We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Venice Beach- Abbot Kinney BDay weekend Fun” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #10 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Berkeley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Venice Beach- Abbot Kinney BDay weekend Fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Erwin in June 2014 in a King Suite with Ocean view. separate bedroom, pull out bed in living room, full kitchen. Let's put this review in context:
Hotel room itself- 3 star. Interiors are clean, but spartan. Style is mod-hipster-playful. If you don't expect this, it can be off putting. Reality was fine: beds were comfortable, furnishings were comfortable, bath was very nicely appointed, spacious. Good views of ocean and Venice Boardwalk
Location: THIS IS why you pick this hotel. It provides immediate local access to all of the crazy fun energy of Venice Boardwalk, two block walk up to Abbot Kinney and all the great dining and bars and boutiques there.
Amenities-Dining: I dont know why if you came here, you wouldn't go up to Abbot Kinney to eat and drink, but if you do eat in, the Hightop roof bar is one of a kind, and pretty comfortable and enjoyable! And BARLO on first floor is great, small, but great food.

All in all, I can't give it 4 stars or more, because we all know "great 4 star" hotels are more finely appointed, come with more VIP services and amenities, and at about or less than this price----but it's a solid 3 star hotel, with a 4 star level of hip cool beach chic accessibility to an amazingly energized part of LA.
IF this is what you're looking for---you'll enjoy!!

Room Tip: All rooms have some sort of view either city or ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for spending your birthday weekend with us and for taking the time to write a review about your stay! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your room and our amazing on-site restaurants. One of the best things about our hotel is the location! Just 200 feet from the water and even closer to all the boardwalk fun. We hope to see you again.

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    396
    115
    38
    36
See reviews for
244
455
86
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a 5 night stay in August 2014 which was ok, they hype this hotel gets/gives off is more than the reality. The BARLO staff were excellent and High rooftop bar was good but on the rooftop they had a slight air of snobbery and you were made to feel almost 'grateful' that you could reserve an area to sit and then when you did, you never felt quite comfortable knowing whether your HOUR was up or not and you had staff bringing your bill and telling you that they need the table back half way through, lots of reminders during the stay about how you were 'on a conveyor belt', we went up there twice and it was not the relaxing rooftop experience it should be, or what they seem to think it is, so ordering a bottle of wine up there is only advised by us if it's either raining or if you drink like a fish. I have to say that a lot of the good reviews on here are directed at the roof bar. You don't have to stay there overnight to use the roof bar, you can stay nearby and still use it so it isn't a seling point for someone looking for accommodation in this area. We were staying there and working via laptop as normal during the daytime in the room, so we were in the room a lot, and my oh my, our room was like grand central station, 4 people on the first day tried to get in, a guy with bedding, a woman with towels, a different guy to bring in a mended IPOD dock and yet another guy to put a cuff around the sink plumbing in the bathroom. There's no control about how many people enter that bedroom and have access to your stuff (and we didn't see any safe available to put our passports/money/ipads/laptops phones), this was concerning for us with all of our gadgets etc lying around, so everytime we went out to eat etc, I ended up putting all of our gadgets in my suitcase as this locked. the bathroom was utterly bizarre, the staff/owners have clearly never stayed in one of their own hotels. There was NOWHERE to put stuff, a sink sticking out of the wall in a massive room that had flat walls, no cabinets, no shelves, no counters, nothing. My stuff balanced on the edge of a sink. and I sent pictures to friends and family whilst there and it wasn't for the lack of space as there was loads of space in that room (i will try and attach the pictures to this review). The beds wasn't the most comfy either. This hotel is all about it's own image and unfortunately it believes it's better than it is. However, My biggest problem with this hotel is that by using their wifi, they ensure that you have a problem with hotel Erwin being your home page long after you leave, i'm still battling with it now and anyone who knows about having malware or your home page invaded will tell you, it's infuriating. WHO wants a hotel website as their homepage, WHO? EVER?...certainly not a one off guest! Certainly also a one-off guest who wasn't overly impressed by multiple elements of their stay there. PLEASE RETHINK THIS HOTEL ERWIN!. THIS hotel is totally over branded, hotel Erwin water, frisbees, overpriced 'branded' snacks etc etc..do we recognise hotel erwin 'foodsnacks' and want to pay extra for them?.... errr NO. I think their marketing team should look at little peg, large box and concentrate on offering guests more comfort, better service, less snobbery, less brand, and please stop trying to be people's homepage, NOBODY wants it. A great brand is one that is built on getting its core offering right. When we had to check out in the morning (me and my husband), we did so, and we ate in their integral BARLO (just in their lobby) and we had a walk and when we got back to the hotel we had about an hour to kill so we sat with our 2 cases in their little lobby and quietly played scrabble on our ipad, we couldn't have been quieter or less trouble. I have never been made to feel more like I was in the way, we had about 12 offers of 'can we call you a cab', what are you doing? type stuff... and we'd been staying there 5 days! It's a shame because there's a lot of stuff which could be really good here, it's not a bad hotel, its location is brilliant, the views are stunning from the roof bar (but you don't need to pay their very high nightly rate to use the roof bar!) and it's lacking in some areas and it's frustrating to see that it does put focus into areas, but areas that people don't value as much as 'space to put down toiletries' in a bathroom or a safe to store valuables. There was black mould and 'old' rusting plug holes in the bathroom... I joked to a friend that it was like a prison bathroom, nothing to hurt yourself on. Our room was tired and reminded me of a 1980s. bed and breakfast bedroom, tired carpet, bathroom and a clothes rail and ironing board just against the main wall in the open near to the tv. a bit mad and all the colours, spots, stripes, blue walls etc just blew your brain. BARLO was amazing. The staff were great, the atmosphere in there was great, the free puddings they brought for everyone out at closing time was lovely and we ate there and drank there multiple times and found it relaxed and friendly. We were told that Larry's would allow us to drink and eat and book it to our room but at the end of our Larry's evening we found that this was too much of a problem with non-interlinking systems and us not having our PASSPORT with us so after some fuss with staff over it so we paid in the end with cash.

Room Tip: don't know as we only saw our room, which overlooked the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and candid review. While we are very happy to hear you enjoyed Barlo Kitchen+Cocktails and the excellent service you received from the team there, we are very disappointed to hear the rest of your Erwin Experience wasn’t as great of a success.

We’re very proud to offer our guests complimentary wifi and we do apologize you had technical difficulties with your browser settings after your departure. We have just confirmed with our internet provider that the change in browser settings was not initiated on our end. Should you need any help with your browser settings, we’d be more than happy to assist! We are constantly working on ensuring our guest rooms are in top shape but that is certainly no excuse for the disruptions you experienced. We do provide safes in all of our guest rooms which are discreetly tucked away in the closet. We will make sure the front desk clearly explains all the great amenities we have to offer at check-in.

While we are disappointed that we couldn’t resolve your issues when you were on-site, rest assured we have taken your feedback and discussed it with our executive committee for rectification. Our General Manager will be reaching out to you via private message to discuss your stay in greater detail and to make sure everything is right by you. While we never want any of our guests leaving feeling like they had a less than perfect stay, we take your honest feedback very seriously as it helps us get better and better. If you’re ever in Venice Beach again, our General Manager would like to personally oversee your visit and make sure you get the true Erwin Experience that we are known for. Again, we sincerely apologize for your stays shortcomings but we truly appreciate your business and for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again.

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

ALL of the staff there is excellent!!!!! Had a great stay there. Clean hotel. Personable service. I had three rooms reserved and for unforseen circumstances, had to cancel one room for 3 nights on the day of checking in. They said no prolem. The best in Venice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobdc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for the awesome review! We are so happy we were able to take the best care of you during your stay. We’re very lucky to have a staff of passionate hoteliers who go above and beyond to take care of our guests and all their needs. We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Venice. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I booked a stay here last minute and was hesitant as to the location but what an absolute treasure!I wanted to stay somewhere "cool" since I was bringing my 15 yr old son and 16 yr old godson. They are not easily impressed and they had a wonderful time since we were a stones throw from the beach. The staff was warm and inviting from the moment we drove in. They offered countless tips to restaurants and places to see. The room was perfectly fine and suited our needs....clean, comfortable and convenient.....all the things a person wants when traveling. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone and I already have!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KWK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We’re so happy we were able to make your Erwin Experience a memorable one for you and your family! Venice Beach is fun for all ages and there’s always something to do so you’ll never get bored. Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Erwin and for recommending us to your friends and family. We hope to see you again in the future.

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The room was good, bigger than we had expected. Clean and bed was very comfortable. Rooftop bar was great, with an amazing view/vibe. Location was fantastic, only steps away from Venice Beach and a short walk to great restaurants. Lobby restaurant was great and staff very pleasant and helpful. Not cheap, but nothing really is in anywhere near Santa Monica.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin! We’re happy to hear you had a great time and enjoyed the amenities we have to offer. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here twice this year and I will only stay again if I'm really in a pinch (eg the other beach city hotels are charging extraordinarily high rates!)

+1 star for the rooftop bar, the waitstaff and views are terrific

-4 stars because of the room conditions and poor management. Room condition: the carpets are stained, the grout in the shower stall was molded brown, and the towels were worn. Poor management: the staff is low service, especially if you need to connect with them by phone (you can submit your inquiry to their 'black hole' of a voice mailbox).

Good luck ...proximity to the beach may not be worth it

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank VeniceBeachDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your visit. We’re disappointed to hear that your Erwin Experience was not what you had hoped for. We have taken your comments to the respective departments for future improvements. We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback and your business as we know you have a choice when choosing hotel accommodations. We would like to invite you back and show you a true enjoyable Erwin Experience. Please check your message box for a message from our General Manager. Again, we truly apologize your stay was not to your standards and we hope to see you again!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

the outside looks a bit dilapidated and old. The room we had was not that great either. The staff was wonderful and friendly. Restaurant in the lobby was good. Location great. Rooftop bar exceptional.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite - - it was nice but I wouldn't pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed Barlo and High Rooftop Lounge. Both spots are Venice Beach staples! We look forward to having you back the next time you’re in Venice! We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#71 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#43 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Property: Hotel Erwin
Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing