We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Universal City and Studio City!”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #54 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Katy, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location for Universal City and Studio City!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at this location for three weeknights in May. The entrance to the hotel is tricky to find if you aren't looking carefully. I valet parked my car my entire stay which was well worth the money for the amazing service! Once I checked in I was able to visit the pool which was clean and enjoyed relaxing in the large hot spa. There are walkways to Universal which is right next door. Ventura blvd is close by with many shops and eateries. The lobby was always well staffed and everyone was very kind. My room was large and had a great view of Universal and all the studios as well as the hills. Nighttime was amazing with all the lights and the hills in the backdrop. The only downside to me was the executive level service. There was no executive lounge, only a continental breakfast voucher. The continental breakfast included 3 pastries (hard and stale) and fruit. I upgraded to the full breakfast buffet the rest of my stay since the other was such a disappointment. Also my room was adjoining to another and the noise coming from the other room was ridiculous. They weren't overly loud but I could hear everything. Some sound proofing of the doors is needed! The elevators were quick and I did not have to wait long during my entire stay. I had a friend visit me one day and the self parking lot was a hike!! It was not worth the few dollars saved not using the valet. The turndown service each night was a wonderful benefit as well!!

Room Tip: Stay above the 10th floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

3,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    1,269
    572
    213
    138
See reviews for
1,655
863
134
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fromberg
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great location if your visiting Universal Studio. Short walk to the park.. Staff was friendly. Parking was a little expensive. Our 1st room was great but the air conditioning was not working, they sent up someone to check it but he was unable to fix so they moved us into the room next door. This room was a different story it had a stale smoke/wet dog odor, something brown and sticky spilt on the carpet and up the wall by mini-fridge. This room just was dirty. It did have view of the pool and hills that was a plus and the beds were ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We regret that your accommodations did not meet your expectations during your stay. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and a representative from our Executive Office will reach out to you shortly to gain a better understanding of your experience. Your insights help us to improve our property and services. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The room with the view was on the 18th floor very nice and priced right as I used my AAA card for the best possible rate. It is an older Hotel but the staff is exceptional and very attentive. It was my first time staying at this Hotel for a couple of days with my Family as we enjoyed the shuttle service to Universal studios and its restaurants. Don't forget... ask your discount at all Universal Studios shops and restaurants everything is a bit pricey. The room was spacious and the view was spectacular and very lovely. The beds are extremely comfortable with the extra touch of having fluffy soft pillows after a long day was even more special. Everything was clean, decorative and convenient. A great place to stay when with your Family. We will definitely be back to visit and stay in the next few months.

Room Tip: Ask for the 18th floor views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here with my wife. It was our first time in this hotel, but as Diamond HH members we have stayed in quite a few hiltons. This is very good. They don't have an executive lounge, but they know how to treat guests. The room was great with exceptional views. Lots of families as you would expect.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British columbia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nice hotel, very convenient to universal studios. We stayed here last weekend because we had a wedding reception there. The hotel is clean and nice, there was issues with the elevators though which we had to go up, to come down from our floor. This was a bit of a pain in the butt. The pool was nice, the hot tub was ok. Many of the jets didn't work. I found it needed some upgrades. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent four nights here back in August. The hotel was lovely, the rooms were very big - very spacious to cater for 4 big suitcases! The in room refridgerator is really handy for water & milk! We had a view of Universal from our room which was also nice! The wifi was free of charge in our room despite being told there was a daily charge :). The breakfast buffet at this hotel is outstanding, definitely worth the money! The pool is small enough but there is a nice jacuzzi and bar by the pool. There is a nice hotel gift shop too. Would recommend staying at this hotel for going to Universal and it is within walking distance of City Walk aswell or there is a free shuttle bus if you are too tired/lazy! Downside is that guests would need a car to go to downtown LA etc!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great hotel and convenient to Universal studios. When I booked I asked for a high floor with a good view they didn't disappoint 19th floor and great view of Hollywood hills and Universal studios. The room was very spacious huge bed great bathroom. Staff where very welcoming and helpful. Restaurant was great and reasonable we ate in the restaurant and had a meal in our room. It is a 5 minute walk to the studios but for those who think this is to much they even put on a curtesy bus. It is a bit out from LA main streets but the metro is 10 minute walk away and very cheap 1 stop and you are on Hollywood blvd. We used hop on hop off bus which stops outside the hotel would definitely recommend this we took it for 48 hours we where able to see all we wanted. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that your visit was a success, and your insights are helpful and certainly invaluable. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed not only the sights on the hill but the surrounding area of Hollywood. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#111 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,610 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,987 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#90 of 351 in Los Angeles
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#135 of 351 in Los Angeles
177 reviews
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing