We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, not sure it is worth the money”
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #11 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I always like to stay at a nice hotel for the last few nights of a vacation. So hotel Erwin looked like a good option. Its location is great, and the staff were nice. The room however was average. I paid extra for a "premium ocean view". My first room had only a view of the neighboring car park. After complaining that this was not what I paid for I was given a new room which did have a small ocean view if you went outside and looked right.

I did see they do have rooms which directly overlook the ocean, but apparently these are ocean suites. To call my room a 'premium ocean view' was a stretch of the imagination. It would better be described and an ocean view or partial ocean view.

To make things worse, I was charged for mini bar items I never used on checkout. It took a bit of arguing to fix the problem.

Room Tip: I would avoid paying for ocean views. In my experience you will not get value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shamway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for being our guest. We do apologize that the view from your room was not what you expected but we do hope that the rest of your stay was pleasant and relaxing. The next time your travels bring you to Venice Beach, please feel free to directly reach out to aseyfried@hotelerwin.com and we’ll be sure to set you up with a great room.
All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Cool hotel, in a great location, right on Venice beach. Rooms were large and beds very comfortable. Most staff were very friendly and helpful, although we booked a city tour with reception and just sheer lack of communication between staff resulted in a bit of a mess up which was very annoying as our time is LA was limited. The hotel does provide a car service which was great as we were a group if 5 and getting taxis was a hassle. Drivers were always friendly and helpful recommending bars and places to see. Rooftop bar was lovely, great views of the beach. id recommend reserving a table if you want to sit down. All thought we experienced a few hiccups I thought the hotel was great for 5 young (ish) travellers and would stay again. Oh and the blueberry pancakes for breakfast are a must! Incredible. :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blairokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and got to try the blueberry pancakes! They are absolutely delicious! We do apologize about the inconvenience you experienced regarding your city tour. Again, thank you so much for being our guest and we hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed here twice, 18 months apart. I loved it the first time and even more this time. Under new (since first visit) general manager Scott Gold, you can see that the Erwin is really on the move. The suites are huge (and I believe all rooms have a balcony) and this is where you really get value. The Erwin just stands out for character, location and staff. Really really special staff.

I travel regularly for work and pleasure and these are the most helpful, genuinely friendly, approachable, kind -- REAL staff I've known. We had one bump and you'd think the entire hotel (seriously) made it their number one job to ensure that there were no more. They did nice (and fun) things to let us know they were thinking of us!

Get this: The general manager took a turn at the doors for a bit when things were crowded, and I thought he was a valet/doorman. Scott was totally down to earth, didn't act all "I'm the GM," and we ended up talking for a long time, sharing our impressions, learning about his plans, etc. It made us feel quite special. Plus he was genuinely attentive. Not looking at his watch, showing worry about something he was supposed to be doing -- all false charm. Nope. Like talking with your close friend who is top notch and has a sense of humor. Very impressed.

I kept waiting for some bored going-through-the-motions person to appear, from housekeeping to front desk to rooftop bar (breathtaking) to first floor bar/restaurant (the BEST food and staff) to valet to...and was disappointed (lol) not to find one.

You need to come with the right attitude as well: This is a fun place with whimsy and character -- more like a W -- in the best beach location, at a great price for what you get (you'd pay WAY more for the rooms elsewhere and not even get the beach, lemme tell ya). The rooftop bar has spectactular views. If you want stuffy, zero decibel, old school hotel curtains and chairs? Not the Erwin. Be open to fun and you will have it.

Nuff said. Thanks Scott, Ryan, Janna, Mike, Michael, and on an on.

Room Tip: I've stayed here twice and made it a vacation (6+ nights). First time, partial oceanview suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_Jacobs_Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! Unlike a lot of big box hotels, we take immense pride in providing unpretentious, genuine customer service and treating every guest that walks through our doors like VIP’s. We truly appreciate having you as a guest and our sincerest thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Venice Beach.

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

What would Venice Beach be without the historic Hotel Erwin----and for Us--
The High Bar--a rooftop F&B viewing phenomena!! 360 degrees of the famed
Venice beach area and Venice beach pier--overlooking the open Pacific ocean.
Staff was very accommodating and because We were early---had the best of the
best seating area for full panoramic viewing. Our lunch was excellent----pulled
pork sandwiches, crab rolls, cheese platter--excellent margaritas-and for very
good value. Blankets wraps available upon request---and great background
music.
Overall---outstanding experience. When in this location of L.A.---this Hotel bar
is a must!
No--We did not have time to enjoy the other amenities of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this awesome review about High Rooftop Lounge. We just revamped our menu for the summer so we’re absolutely delighted to hear you enjoyed the food! Thank you for visiting the rooftop and we hope you’ll be back again to catch another beautiful sunset!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Not your typical hotel...funky, beach vibe just like the Venice location.

Room decor is beachy and quirky. We upgraded to the suite and what was considered "not an ocean view" had a lovely balcony with pretty much a view of the whole darn thing...plus the mountains of Malibu.

The staff is awesome here...gave us everything we needed and then some.

Eclectic mix of guests...take that as you will. Surfers, partiers, couples, families. Everyone was pretty respectful.

I was concerned about being too much in the fray of Venice, but the hotel is tucked back just enough so that you can join the boardwalk madness or head toward the calm of the canals or Abbot Kinney.

Room Tip: Ask for the Malibu view...no upcharge and you really see a lot of ocean. It's not right in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you so much for being our guest and taking the time to show us some love! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing vacation. We hope to see you again!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was amazed that every encounter in the Hotel and the restaurants were just exceptional. Friendly - but not in some artificial hotel way. The hotel is in a transition and there are some snags, but when the service is A+, then one can overlook some of the problems. We had a suite overlooking the ocean - granted - you see the parking lot and Beachfront stores & hear the music, but you also see the ocean - Go up to the top - High (bar) and the view is even more amazing.

The hotel is just starting renovations and one can see that is time for them. The beach look should be brought up a notch and will be.

Have fun!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vilis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We are absolutely delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind words regarding our team members! We strive to continually provide our guests with top notch service so that they leave felling like a VIP. We hope you’ll come back and visit us the next time your travels bring you to Venice Beach.

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Considering the price of the room $362 I wasnt very happy with my one night stay here. I was placed in room 301 which although looked lovely and had a very comfortable bed, it backed onto the steel stairwell and the elevator shaft. Frequently lengthy wait times for the elevator lead to heavy traffic on the stairs, this resulted in the stairs smashing against the room wall and rattling the bedhead for hours on end. After making a call to reception nothing was done about my complaint as the hotel was fully booked. It was sorry but tough luck. I understand that I couldn't be moved it was just unfortunate that there wasn't any kind of compensation at all considering the cost of the room. So apart from being aesthetically pleasing and having a wonderful location, I would confirm the location of your room before checking in and ensure you are not near the stairwell at all.

Room Tip: Room 301 is located near the elevator and stairwell creating unbearable noise and rattling on the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
1  Thank ShellBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry your stay wasn’t as relaxing as you had hoped. Next time you are in Venice Beach, please reach out to me directly at aseyfried@hotelerwin.com and I would be happy to assist you with your reservation Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 355 in Los Angeles
808 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,003 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#13 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,435 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,109 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#21 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £216 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erwin 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing