5 minute walk over the foot bridge (don't bother with the shuttle) to the entrance of universal and also the city walk shopping and food precinct. We did the VIP universal tour (do it if you can) and spent a plenty of time at the city walk which has a good range of food and shopping options. First shop we see is billabong clothing ( didn't fly all way to see an aussie shop haha.)
We took a cab to down town Hollywood which was approx $20 and spent some time there which i am sorry to say was very disappointing. You can also walk down the very steep street to the nearest train/subway station and go 2 stops to get to Hollywood.
Overall we were happy with hotel the staff were all friendly and helpful the restaurant had a good selection the rooms were clean and a good size and the bed was comfy but nothing rave about. The hotels selling feature really is the location so if universal is your plan stay here and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for a view of universal and the city walk its much nicer than a brown hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just came back from a terrific stay at the Universal Hilton over the Memorial weekend. You can’t get a better location than the Hilton if you’re visiting the Universal Studio. The room was good size, comfy bed, clean and no problems with noise. The view of Studio City, Hollywood Hills and part of the lower lot of Universal Studio (we can see the Transformer building) were fantastic (room 2259). Everyone at the hotel was super friendly and always ready to help. If you didn’t need the help, they would just shower you with their smile and greeting which will just brighten your day. Here are some random details about the hotel:
1. Parking was $20/day for Self-parking. We didn’t see the need for valet since we only stayed for two nights and didn’t leaving the hotel at all (spent two days at the Universal Studio).
2. Walking distance to Universal Studio, or there’s a shuttle. The walk is uphill to the Studio.
3. Breakfast buffet has warm food, fruit, cold cuts, Asian foods, Hispanic choices, fresh squeezed orange juice, high quality fresh pastry, omelette station, and much much more.
4. An empty in room fridge which you can put your stuff in.
5. Good size closet!
6. GREAT multi-device adapter charger for your electronic devices, so if you forgot your charge, this device might just have the right adapter!! It was a pleasant surprise. I didn’t even unpack my chargers.

7. Perks for Hilton Honors Gold:
-we were able to get an upgrade to the executive floor.
-Since there’s no executive lounge, we were provided with a voucher/ person for a drink (non-alcoholic) and an appetizer at The Lounge. The voucher can only be used from Monday-Friday, 11:30AM-10:00PM.
-Voucher for complimentary continental breakfast consists of a drink (coffee, juice or soft drink), choice of total of four pastries, and a cereal (granola or oatmeal). Or you can upgrade to the full buffet for $9 more. My hubby and I thought it was worth upgrading.
-Fruit platter with chocolate and dessert and bottled water upon entering the.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssspaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have stayed at the Hilton Universal Studio many times over several years. Always a perfect stay and the location cannot be beat. There is a shuttle to the park and the Universal Studio's City walk. So you spend the day at the park, back to the hotel to shower and get ready for dining and a nigh of entertainment on the city walk. Never have to drive or get in your car during your stay at the hotel is you are just doing the park. It is tucked back away from the hustle of LA traffic. 1 minute off the freeway to easy access when you are ready to venture out in the car. Rooms are huge and the staff is so nice and professional. This hotel is safe, secure and worth every cent due to it's location to the park. You can take the shuttle but it's just as easy to walk there. No matter where we go in LA or our plans we always stay at this hotel. We have stayed at this hotel at least 40 times and always had a perfect experience. They do charge to much for parking but that's just part of visiting LA. Lots of cities do the same. Enjoy this hotel!

Room Tip: To floor rooms are the best and have fantastic views of LA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by my experience at this hotel. I am somewhat jaded as my Los Angeles hotels experiences have been less than remarkable. This hotel is the exception. Great location within easy 10 minute walking distance to Universal Studios and City Walk. Check-in was a breeze and the doormen were helpful without any attitude at all. The hotel is tall with upper floors eliminating any highway noise below. Great views too. The room was clean as was the carpet. Nothing to complain about here as it is up to better Hilton hotel standards.
The bar area had a fresh Sushi stand which looked great. The hotel bar also had an entertaining and talented piano player who actually serenaded my 19 year old son. Very fun.
This is a very welcoming property/hotel. I wish more LA area hotels were as nice an experience.
Definitely would stay here again on business or family travel. Reasonable valet parking fee with in/out privileges too

Room Tip: higher floors have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#110 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,609 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,982 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#90 of 351 in Los Angeles
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#137 of 351 in Los Angeles
177 reviews
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing