We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right across the street from Universal Studios”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #56 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
249 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Right across the street from Universal Studios”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

When visiting Universal Studios this is the right place to stay. The hotel is the usual good Hilton standard (the seafood buffet in the restaurant is five star with crab legs, oysters, sushi, sashimi, lobster, carvery and crepe stations etc.). It is clean, modern and a bit boring to look at but the location is a blast. Our room was on a low floor (actually under lobby level) and handicap friendly. we had the view of the hotel's outdoor pool but the high rooms have probably got more interesting views. Parking was not too expensive for Los Angeles and the staff was helpful. Tickets to the Universal Studios are sold at the hotel and from there it is a five minute walk to get to the park. I do not like when wifi is not included (you don't pay extra for aircondition or tap water, do you?) but it was at least not too expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rueskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,379
    1,236
    548
    207
    131
See reviews for
1,578
845
131
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

This is the third time my son and I have stayed at the Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City Hotel and we LOVE it!! They treat you well from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. The front desk staff are ALWAYS courteous and helpful. The bell staff are informative, nice, and ALWAYS very sweet!! The valet service is the BEST I have ever experience, the are quick, attentive and ALWAYS ask if you would like bottled water for your day or if you need any directions. AMAZING!! We have stayed in Beverly Hills and not exprienced this high level of service. The hotel is beautiful and truly in one of the best locations we have found and we travel to LA quite often. It is close to Warner Bros Studios which, by the way, offers one of THE BEST studio tours in Burbank/Hollywood!! We had a view of the studios and the WB water tower from our room!! As well as Universal Studios and the magnificent Hollywood Hills. My husband and I are travelling to Los Angeles to celebrate my 50th (yikes!!) birthday in August and YES we are staying at the Hilton Los Angeles/Universal. Trust me fellow Trip Advisor Members, I would never steer you in the wrong direction!! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

awesome location. within walking distance to universal. really enjoyed that. rooms where nice but a little on the pricey side.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyrCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I stayed here with my hubby back in May 10. After a 16 hour flight from Sydney, a 3 hour wait in customs, and being ripped off by the cab driver (he took $100 for a $77 cab ride, he didnt ask if we wanted any change!), we were exhausted and annoyed when we arrived at the hotel. But our mood changed with the great service from arrival, the front desk was always helpful, room service was great and so was the travel desk. The king room was clean, spacious and the bed was soooo comfortable.

We had the buffet breakfast one morning. I think it was a little dear but well worth the money.

The location was great too with a free shuttle running from the hotel to universal studios and to grauman's chinese theatre. This definitely made it easier to get around. The travel desk even arranged us on the airport shuttle which was only $20 per person.

I think the only downside was that the outdoor spa was too cold. Really would have been more enjoyable if it were a few degrees warmer.

Overall, impressive and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabreena0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonuniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. If there were any employees in particular that made your stay amazing, we would love to recognize them individually.

We hope to see you again soon in Universal City.

Zarina Zertuche
and the staff of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
252 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

It's a good hotel, probably worthy of the 4 star rating that most reviewers give them.

PROS: Outstanding location, better than the Sheraton a block away
Food options are good
Rooms are large and spacious
Hilton VIP's get nice treatment

CONS: This year has got to be the one of a major facelift
No shuttle to anywhere like the metro stop or City Walk
Rooms need some TLC in 2011

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking94708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights as partcof a visit to LA. I was not sure what to expect as there were mixed reports from other reviewers of both this and the Sheraton next door. On balance I thought the Hilton would be better and so I booked it.

I wasn't disappointed. I was greeted after my 10 hour flight by a lovely member of staff on the front desk and was in my room within 5 minutes. The room was an alcove room on the 23rd floor with fantastic views of Universal Studios and the San Fernando valley - worth upgrading to one of these rooms if you can. The room was big by hotel standards with a sofa, king bed and big bathroom.

I found all staff to be very pleasant and the hotel is ideally situated for both the Metro (a 5 minute walk down the hill) and Universal Studios (a 5 minute walk). I did not have a car and found the location of the hotel allowed me to do all I wanted without the need for a car.

All in all, a hotel I would definitely recommend and one i will return to.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHRFlyer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The Hilton was comfortable, standard large hotel with all the comforts of a big hilton hotel. Older style, but comfortable rooms and nice pool area. Very easy walk to Universal and the freehotel shuttle comes regularly. The breakfast buffet had an excellent choice and was good value.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theredcentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#108 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#95 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#140 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing