We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Premier Sushi experience!”

Takami Sushi and Robata
Reserve with OpenTable
Takami Sushi and Robata is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #372 of 9,954 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$31 - US$100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Wilshire & Flower
Transit: The Metro station is located 1 block south at 7th & Flower.
Parker, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
171 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Premier Sushi experience!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Toro was out of this world! The Kanpachi was fantastic and everyone MUST try the 21st roll. There are so many good things on their menu it is worth going back several times to experience new cuisine. The Saki menu is one of the largest I have seen and we also had a great experience with the Saki selection. If you are near downtown LA, this is a MUST Try location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimCrypto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    60
    21
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't go thirsty??”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We decided to head over to the restaurant for after-work drinks and a bite. We went on a Monday night and to our surprise the patio/outside area was packed (thankfully we made reservations).

Valet parking is available for $7 dollars. The restaurant is located on the 17th floor which is the perfect view for downtown LA.

We ordered some rolls and the Seabass, all of which where good! The atmosphere and "scene" was very energetic and lively.

Bar service was extremely slow. You might consider adding another bartender. We were going to order another round of drinks but decided against it since we waited over 10 minutes and still didn't have our drink. No Bueno.

Other than that, overall experience was great and would recommend to friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ask_Tiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A slightly disappointing experience.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We rarely go downtown in Los Angeles for dinner, nor, that I can remember, ever in a high rise office building here so it was with some anticipation that we visited Takami Sushi and Robata last night. On the plus side, service, apart from the rather off-hand hostesses, was fine with our waiter being really excellent. He was enthusiastic, informative, knowledgeable about the food and genuinely charming. The dishes - we had their 5 course dinner were all beautifully presented and the dining room is sparely elegant in a slightly anonymous way. The food itself is just OK. Everything was fresh enough, important everywhere but even more so in a Japanese restaurant and some of the textures were lovely, particularly the sea bass, while other offerings which are structured as little tastes or "Japanese tapas" were not quite right with ingredients that didn't work for me. Curry in the otherwise perfectly fine calamari for example. The little skewers of grilled beef and chicken were neither flavorful or well textured and the sushi was not the freshest or the worst I've ever had either. Desserts were mixed, an ordinary tiny chocolate lava cake came with little drizzles of intense raspberry and mango sauce and I'm not quite sure what the other dessert was except light, creamy and sweet.
Rather a lot to eat over two hours or so, spent sitting on chairs that are more stylish than comfortable. Curiously everyone around us spent more time on their smartphones that talking to each other which was just weird, or perhaps I'm getting old! This dinner was well over $300 for two with drinks and service and didn't strike either of us as worth it. I'm pleased we tried Takami but don't feel feel inspired to come here again. Both J. and I look for more atmosphere in our restaurants and at this price level exceptional food too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
623 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Great happy hour and dinner”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was the second time I visited Takami in the last few months. This time just for happy hour. Happy hour hear is a terrific deal The small plates are only $4 each, and there is a small, but decent drink list for $5.

The sushi trio was fantastic, the pepper tuna melted in the mouth. The albacore was fresh and light. It is hard to keep albacore so fresh, as it gets a fishy off note very quickly. This one was perfect. The salmon was also fresh and delicious. That was a terrific start followed by many more small plates that we enjoyed with gusto. The chicken robata combination plate was presented beautifully, with three kinds of chicken (breast, thigh and wing) done tenderly and covered with a subtle but tasty sauce. The calamari was tender and the crust delightful. The popcorn shrimp were lightly breaded tempura style. The spicy tuna spread on wontons was a real treat.

The previous time I had come with 5 others for dinner and we were able to share an even wider variety of sushi, sashimi and robata. All were delicious.

The service staff were attentive, helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the outdoor patio with wonderful views across the top of the city. We stayed around for over 3 hours and never felt rushed out. We made temporary friends with other patrons who sat near and around us. The patio exudes camaraderie.

The only downside - since the outside is considered a "patio", the restaurant allows smoking. Fortunately there were only two brief takers. After I asked the second one to stop, they did not pick up another cigarette.

Seriously, I do not see that Takami would lose any business if they banned smoking. I strongly urge them to do so.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pkrissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Food with a View!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Rooftop restaurant and bar in downtown LA. Good place to stop for a drink after 4 pm during their happy hour. We went back again the next night for dinner with friends. Excellent food and active vibe. Fun place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank principalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Takami Sushi and Robata also viewed

 

Been to Takami Sushi and Robata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing