We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #46 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Hilton Universal City recently and would definitley go back.

The rooms are a good size and give a nice view over Los Angeles. They were very clean with very soft beds and large screen TV's.

The location is brilliant and only a five minute walk to Universal Studios and City Walk. There really is no need to get the shuttle bus. You are also only a 10 minute drive from both Hollywood and Warner Brothers Studios. Both will cost around $15 by taxi.

The staff were always extreamly friendly and very helpful.

The only reason its not 5 stars is because of the elevators. There was many a morning where we had to wait a good 5 to 10 minutes to access one and frequently had to walk down the stairs, on the 9th floor this wasn't ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank xLondoner1980x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,896 - 1,902 of 3,911 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights after a week in Orange and before 4 days in Vegas and were really please with our stay. The rooms were clean and comfy with great views but the main plus was the location. 5 mins walk to Universal and Universal city walk or there is a free shuttle bus and a 5 min walk to the subway where Hollywood Blvd is only 1 stop away.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The only great thing about this hotel was the close proximity to Universal Studios and subway. It was nice to be within walking distance to it. We were able to walk to the park and the City Walk for lunch and dinner. Also, it was a quick walk down the hill to the subway train. We were able to quickly arrive at the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Chinese Theatre, etc via that subway. A quick drive to local attractions too like the Warner Bros. Studio. The concierge was really nice. The hotel room was average. We could tell the rooms were dated. For example, the electrical outlets were very limited and a few did not work so I had trouble charging my phone and ipad. Of course the hotel was doing fire alarm testing/renovations during our stay and they did not give us advance notice of this. So we could not spend the day in the hotel room because of the noise-very annoying and no discount offered. The worst part of the hotel though were the elevators. It literally took forever to get to the parking garage because the two elevators were very slow and they had difficulty closing the doors. We would be in the elevator waiting for the door to close at least a minute or two and had to move to the other elevator. That was nothing though compared to the elevators to get to your room. During the lobby peak hours there is actually a person who stands at the elevator banks hitting the call button so an elevator can get a head start to come to the lobby. Bottom line, stay there if you wish to be close to Universal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback as we use these valuable insights to improve our property and services. We are currently renovating our elevators to be faster, more energy efficient and invite you back to try them out. A hotel representative will reach out to you shortly to discuss your experience in further detail. Thank you for the recommendation of our property and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Towsley
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LTowsley@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
________________________________________________

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We holidayed in LA late July/early August and used the Hilton as our first stop to orientate ourselves. The hotel is clean and tidy and staff are pleasant and helpful. The hotel is 10minutes walk from the Universal theme park and City Walk and a free shuttle bus runs every 15minutes or so. Breakfast for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 children) was around $70 although there is a Starbuck's for those on the run. We used the swimming pool frequently during our 4night stop - a good way to cool off from the theme parks and sight seeing. We booked a Movie Stars Tour with the hotels Concierge and benefitted from free guest transfer and we also booked a Limo to our the Disneyland Hotel our next stop over. On arrival back in the UK I have noticed that the Hilton somehow managed to charge me twice for the Limo transfer so I have requested a refund which I hope will be paid soon. Otherwise couldn't fault it. A great base for Universal, Hollywood, Beverly Hills and LA.

Room Tip: The hotel has had complaints about the lifts and during our stay, particularly during busy periods...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert-ErnieAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If your looking for a 5 star hotel with all the bells and whistles - this is the place for you. This was the third Hilton we stayed at during our West coast swing. We stayed in an upgraded Alcove room, and I must say that it was average. Nothing wrong - nothing special, just average. Trams to Universal Studios/City Walk ran every 15 minutes thru 11pm, but you could walk, just 10 minutes each way. Location is key to seeing LA. Took two hours by car to get to Venice Beach and meet up with "A Day in LA" tour, but only 15 minutes each to visit Warner Bros. tour one day and a live taping of Let's Make a Deal the next day. Within the hotel, Starbucks, gift shop, concierge and restaurants stay open really late. A Friday night buffet $49.95 is to die for... come hungry. Parking is too high, $24.00, and quite a walk from the garage to the lobby. Finally, it appears that they take security very seriously, almost to the point of creepy. They have employees everywhere, and I mean everywhere. You can't go anywhere on the property without someone watching you. They have employees stationed at the elevators, and follow you into the elevator and ride up to the floor with you. I do appreciate this, but it takes getting used to, and like I said before, it's kinda creepy. With that said, every employee I encountered was friendly and eager to help. I recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: No recommendations. My upgrade Alcove room was nice, but nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is a great choice even for visiting tourist attractions beyond Universal Studios. It is only a 10-15 minute drive to Hollywood Blvd or Griffen Park, and we drove all over L.A. while staying there for 5 days. You can walk to the Universal Park or City Walk (lots of restaurants, Boca Del Beppo is the best!) in about 10 minutes, or take the hotel shuttle that runs every 15 minutes or so. The hotel staff was beyond friendly -- really exceptional. Yes, the elevators were a little slow, but I never had a wait longer than a few minutes. Staff was present every morning to keep them moving and hold one if you were walking up. Really going the extra mile during renovation. We had a great view of Universal from the 18th floor, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I've never slept so well in a hotel bed! We didn't have a chance to use the pool, but it looked nice. The breakfast buffet was extensive if a little pricey, but filled us up enough to skip lunch every day. Sit in Alberto's section if you can; he's a great server and good to talk to. I doubt we'll go back to LA after dealing with the traffic and crowds, but if we did, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor overlooking Universal Studios
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justusor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our current elevators. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Towsley
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LTowsley@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Major problem with the elevators- it took me 20' to "escape" (that's what it felt like!) from my room to the lobby, this morning, and every trip from the 24th floor took at least ten minutes. management openly acknowledges the problem with signs and notices in the rooms. They are renovating the elevator system. The staff is quite apologetic. I get it, and it is not the staff's fault.
However: I also run a business, and I don't sell capacity that I cannot service. You either have to cut back on rooms sold, or perhaps charge less. You just can't have it both ways and get your property renovated at the expense of your loyal customers.
Fail!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jkwusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#135 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,711 reviews
The Garland
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,183 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#62 of 355 in Los Angeles
447 reviews
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#143 of 355 in Los Angeles
184 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £168 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing