We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Restaurant”
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #11 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The restaurant is new remodeled and the food is amazing. The atmosphere is stylish and the service was great. I'm a salmon lover and I can't say enough about how flavorful it was. My friends had the burgers and they love it. If your in the Venice area or staying at this hotel you have to check out the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EMU0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Are you interested in trying one of our "barn to belly" creations? We have the best burger in Los Angeles, and possibly the world! Check out our exciting new menu at:

www.jdvhotels.com/dining/barlo

See you soon!

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Hotel Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

I've stayed at several Joie de Vivre properties and typically find them to be chic with comfortable beds and moderately priced. Hotel Erwin in Venice has a nice location and a nice rooftop deck with great views of Venice Beach. The hallways and feeling of the hotel are modern and swanky, but the rooms definitely leave something to be desired. The decor in the rooms is tired with old worn furniture. Bathrooms are nice, but overall there are better options for similarly priced hotels. If you're just looking for somewhere to lay your head this may be a good option, but it's not a great hotel for a destination vacation.

Room Tip: South side rooms closer to the beach are a better location with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear MichaelScottsdale,

Thank you for continuing to patronize Joie de Vivre Hospitality. It was great that you were pleased with the location, rooftop deck, comfy beds, and swanky modern hallways. We agree that the Hotel Erwin offers an unbeatable beach location at a value oriented price. We also appreciated the feedback about the decor and room furnishings. I will share your comments with the team and immediately put improvements into place to address your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Hotel Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

If Venice Beach is your thing Hotel Erwin has the best location by far! You are virtually staying on the board walk. The service we got at the hotel was really good but for the price per night we expected a little bit more quality out of the hotel. The room was clean, modern and comfortable but the hallways and common use areas were well worn and not so clean and worried us before we got to our nice room. We completed the hotel's survey after our stay mentioned the same things and much to our surprise we were compensated. If Venice Beach is your scene you will love it but you are paying for location not for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dear MichaelScottsdale,

Thank you for continuing to patronize Joie de Vivre Hospitality. It was great that you were pleased with the location, rooftop deck, comfy beds, and swanky modern hallways. We agree that the Hotel Erwin offers an unbeatable beach location at a value oriented price. We also appreciated the feedback about the decor and room furnishings. I will share your comments with the team and immediately put improvements into place to address your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Hotel Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Great location one/half block frorm Oceanfront Walkway, 15 minutes from LAX airport. Cool, hip, modern design. Friendly staff. Large thick towels, smooth crisp bedsheets, lots of pillows. Rooftop bar with view of Venice and the ocean. Good restaurant Barlo off the lobby for meals all day and bar in the evening. Lots of restaurants and shopping on the Walkway and Main Street outside the hotel, and Abbott Kinney Blvd, a few minutes awawy. It is possible to walk north to Santa Monica pier, restaurants, bars and shopping. Very clean. Take advantage of the valaet parking, because street parking is sparse and short-term, and the nearby lots are set up for beach visitors, and have no in and out.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah4967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dear Deborah49,

The team at the Hotel Erwin would like to thank you for the kind words. We are all very proud of our new restaurant, BARLO Kitchen + Cocktails (make sure you try our famous bacon caramel popcorn!). The housekeeping team takes great pride in the care of the facilities and they were flattered by your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again to sunny Venice Beach!

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Hotel Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This hotel had a comfotable bed and a fun rooftop bar but it was dirty and we had to pay for internet and it was also quite expensive. The location was pretty good, but overall i wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dear Nicole H,

We were happy to hear that you were pleased with the bed, fun rooftop bar, and our beachfront location. Thank you for your compliment about these items. I am very sorry that your stay with us was not perfect in every way, learning that you were disappointed with the price of the internet. Please contact me at your earliest convenience and allow me to offer appropriate compensation for this lapse in service.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. I hope that you would consider us again the next time that you visit sunny Venice Beach.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Hotel Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Have just spent 5 nights at the Erwin, excellent friendly hotel and room was spot on in all respects. Room had a lovely balcony with great sunsets each evening and views of the mountains to the north and east. Would recommend to anyone who wants to spend time exploring Venice.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnySurreyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear SunnySurreyTraveller,

On behalf of the staff at Hotel Erwin, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property.

The hotel staff was pleased to hear the positive feedback you had about them and I am glad to see you enjoyed the area around the hotel as well. We really appreciate the fact that you shared your positive experience with us and everyone else.

At Joie de Vivre we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin for your trip to Venice Beach. Should you return to Venice in the future I sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you our dedication to our guests and service.


Warm Regards,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My wife booked several nights for my birthday during a visit from Boston. I enjoy unique hotels and they certainly delivered. The staff were great, from reservations, to valet to front desk, helping us navigate our way around the nearby beach and enjoy all that Venice has to offer. The suite was fantastic, from the extra room we needed after traveling all day in the car to the decorative touches that made this birthday distinct. The art throughout and the rooftop bar was so much fun! We definitely would recommend others to travel and stay!

Room Tip: Call and speak to the staff directly. They are very accommodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear BA,

On behalf of the staff at Hotel Erwin, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property.

The hotel staff was pleased to hear the positive feedback you had about them and I am glad to see you enjoyed the area around the hotel as well. We really appreciate the fact that you shared your positive experience with us and everyone else.

At Joie de Vivre we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin for your trip to Venice Beach. Should you return to Venice in the future I sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you our dedication to our guests and service.

Warm Regards,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 355 in Los Angeles
796 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,949 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,181 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,851 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £239 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erwin 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing