We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good recommendation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #10 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A good recommendation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

I chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor recommendations as I was looking for something different to the standard chain hotels. The location is good (very close to the beach and a long-ish walk to Santa Monica). The hotel had an interesting retro vibe, and the roof deck is cool. The staff were friendly and helpful. My only gripe was that the 'free wi fi' is only 'free' if you join their club; which is in turn free but a pain nonetheless. Overall we had a nice stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runninguy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    396
    115
    38
    36
See reviews for
245
455
86
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

THe Hotel Erwin is a fantastic boutique hotel! Less than a block from Venice beach it makes it an interesting place just due to the location. The hotel is in fantastic shape at least the 5th and 6th floors where my wife and I stayed and some friends stayed. They have a rooftop bar that is so cool with great heat lamps and quality servers. There is also a small cafe that serves very interesting dishes, simple but very nice. The burgers and the Mac and Cheese are my top choices. The staff also has some great food choices in walking distance. I am looking forward to coming back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friday13th_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

I used to stay at this hotel when it was a Best Western. I have to say I preferred it then. Its now very chic and very expensive. They have taken away the inclusive breakfast, shuttle to Santa Monica and the valet parking is compulsory. It's very pretentious (stupid coffee makers) though the art on the wall remains as good as it always was. It was the only room on our 9 hotel vacation where the wi-fi was restricted to members. The room is full of things to buy and one gets the feeling that it's pay-pay-pay.

The new roof terrace is great but very overpriced drinks have a compulsory 18% service charge added. We paid extra for a sea view room but it was very noisy due to the music on the roof.

It can't say its a bad hotel. It isn't. But it belongs in Santa Monica - not the more relaxed Venice Beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvis45rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

After checking-in and entering our room - there was an overpowering odor of "an illegal substance," even though this was supposed to be a non-smoking hotel! Immediately called down to the front desk and was moved to another room. Too bad that this was the first impression we received.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank zaney4jaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

I live in the area and have been to the Erwin a couple times now for drinks on the rooftop. While yes the rooftop has cool views of the ocean and city, the drinks are way overpriced for what this place is. The flow of the rooftop is obstructed by part of the roof, so you just have this round track to find a place to stand while ordering drinks from a plastic bar that looks like it was made out of a trashcan. I would only ever go back if friends were visiting from out of town to show them the view, then take the fun elsewhere. They are trying to be too fancy for dirty old Venice!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ccmbgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
ccmbgrl,

The entire team was really disappointed to hear that you were unsatisfied with your experience. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies to you on behalf of High Rooftop Lounge. Was there anything that we could do to have you reconsider? I would like to invite you (and a guest) to return to High as my guest. I hope that you would consider the invitation and give the team here a chance to prove that High has great service to go along with a memorable view. If you would like to take me up on the offer, please call me to make arrangements. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

My Husband and I stayed at Hotel Erwin for one night. I took part in their "Ink N Wink" package! The tat came out better than I could have ever imagined. I got a a pretty large one I might add so it took longer than expected. Hotel was very understanding and allowed us to have extended chack out. The front desk concierge-Migel I believe his name was had a very welcoming smile and was very attentive to all requests. The room was great.We had a one bedroom suite. The balcony over looking the boardwalk was amazing. My only gripe was the bathroom, very small although nicly tiled. Fireplace was very easy to operate. They also have a great goody box in the kitchette that had interesting products you don't see in many places. I work in the hotel busniess and have never given a property five stars-but Erwin has one me over! The customer service was the best that I have seen in many years of traveling.Thank you Erwin for a truly memorable stay-I'm not just saying that because I got inked!-)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Went to LA for business and stayed at the Hotel Erwin in Venice Beach for a change of pace from the hotels near the airport. Turned out to be a great move. The hotel was right near the beach so I was able to go for a run in a scenic setting as opposed to a fitness room on a treadmill. Internet service was satisfactory so I could get work done in my room which faced the ocean. Once work was done I would go to the rooftop bar for a beer to relax. You can't ask for a better "business" trip than that.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carver-iD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#70 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#42 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Property: Hotel Erwin
Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing