We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't get this place but my wife does”
Review of Le Pain Quotidien

Le Pain Quotidien
Ranked #3,584 of 9,980 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Westside
Description: Le Pain Quotidien serves simple, elegant boulangerie fare made with organic ingredients whenever possible: breakfast, tartines, pastries and handmade organic bread & many vegan and vegetarian options.
FlyersFanInLA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I don't get this place but my wife does”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This Frenchy-style place is all about the bread in a town that's not supposed to eat bread (low carb joke)

Service is slow (like in France) and the food is cutesy. I don't like the communal table that they have at the Beverly Hills location. Who wants to sit next to a talent agent talking about some you-know-who deal that likely will never go down.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyersFanInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
128 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“outdoor seating, great food, friendly service”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The outdoor seating is small and popular, but when available, it is really nice because of the feel of westwood village and almost pedestrian street. The food quality is really French, small portions but very tasty, a bit overpriced but well worth the rest. I recommend any tartine, salad and all desserts and beverages.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank pourpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not worth it for breakfast or lunch, good bread though.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The portions are too small, way too small for even the healthy restaurants. Prices are in the high side, and if you consider the mini portions.... then they are very high. Service is mediocre, and their 'organic' food has plenty of non organic ingredients. Overall food is decent, but not excellent. I would not go to this place if my girlfriend did not like it, o well, I might still have to go to this place again :(

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Filigaitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent - with reservations on the service”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My wife and I discovered the one in Brentwood Village and since it was a half a mile from our hotel it became our regular breakfast spot for three mornings. Although it's on the expensive side the food was excellent. The Baker's Basket was wonderful, the bread is fresh and tasty and the jams were definitely above average. One morning my wife had an asparagus omelet while I had soft boiled eggs with prosciutto, both were outstanding. The Cafe Latte's were also above average, not quite as good as Pete's but very good nonetheless. The service the first two mornings was excellent (the second day in particular), however, the third day was distinctly sub-par. The server had a problem with English and appeared to spend more time than necessary greeting his friends as they came in. Most importantly he got a portion of a take out order completely wrong, a fact we only discovered when we came to eat lunch at Pismo Beach, not so easy to return it at that point.

Overall a great informal breakfast and lunch cafe with excellent food, albeit a little pricey.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiburonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“One of the few places serving a decent cappuccino around UCLA!”
Reviewed 11 March 2009

One of the few places serving a decent cappuccino around UCLA!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Le Pain Quotidien also viewed

 

Been to Le Pain Quotidien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing