We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #58 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Hotel is nice and rooms are very clean. The hotel staff was wonderful, from the minute you check-in to the minute you check out..The staff is extremely friendly. Had some food in the bar and it was ok. The coffee shop is not good at all. The hotel is baout 15 minutes from West Hollywood and 10 minutes from Warner bros. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    1,236
    550
    207
    132
See reviews for
1,579
847
132
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
thunder bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Hotel is beautiful, rooms very clean and modern. Room not completely sound proof, could hear someone next door to our room coughing. The hotel staff was wonderful, however, concierge mixed up a few of our schedules. It was disappointing to find out friends were given a lower price for their room than what we paid. In general, the stay was great, the staff extremely friendly. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugogirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Nice, Clean rooms and Central (Next door to Universal Studios).
Parking is $18 a day extra.
TV was old CRT type?? In a modern Hotel you expect a Plasma or LCD.
We booked through the hotel (No Problems), the other couple we were with booked through Expedia and got the run around (Had to settle for two single beds in room)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveo_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Stayed here with three kids (15,12 6) so we could visit Universal Studios. Picked it based on previous reviews of walking distance to front gate. About a 10 minute walk even for my 6 year old. Room was clean (eve nsmelled clean) and roomy with comfy beds. Very quiet and hardly heard anybody else on our floor!
The only down side was the food. Restaraunts are geared more to adults and not a typical kid. The bonus was citywalk is right there so able to have many choices from fast food to more sit down type nicer places.
Hotel does offer a shuttle to universal also. Was well worth the money and priced comparable to other hotels that were in the neighborhood but this one being the "closest".
Is daily hotel parking fee too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poobis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solvang
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

My husband and I took our son and friend to Universal Studios for the holiday weekend. I stayed at this hotel years ago. We found the hotel to be very clean and friendly. The distance to the park was a short trip across the street. We had a great time.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank centralcoastmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Nice Business Hotel, efficient, clean but no character. however you don't tend to need character when you are just about to catch a flight, which is what this hotel is meant for. They have the added bonus of having a hertz rental drop-off point which is extremely handy if you use them.
Staff are friendly and you won't be waiting long to check in.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Ok..so we took a spur of the moment trip to LA for the premiere of a movie (Never Say Never-Justin Bieber). It was 3 moms and our teen daughters. We flew from Dallas to LAX. My sister lives in Cali so my daughter and I have been before, but the others had not. My sister lives about 1 1/2 hrs from LA so we decided since it was a short trip (3 days) that we wanted to be close to the touristy stuff so we stayed at the Hilton Universal City. The location couldn't have been better. We were not far from anything. We went to the Staples Center, Santa Monica Pier, Hollywood & Highland for the Walk of Fame and all that stuff. It was great being so close to everything. There is also the Universal City Walk right across the drive from the hotel. It is an area where they have restaurants, shops, entertainment in a walkable little area. It is really nice and fun.
The hotel itself is great. We had a great view of the hills which was nice..The room was really good sized and had an amazing honor bar with all kinds of soft drinks, water, liquor and also a HUGE assortment of snacks. Loved it.
The beds were super comfortable with great bedding. That is a biggie for me. I like beds with bedding that is super thick and cozy.
There was also a Starbucks in the hotel which was nice and also a really nice lobby and restaurant..but we never ate at the restaurant.
Because we were running crazy busy all day we usually ended up ordering room service late each evening and it was always delicious with great service. Seriously, I think we ordered it every night..yum!
There was a charge for parking. Something like $12 for self or $18 for valet.
One thing to note is that my daughter has an IPOD touch and she used the wifi on it..which they charge for per day. But everytime she signed out and signed back in, it would charge us again. The were very nice about fixing the charge, but just be aware of it. They also charged for use of the computer in the business center.
I loved this hotel though and the location was amazing.. Would definitely stay here again, and plan to this summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnsilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonuniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Wow... it sounds as though you were really able to take advantage of many of the local highlights. I hope all the girls were able to get on iFly Hollywood at the CityWalk. It is a lot of fun and makes a great impromptu vacation video. If not, then definitely check out this summer. Trust me, they will love it.

We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay and are greatly looking forward to your return this summer.

All the best,
Zarina Zertuche
and the staff of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#107 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
The Garland
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,916 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#93 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#138 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing