We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel...Meh on the Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #51 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our trip to Universal studios and were immediately impressed with the hotel. Stuart at check in was FANTASTIC! He was welcoming and engaging and a great asset to the hotel. Our room was clean and large and housekeeping was perfect. The interior of the hotel was beautiful and the shuttle to Universal was an awesome bonus. All of those contributed to the 4 stars given. I would have really loved to give 5 but I can't for 2 reasons

1.) Prepare to wait on the elevators. There are times when the doors have to open 4 times before there is any room. Seems ridiculous since we have stayed in larger hotels with only 5 elevators and never had a problem. Maybe they should consider assigning 2 elevators for floors 1-12 and the remaining elevators for floors 14 and up?

2.) Atrium Bar. Where to being! My husband and I had "date night" planned for 10 pm on every night of our trip (2 weeks worth of dates). We had a fantastic experience in San Diego but when we came down to the Atrium Bar here it was a different experience, and not a friendly one. We are not high maintenance people at all. We just came down for some drinks and a quick bite. We had to flag down a woman just to get a menu and she was not pleased that she had to bring us one. (Everyone has a bad day so we didn't take offense to her frown of annoyance). However we literally sat there for 20 minutes and had to flag down someone who we assumed was our waiter to get our drink order in. It became a joke between my husband and I that every time we needed a drink or a food order placed we literally had to raise our hands for attention! The place wasn't even that crowded! Finally the constant flagging down got to be a bit much so me just got our check and left. Needless to say, we spent our date money next door at the Sheraton where there was truly service with a smile in their bar area. Sorry Hilton, wish we could have indulged more at our hotel but didn't want a repeat.

Overall, great hotel and would recommend because of the check in service and room quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Our-family-time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,748)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,928 - 1,934 of 3,748 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here with friends; they booked the hotel. We were there mainly for the park. The room was lovely and spacious. A gift basket had been left in the room with treats for us arriving. A shuttle was available to the park but we walked most days.
Breakfast was brilliant; lots of choice and most stuff made fresh for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizziemo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

10 min walk to the metro to reach downtown LA, otherwise easy to get a Taxi. As always in LA it is a question about distances. Very good hotel! Nice view over interstate-roads. Minor was that some of the meeting rooms was severly affected by heavy traffic passing by outside, the whole room jumped at few cm each time a larger vehicle passe by.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Anders S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I loved everything about this hotel. It was convenient yet quiet. They had a shuttle that took me to City Walk and picked me up, too. I stayed here after a long business trip and felt very pampered. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great location. Huge buffet on sat & sun or can order from menu. Walked across the street to universal which was better than driving into town. Left the next am and traffic was super heading back to airport. Check in was fast. Efficient and all staff was more than happy to wait on visitors. Definitely a highlight !!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was able to stay for two nights at the Hilton Universal City last weekend. I was really surprised about been attended so well specially in a location that is so close to a theme park that usually is for masses and with little expectations about a great quality service like the one we received at this Hilton. I felt as at home but with such a higher level of support and good food. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here after reading Negative reviews on the other big hotel across the road. We could not be more happy that we chose this place. We stayed 2 nights here due to the convenience of wanting to maximise our time at Universal Studios

Service was outstanding and the room was so lovely and spacious. The shuttle was great too and very convenient. Also the convenience store downstairs was good too.

Randolph who works at the front door to greet the guests would have to be the highlight for us. He really made our stay so wonderful. He was helpful and so friendly. He gave us great tips and recommendations whilst we were there and heading to Universal Studios. Nothing was too much trouble. He even organise a transfer for us with the hotel to our next location in Hollywood. Thanks Randolph - I told you I would give you a big shout on Trip Advisor for being so good to myself and my family. You made our stay and we have recommended it again to other friends so I hope you are there to meet my friends when they travel from Australia at the the end of the year.

We paid for a standard room and we were given a lovely room with beautiful views.

Do yourself a favour and stay here if going to Universal Studios. So worthwhile

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#125 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,666 reviews
The Garland
#14 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,088 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#93 of 353 in Los Angeles
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#140 of 353 in Los Angeles
181 reviews
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £166 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing