We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”
Review of Katsuya

Katsuya
Reserve with OpenTable
Katsuya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 9,979 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Hollywood
Cross street: Vine St.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Loved everything about this restaurant! The hostess were friendly, which is a plus! I cannot stand snobby hostesses.

We were seated at our reservation time on a Friday night which was awesome.

The food was spectacular! The sushi was great. But I saw a lot of great reviews for the lobster dynamite and I didn't think it was all that great.

This is a fun, hip atmosphere. Loud, young adults. Great fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 357JenniferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    124
    59
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good and great price”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

we ate it on vacation in L.a it was reccomended by a friend it was easy to get reservations it had a nice atmosphere the sushi was so good and so was the wagyu beef i would deff eat it again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank catherine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollywood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sushi hot spot”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Katsuya is always a great meal in a great environment. This is a regular celebrity sighting spot with amazing baked crab hand rolls, spicy tuna and crispy rice, and traditional sushi that will exceed your highest expectations.

SBE got this one 100% right.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisbmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
474 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Slick, Noisy and Very Good”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

A very popular "sushi palace" discovered and inhabited by the almost-in crowd of wanna-be yuppies. As seniors, we felt just a tad out of place, but enjoyed ourselves nevertheless. All of our many dishes were tasty and well prepared. I would label it as a can't miss "sushi-and" place with Japanese style entrees and a killer selection of saki. Our consensus favorite was Junmai Ginjo Hakkaisan sake. If you're allergic high decibels or as the young folks refer to it, a "lively joint," and like serene dining, skip Katsuya. Tips: Area is Hollywood and can be touristy as Hollywood & Vine has the walk-of-stars embedded in the sidewalk. Young servers have trouble getting sushi chefs to prepare special requests to menu items. For that take a seat at the counter. Be aware that can food arrive at irregular intervals as items are prepared in different kitchens, so don't expect, fine-dining service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything was amazing!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Started off having a drink, which was very unique a good -- something with gin and kiwi! Then decided to have dinner and tried some of their specialty rolls. Everything was amazing, however we had to order a second roll of the roasted corn...doesn't sound great, but you have to try! Great atmosphere, inside and out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katsuya also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Katsuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing