We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #11 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We recently attended our daughters medical school graduation from UCLA. She has a house in ,Venice Beach and we wanted to stay close to her. The Erwin is 2 blocks from her house and she suggested we stay there. What a great suggestion....we loved staying there and found the staff to be very enjoyable, friendly and accomodating. The rooms were nicely decorated and we loved the rooftop lounge. I would highly recommend this nice boutique hotel if you are in the Venice Beach area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Gloria M,

First, congratulations on you daughters graduation, that’s wonderful. Second, thank you so much for all the great comments about the hotel and staff. I will make sure to pass them along. On your next special occasion, we hope to see you here!

Thanks,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    401
    120
    39
    36
See reviews for
259
465
89
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I've been to Venice many times, but never thought about trying this place. A friend suggested the Roof Lounge was a great place to watch the sunset and have a beer. It was SO worth it. The view is magnificent and the staff are very laid-back and friendly. I got a little confused coming in; a member of the staff named Lisette was about to end her shift, but took the time to get me to the roof. Their bouncer, Rob, was a blast to talk to as well. I got there early enough to take in the incredible view through the whole process of the sunset; the Old Rasputin (one of my absolute favs!) helped enormously. I don't think Venice will seem the same now without a visit here.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear C H,

You found it! The best hidden gem of West LA! I am glad you enjoyed your Old Rasputin, one of my favs is the Scrimshaw Pilsner, try it next time you visit. Thanks and hope to see you soon!

Thanks,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This hotel has nice rooms on the renovated 6th floor however it has opened up a trendy roof top bar. This has the effect of crowding the small lobby with non guests visiting the bar and creating havoc with the one elevator in the hotel; this results in long waiting times for guests.. It also creates a security problem for guests as there is little control over who comes and goes in the hotel.
The on site bar restaurant adjacent to the lobby is very small and crowded, with loud music, customers have to raise their voices to have a conversation.

Room Tip: ask for room on refurbished 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear michael s,

Thank you for sharing you experience here on TripAdvisor, we appreciate the kind words about the hotel rooms. I apologize that you felt “overrun” by non-hotel guests. We take security and safety very serious and we always have security guards on site to control and monitor the building. I will ensure that this review is shared with the team and we will continue to create and fun, safe, and secure environment for everyone. We wish you all the best and hope that you will return soon.

Thanks,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just spent 4 days at the Erwin. The room was a suite looking over the craziness of Venice Beach. The living room had a kitchenette with a nicely stocked honor bar. There was a table that four people could sit at, perfect for a meeting or spreading out papers to work on. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is a on the small side with only one sink.
Room service was great and came on time. The front staff was pleasant and attentive. The roof deck bar is fabulous. A great place to go for an early drink before the going out--Not to crazy packed and a great time to look out on to the Pacific.
All round fun and comfortable. My kind of place.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor looking directly at the beach. The are more expensive but overly so. Defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowe161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear rowe161,

On behalf of the staff here at Hotel Erwin, I wanted to thank you for sharing you experience here on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. Sounds like you booked one of our Ocean View Suites, good choice! I will be sure to pass along your great comments to the staff who will be pleased.

At Joie de Vivre we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin for your trip to Venice Beach. Should you return to Venice in the future I sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you our dedication and exceed your expectations.

Best Wishes,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and found it very disappointing. My husband and I had one of the newly renovated rooms which was very nice, but over priced. We were looking forward to relaxing at the roof top bar, but you have to make a reservation to have a drink! After 3 weeks touring USA this was the only hotel that was a let down.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Annie181,

On behalf of the staff here at Hotel Erwin, I wanted to personally apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. We are still some upgrades around the hotel that should be finished up soon. The guest experience will be much different and I want to invite you back once we have completed the work which should be within the next 2 weeks.

At Joie de Vivre we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin for your trip to Venice Beach. Should you return to Venice in the future I sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you our dedication and exceed your expectations.

Best Wishes,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My friend and I recently stayed one night at Hotel Erwin, and we loved it. After reading reviews about all the construction I was a little hesitant, but I figured we would be there for only one night, so it hopefully wouldn't matter. We must have been lucky to get the room we did, because we didn't see or hear a thing.

Loved the boutique hotel vibe, and loved the style of the rooms. Beds were comfortable, and the room was clean. Sliding glass door (with screen) was great to let some air in. I guess I'm used to some hotels that don't let you open the windows, so this was fantastic. Bathroom was small, but at least it was clean -- that's all I ask! Oh, and we dealt with only the front desk staff, but they were very nice.

Some reviewers mentioned they weren't comfortable in the area around the hotel -- we didn't have that problem at all. Perhaps they didn't realize what Venice Beach is like. Anyone familiar with Venice Beach knows what to expect. And of course there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. But I definitely recommend getting a rental car if you're staying here and hoping to see other places around Los Angeles. The hotel isn't far from the airport, if that's a factor for you.

Overall I loved the location, and loved this boutique hotel. I've stayed at other joie de vivre hotels and wasn't disappointed there either. This will definitely be an option the next time I'm in L.A.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atljs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear atljs,

On behalf of the staff here at Hotel Erwin, I wanted to personally thank you for sharing your experience here with everyone on TripAdvisor. I am so happy you made your one night in Venice count. We appreciate the kind words and will make sure to pass them along to the staff.

At Joie de Vivre we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin for your trip to Venice Beach. Should you return to Venice in the future I sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you our dedication and exceed your expectations.

Best Wishes,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Having lived in LA previously I was keen to reconnect with the old neighbourhood. Hotel Erwin was a great choice on many levels - location, funky rooms and the fab rooftop bar. Renovations still in progress but were no issue. Staff were great. Only one minor issue was length of time it took for my room to be cleaned...but all in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear JacquiBrowne,

On behalf of the staff here at Hotel Erwin, I wanted to personally thank you for sharing your experience here with everyone on TripAdvisor. I am so happy you felt back at home when you were with us. I am sure many things have changed here over the years. I will make sure to share you comments about the timeliness room being cleaned with our housekeeping department.

At Joie de Vivre we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin for your trip to Venice Beach. Should you return to Venice in the future I sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you our dedication and exceed your expectations.

Best Wishes,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
753 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,780 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#79 of 351 in Los Angeles
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,358 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#58 of 351 in Los Angeles
530 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Property: Hotel Erwin
Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing