We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #52 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed here with my husband as part of our honeymoon for 4 nights. The check in was smooth and we didn't bother mentioning we were on honeymoon as we thought a chain like Hilton wouldn't offer any extras. However, Jose on the front desk asked us what we staying here for so we told him and he arranged for a bottle of bubbly and chocolate dipped strawberries to be delivered to our room later that evening with card signed from the staff. We were chuffed - best 'extra' throughout the whole holiday.

We were on a high floor which had a good view, however did look out over the highway which was quite noisy, but didn't really affect us. The room was big enough with a nice bathroom and kept clean throughout our stay. I do agree with other reviews that the lifts are slow which can be frustrating at times. We also tried out the jacuzzi and pool in the evenings which were clean and a good temperature.

The location is brilliant - 10 min walk to City Walk and Universal. We also drove to Hollywood which is fairly nearby, however with the traffic it can take a while. All in all we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: High floor will better views
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Allow us to congratulate you again on your recent nuptials. We are delighted that your honeymoon stay with us was enjoyable. Thank you for the kind praise of Jose, as he is a great asset to our front desk staff. We will be sure to pass along your comments to him. We wish you all the best in your new life together and look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,746)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,131 - 2,137 of 3,746 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Location was excellent - 10 mins walk to Universal City and the park. Parking was easy (although not cheap). The swimming pool was clean and very warm, with a good pool bar. Staff very helpful. Rooms were typical of a Hilton, clean with 2 good sized beds. Have to pay for Wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsv17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Gust ,

We are thrilled that your visit was a success, and your insights are helpful and certainly invaluable. We couldn't agree more that our location to Universal Studios theme park makes a for a great visit. So glad you were able to enjoy the pool and pool bar during your time with us. We do hope you travels bring you back this way again soon, and we would be happy to be of service.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel an easy stroll to Universal Studios and and the Metro station is only about a 10 minute stroll down hill. Wonderfully situated. The hotel is clean, with decent sized rooms.
HOWEVER, everything inside the hotel is so slow. The check in/ check out procedures, the lifts, the restaurant service .. and the list goes on. At breakfast, we were amazed to watch a manager have daily arguments with staff on the floor. I dont think I saw one happy staff member during the whole stay. I seriously dont think I will ever return here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations. I have spoken with our Rooms Division and they will be in touch with you shortly to gain a better understanding of your experience. I assure you as a AAA Four Diamond Hotel, this is not the type of service we wish to provide our guests. We are delighted to announce that we will be integrating new elevators before the end of the year, which will increase guest flow and lessen wait times for the elevators.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with a flawless experience in the future should you join us once again.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Decent sized clean rooms and close to Universal which is their ONLY selling points.Other than that they are over-priced. I went here on family vacation and the staff and elevators in the hotel tried their hardest to ruin our vacation. The staff was rude, they had one elevator working for the entire hotel. we had to take the stairs several times from the 12th floor and when I expressed my concern with the front desk they acted as if they could care less. I've stayed in hotels all over the world, many times they have been Hilton, which is generally a good experience, NOT THIS ONE, NEVER AGAIN. I try to make sure I give honest reviews and this is honest review of a bad hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sublime99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the evaluation of your recent stay. We regret any inconvenience caused by our staff and elevators. We strive to make every guest feel cared for, valued and respected and are disappointed we did not achieve this brand promise. Presently the hotel is integrating new elevators and look forward to the speed and guest flow this will give our hotel when the project is finished this year. We regret that this caused you frustration during your time here. We will have a representative from our Rooms Division reach out to you to discuss this in further detail. We hope you will reconsider and stay with us the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal


It is going to be stunning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I had originally booked a hotel on Sunset Boulevard but after reading the reviews for it and worrying about the location I decided to book elsewhere. Even though this hotel was quite a lot more than what I would have paid origianlly I am so glad I booked it! The hotel is away from most of the main attractions in LA but its not impossible to get anywhere - we used taxis a couple of times and there is a metro station just down the hill that takes you to Hollywood or downtown. The hotel is lovely inside and seemed very clean. Our room was huge and had really nice views. We used the pool a couple of times which again was very nice, they have cabanas which can be used free of charge. We ate at the Atrium Lounge in the hotel a few times and the food was very good. They also have happy hour 5-7pm with free appetizers and offers on glasses of wine or beer so we took advantage of that a few times! The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Universal Studios but they also have a free shuttle. I would definitely recommend this hotel, even though its further out its in a nice safe area and I'm guessing a lot quieter than if you stayed right in the centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siobhan2008uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It is wonderful that you were able to take advantage of all the hotel has to offer. Soaking up the sun in our pool and sipping drinks in our cabanas are what vacation is all about. We are pleased you were able to take the metro ,that is so close by, to see the local sights. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I've stayed here a few times, it's a nice clean hotel with a perfect location! Ya it is a little expensive, but if you stay at a cheaper hotel you'd be paying the money you saved in transportation to and from Universal Studios. Rooms are really nice, I stayed in the King Alcove room last time. I've had nothing but good experiences with the staff, especially Stewart at the front desk. He actually turned out to be the first person to see me and my fiance and congratulated us after we got engaged :) So overall I don't think you can go wrong. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Stewart is an amazing asset to our Front Office staff and we will be sure to inform him of your kind praise. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A good example of it's kind. Staff are an asset, but the travel concierge was less than helpful. Knowledge of local transport was very poor and could not accept we did not want to drive.. She was clearly committed to her commission!!!!

If you are visiting Universal Studios this is excellent, if not it is miles away from everything. Breakfast is way over priced and there is limited choice nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bglover g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#122 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,663 reviews
The Garland
#14 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,083 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#90 of 352 in Los Angeles
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#138 of 352 in Los Angeles
181 reviews
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 352 in Los Angeles
3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £166 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing