We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cool "Real" Hotel in Venice Beach”
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #11 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Indepent hotel with a super nice rooftop patio. Great location on Pacific Avenue, 3 minute walk to the beach. Our room on the 5th floor was super quiet. Staff was laid back yet very helpful.

We stayed 5 nights and found the location great. The walk south to Marina Del Rey took us 15 minutes, the drive to Santa Monica is 10 minutes.

Room Tip: It's Venice Beach so expect a bit "noise" but our south side room was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thanks for leaving that great tip! We’re happy to hear you had a great Erwin Experience and we hope to see you again! Have a great rest of your summer.

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Well, this hotel has a perfect location on Venice Beach and has a beautiful rooftop. But nothing else. Rooms are well-designed but not incredible. It is really noisy and people at the desk are not nice. Only one guy was nice. The worst part is the park price! 20$ for a night!!!! There are thieves! You pay 300$ a room and you also have to pay the park! And you can't go pick up your car yourself so you have to wait the vallet and of course tipping anytime! Vallets are nice anyway. This hotel is not cool.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Rainbows_unicorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were certainly surprised to hear we didn’t meet your expectations and we sincerely apologize for that. Should you like to discuss your stay further, please contact our Director of Rooms, Aldo Garcia, at agarcia@hotelerwin.com. We hope you’ll join us again the next time your travels bring you to Venice Beach.
All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just super cool!
Location is great, short walk to the coolest beach - Venice Beach.
Staff are cool, friendly, super helpful know their stuff, and treat you well.
Rooms are done up retro cool, we got upgraded & loved what they gave us. Rooftop bar is great, Lobby bar is great. Again, this is just a seriously super cool hotel.


Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We’re so happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and that our team was able to upgrade you to an even better room! Thank you so much for being our guest and we hope to see you again!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stay at Erwin if 1/ you are young in spirit, 2/ like Venice Beach, 3/ like the total great food at Barlo from breakies to dinners (the breakfast burger is out of this works), 4/ appreciate helpful, friendly and efficient hotel staff .... I was at Erwin with my teenage daughter who loved the hotel too. It is amazing how the staff and management were accommodating and friendly. 10 min walk from the canals, Abbot Kiney's great restaurants and bars ... What else? Bit noisy at night ... Ok ... But it just reminds us that we are alive! Thank you Erwin team good gig you guys are running!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giampigiampaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this awesome review! We’re so happy to hear you and your daughter had a great time at our hotel and in Venice. There’s something cool to do in Venice for everyone! We hope you and your family stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Venice. Thanks again for being our guest.

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Planned to stay for 8 nights, but left after 6. But wait! that had nothing to do with our experience at the Erwin, but with a last second opportunity to go to Palm Springs.
we booked their largest room, with ocean view and a balcony.
upon check in, I was told that because my name is Erwin, valet parking was complimentary. I nice gesture, although it was not reflected on my bill (but read to the end please).
room was large, and well kept. we didn't experience the outside noise some other reviewers talk about, nor had any sounds coming from the rooftop bar -our 2 little kids had great nights.
in our room, we had some nice Erwin branded amenities (eg, sunglasses, hats,..), and they provide free of charge towels and kids toys for the beach. And yes, it takes you 1 minute to get on the beach.
the food and atmosphere at the Barlo are really good.
the biggest plus goes to the staff: extremely friendly, very helpful and so professional. (we dealt with Grace and Miguel). To give a unique example: when I went to the front desk on my 6th day to say we had an opportunity to go and spend a few nights in Palms Springs, and so I wanted to check out 2 days earlier and know the penalty they were going to charge me (typically 1 night), Grace's answer was "let me work 2 minutes on that.............you're all set....no penalty"; how about that? that's 5*+ hotel customer centric thinking.
Valet was one of the best: we must have asked for our car at least a dozen times (in the morning, during the day, in the evening,...) and it never took more than 3 minutes to get it.
so, you can't visit LA without visiting Venice Beach...and you can't visit Venice Beach without spending some time at Hotel Erwin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ErwinFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for leaving this great review! We’re sorry to hear you had to leave us early but we’re glad that the time you did spend with us was fun-filled and that Grace and Miguel took great care of you and your family. We hope you’ll join us again the next time you’re in Venice Beach!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived in town with no reservations. Upon arrival Eugine was very helpful he arranged us to celebrate our engagement with a beautiful view. He gave us tips where to eat and how to get around town. Me and my fiancé shared our first sunset together and we will always remember this trip. Hotel it self was beautiful and clean. Oh and my fiancé left our phone chargers in the room, which the hotel had sent to us the following morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your engagement! We’re truly honored to have played a small part in such an important event in your lives! The ambiance at High Rooftop Lounge surely is quite romantic. We hope to see you again soon!

Wishing you and your fiancée all the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I'm looking at my bill and I'm still annoyed at the price I suckered myself into paying for this shoebox, queen bed room, with relentless elevator hum and door slams.

The Good:
Comfortable, soft bed
Nice, modern decor
Fresh air (sort of) option with ocean view
Mostly great customer service
Location

Yuck:
Some rooms are truly unpleasant. Way too noisy and small.
If you get lucky enough to have troglodytes holding a "whose voice is louder" contest under your window at 3am, you'll curse the moment you chose to stay here.

No amount of "we're sorry" can compensate when the fact of the matter is that you overpaid for the room to begin with. $340 for room, $32 for parking and $15 for internet if you want to do more than check your email, is what I would pay at a 5-star resort, not a tiny room overlooking a loud, piss-stained alley.

Perhaps I got the short straw in room selection, but then why is it priced so high?

The valet crew, especially manager Matt, are truly exceptional, but I expect the room to match their first-class service and the five-star price.

Room Tip: Avoid the 01 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 5StarBohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are disappointed to hear your expectations regarding your room fell short. Next time your travels bring you to Venice Beach, please reach out to me directly at aseyfried@hotelerwin.com and I’d be happy to personally assist with your reservation. We’ll pass the kind message on to Matt and the rest of the team! Again, thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
802 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,968 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,069 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,882 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £204 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erwin 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing