We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps Getting Better”
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #10 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I've stayed here several times. The recent Joie de Vivre renovation was a good one and the hotel keeps getting better. We had a 1 room suite. The living room was roomy and bedroom was comfortable- great mattress. The bathroom was not re-designed well, so the toilet area is tiny and there's a lot of other wasted space. The roof bar looked cool but was only open 2 days a week- hum. The restaurant downstairs looked so cool on the website but would be a disappointing option on any night.

I stay in Venice because during the day the ocean walk and spending a 1/2 day walking to Santa Monica shopping and restaurants and walking back is one of my favorite things. The Venice canals are a great walking tour, and if you do some minor homework, there are many great restaurants (we just missed Kid Rock chilling at James Beach).

PROBLEM- they highlight the fireplace in the room. It's chilly at night so that sounds great. I figured that it would probably be gas instead of wood. It is NOTHING MORE THAN A RED LIGHT with a minor effect. Here's a beautiful fireplace, with smart glass folding doors, for a lightbulb effect? Stupid!

I would recommend this hotel and I always stay here when in LA.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2010

Dear denverroadtrip,

Thank you for the positive comments about the recently completed renovation. We were pleased to hear that the hotel keeps getting better. We also agree that the Hotel Erwin is a great place for folks looking for a unique, cool atmosphere. We are only 200 feet from the beach and all of the exciting, low-cost activities that come with the surf and sand. Local grafitti artists are featured throughout the hotel and don't miss viewing Larry's Loft, a unique gallery style meeting space.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2010

If you haven't been to Venice Beach, don't expect Santa Monica! The neighborhood is funky, not real clean and at night a little scary. But beyond that, Venice Beach is a lot of fun and this hotel was great! We arrived in the late afternoon and after checking in went right up to the rooftop bar to watch the sunset. It was freezing cold, but there were heaters and blankets - plus great drinks, friendly service and a wonderful view - although the sunset the night we were there was not too exciting. We survived the cold for one drink and a panini, but even so, this is a great place to enjoy the ocean view. Our hotel room was small, but newly decorated, very stylish and comfortable. There is a restaurant on-site that we didn't go to - we were only there one night and decided to eat in our room for dinner and then went walking along the beach towards Santa Monica in the morning and found a breakfast spot on our way back. Our room was on the side of the hotel with a decent view over the adjacent buildings to the beach. We might go more upscale on our next visit to LA and try Santa Monica - but would also consider coming back here as the location was good and that rooftop bar is calling to us......

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2010

Dear OzExpat,

The team at the Hotel Erwin was very excited to read your glowing review about your experience. We were pleased to know that you had such a great experience at High Rooftop Lounge. It is now open each weekday night in the evening and even earlier on the weekends. It really is the perfect place to have a handcrafted cocktail and watch an amazing sunset.

Thank you for sharing your comments with other folks looking for a great rooftop lounge and hotel in famous Venice Beach.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Hotel Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

We recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Erwin and thought it was a fantastic place to stay. The location is perfect. We booked a Premier Ocean View room and was given a room on the 5th floor. Go for the ocean view rooms. It is a lot of fun to watch all the Venice Beach happenings from the balcony. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. We ate dinner at Hash and thought it was delicious. Since we stayed over a weekend we were a bit concerned about noise coming from the nightclub High. We didn't have any issues at all. Our room was very quiet. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2010

Dear traveler02,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your experience at the Hotel Erwin. The newly built premier rooms offer commanding ocean views and the team will always go out of their way to pamper you. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to world famous Venice Beach.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We were traveling with our 2 teenage kids and we had a fantastic time!! the room was just what the picture showed and ALL the staff was so wonderful.(the beds were fantastic!) The meal we had at Hash was very delicious. The info we received from the front desk allowed us to travel the area by city bus, with our kids even at night! .75 per person to get to the Santa Monica pier in about 15 minutes. Check out Main Street and the 3rd St promenade. don't forget to visit the roof top. we got fantastic pictures from there. All 4 people I had contact with at the front desk , made me feel like I had come home to old friends...thanks to all of you and we are already planning a girls weekend back in May or June. Angie from Kansas City

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sachsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, Genaral Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2010

Dear sachsmom,

Thank you for the positive comments about Hash Restaurant. We also agree that the Hotel Erwin is a great place for folks looking for a unique, cool atmosphere. We are only 200 feet from the beach and all of the exciting, low-cost activities that come with the surf and sand. Local grafitti artists are featured throughout the hotel and don't miss viewing Larry's Loft, a unique gallery style meeting space.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager


Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Great hotel with friendly staff in a fabulous location. If you are at all precious it is probably not the place for you as at night time it is a little dark and ominous walking around but if you have a car Santa Monica is minutes away. Yes the parking is $25 a night but honestly how many hotels do not charge for parking and at least you know your car will be there the next day. The rooftop bar had stunning views although only open Thurs to Sat at the moment. Venice Beach was as vibrant and ecclectic as ever. Like I said not for the precious as you definatelly see all sorts but I loved the energy of the place. The 1 Bedrooms are spacious and had great amenities. Spring for the view rooms as it is worth it. Did not get to eat at the restaurant but the prices seemed reasonable. Would stay here again but you really need a car but that is really the case with all of L.A if you want a bit of freedom. I am a travel agent would not hesitate to recommend to the right clients. Great Value for money

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
Thank derfoofas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2010

Dear derfoofas,

Thank you for your positive comments about High Rooftop Lounge. The newly constructed 6th floor rooms offer commanding ocean views with enhanced in-room entertainment options. Rest assured, our staff will continue to go above and beyond to make certain that you have a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to world famous Venice Beach.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Hotel Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Stayed Sun-Thursday in late December.
Location Location Location. As with retail this hotel has it.
Roof top view Amazing.
Unfortunately - Roof top services closed the entire time we were there.
No problems with valet - after all it is LA and parking costs everywhere.

3rd floor room was a poor choice as homeless and garbage trucks woke us at 5:00 a.m. every morning (why daily garbage trucks I have no idea).

One issue that would cause me to question staying there again .... forgot to leave a tip for maid one morning, and that night the bed was short sheeted, so what else did they do? Threw out my toothbrush just in case, but did not expect that from a supposed 3-4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sssspooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2010

Dear sssspooky,

We really appreciated hearing your positive comments about the one-of-a-kind location and magnificent views at the Hotel Erwin. Thank you for taking the time to write a review sharing your experience with other travelers looking for a unique boutique hotel experience.

We were disappointed to hear that you were awakened so early by noise from outside of the hotel. In addition, I have shared your comments with our team about the housekeeping service so we can make necessary adjustments.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your comments, and we hope you would consider us again for your next visit to sunny Venice Beach.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Hotel Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

if you're looking for a fun, funky, friendly and fresh place to stay in Venice Beach then Hotel Erwin is the spot. i accompanied my husband (work for him; leisure trip for me) and we stayed for 2 nights. i searched the internet for over a month looking for the perfect spot and we found it. The hotel is 1/2 block from the boardwalk--can't beat the location. The staff was friendly the minute we walked in (hello, Miguel!). The rooftop bar/restaurant at sunset--complete with heaters, couches and blankets---was so beautiful. The restaurant (LUSH) was amazing. We went to LUSH our first night and we split an entree (after having cocktails and appetizers on the rooftop)---the lasagna was so good, that we ordered another piece before finishing the first one. The room was clean--i appreciated the cotton bedding, the tile floor (hate carpet in hotels), the orchid flower, and the bathroom goodies. Seriously, we have never written a review for Trip Advisor but we just had to write one for Hotel Erwin after staying there. Things you should know: valet parking is $25 per night and the rooms on the south side would probably be preferable to those on the north side--city/beach view vs. alley view,

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheeselover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, Genaral Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2009

Dear cheeselover09,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your experience at the Hotel Erwin. The entire team at the rooftop lounge (High) and restaurant (Hash) we very pleased to hear about your visit.

Rest assured, our staff will continue to go above and beyond to make certain that you have a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to world famous Venice Beach.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
797 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,949 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,181 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,856 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £238 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erwin 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing