We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay for Universal Studios Hollywood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #58 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Garfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best place to stay for Universal Studios Hollywood”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights the end of May. We like to base ourselves somewhere in Hollywood to do all the sights north of Anaheim. We both really liked the Hilton. The room was fantastic with great beds(pillows a bit soft for us). It gave us plenty of room to relax after a big day out. The check in process was very quick, the early check in fee of $25 wasn't too bad to get to the room early. Getting to Universal Studios was very easy with the free shuttle bus that ran very often(approx. every 15min.) We did not try the in hotel dining options as there was plenty of places to eat at Universal City Walk. We had a late flight on our last day so we were able to have our luggage stored so we could have a day out before our trip back home to Australia. Every staff member we dealt with was very helpful and we would not hesitate to stay here on our next Californian vacation. Was great to be away from the grubby part of Hollywood!!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views over Hollywood, would like to get room overlooking Universal Studies n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that your visit was a success, and your insights are certainly invaluable for future guest visiting Los Angeles. We couldn't agree more that the location combined with the amazing team at the Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel makes for a great visit. We do hope your travels bring you back this way again soon, and we would be happy to be of service.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Towsley
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LTowsley@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    1,236
    550
    207
    132
See reviews for
1,579
847
132
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The Hilton Universal City hotel is probably one of a few hotels which offers a rare combination of good location, top quality service and overall value for money. Not only does it offer an opportunity to experience the iconic Universal studios and associated attractions (including Hollywood), but it's close proximity to the major routes makes it easier for out-of-towners to access the major routes in the event you choose to drive yourself around. Ideal for both business and pleasure, this hotel boasts effervescent staff who bowled me over by their non-stop positive demeanour, helpfulness and enchanting diligence. I will surely be making this my hotel of choice when in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tebogo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CREYSSE
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Reception clerk did not have a smile when we checked in and even we had a nice room ( why put a sofa where you can be sitted?) and food ( breakfast), it was not so good.
Will think of it before coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARPOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations. I have spoken with our Executive Office and they will be in touch with you shortly to gain a better understanding of your experience.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with a flawless experience in the future should you join us once again.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and please let us know if you have any questions or comments in the meantime.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Towsley
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LTowsley@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here to visit Universal Studios. Upsides: clean. Lovely views. Good food - although awkward to get as the the food stations were located in the dining room but also in the walkway outside the dining room, and there were SO many people rushing to get their food! Close to Universal. Parking for cars provided. Pool area lovely. Interesting - the piano in the dining area which plays (sort of!)prerecorded music without a pianist!
Downsides: 1. We arrived Mother's Day, and ate at the Sun night buffet advertised for $49 a head. Already expensive. When we got the account, they had charged an extra $10 or so, because it was Mother's Day. This surcharge was not advertised anywhere. 2. We had prebooked one night, but decided on arrival that we needed the second night. This they could provide, but bumped up the price by $60 even though it was a Monday night (usually cheaper). I thought they should have given us the same price as the first night seeing that they didn't have the cost of remaking our room for another guest. 3. On checkout they got the bill so confused that it took an hour to get organised, which mucked up our travelling for the day.

Disappointing. In 4 weeks of travelling the US this was the most poorly organised place we stayed, even though the building and decor is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyZ1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. We regret you had issues during your time with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall time in the US. A representative from our Executive Office will reach out to you shortly to gain a better understanding of your experience. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Towsley
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LTowsley@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Several friends and I chose the Hilton in Universal City to be our base from which we could do some tours in Hollywood, and it worked out very well for us. It's in a much nicer (safer) location than the Hollywood hotels.

Our rooms were all nice and clean with lovely views of Universal Studios or the Hollywood hills, and the price was reasonable. I stayed in a double queen room (619), because I was told by the front desk staff that the king rooms weren't updated. That turned out to not be true as one of my friends had a king room and it was very similar to mine but with more free floor space.

The breakfast buffet was good, but not a lot of options if you're trying to watch carbohydrates. On day 2, I chose to order off the menu, which i think was a better choice. Either way, the mimosas were incredible.

The pool wasn't especially big, but it was nice - especially for cooling off at the end of a day full of walking.

If I were going to stay in the general area again, I'd gladly choose the Hilton Universal again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carib0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice rooms, especially those with view to the valley.
At check in they gave us a room with heavy smell of cigarette smoking, we were immediately upgraded to a better room.
Good value for money when booked through Expedia

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourmngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My grandson and I spent 3 nights at Universal City Hilton on the 10th floor. Excellent location next to Universal Studios which we visited and were able to walk there in 5 mins. Hotel service was as good as expected and even better when we parked in the underground car park and were immediately picked up with luggage by a golf cart and taken to reception. Expensive but worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#107 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
The Garland
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#93 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#138 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing