We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Ranked #36 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel staff was very friendly. Check in was quick. Elevators need hotel key card to work which makes it very secure. Room was updated and spacious. There is a restaurant in the hotel but it is only open for breakfast (standard buffet). Not that many places to eat nearby, but Ports-O-Call is close. Hotel is nice and quiet.

Room Tip: on the backside to overlook pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a pleasant surprise ! They have kept some of the old light fixtures in the halls, breakfast room and in our room. Makes everything a bit more elegant. The large vanity and sink were separate from the rest of the bathroom and was very nicely appointed. The room was by any standard huge, with a comfortable sofa plus an easy chair. Lighting was good to read by. Bed was very comfortable but our street facing room was a bit noisy although the traffic noise was steady so still had no trouble sleeping. The breakfast was very good and the room doubled as a bar .They had left the original fireplace in the room and it was beautiful. What a nice mix but still with all the modern improvements. There are any number of restaurants in the area from fast food restaurants and up, within a block or a mile of the hotel. We stayed here before boarding a ship for a cruise. With two ships in port it was a bit of a wait to have our turn as I think all the people staying at the hotel must have been there for that purpose. Short drive to the pier so the location of the hotel was great for that. If you did not want to wait I am sure a taxi would not cost much.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping due to any noise,ask for a room not facing Gaffey Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellover795943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were surprised at the size & quietness of our room which overlooked the lovely swimming pool. The included breakfast made the hotel very good value.
Reception recommended a great Italian restaurant and gave us a card for 2 free glasses of wine

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just drove in off the street. Seems to be a great way to get a good deal if rooms available of course.

Free parking. Huge rooms. Very clean. Great staff at counter. Great breakfast the next morning.

Would definitely stay here again.

Great Japanese eat out straight across the road.

Was on the main road but road noise (our room road facing) wasnt too bad at all.

Room Tip: Maybe get a back facing room if you dont sleep well though we didnt have a problem. Slight road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

After a mistake we had to find a Hotel for one Night, we didn't want to pay a lot so we choose this Hotel and now we wished that we could stay longer! The hotel is beautiful and the staff is so friendly. We checked in fast and easy had a little chat with the staff and could choose our room. The rooms and the Hotel is beautiful renovated and everything is super clean! The breakfast was for free and enough to choose from, the coffee was also really good. If you have to find a hotel than this one!
(We are from Germany)

2  Thank AileenK77
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is a GEM. To sum up my experience:

Pros:
- Free Breakfast. I was amazed with the selection and the quality for the food (Consider its free). Breakfast includes, scrambled eggs, Sausages, Muffins, Self-made waffle, cereals, yogurt, bread, etc. (all the basics).
- Room was extremely comfortable with high ceiling.
- Wide variety of TV Channels and LCD TV
- very clean
- Excellent Guest Service. Forgot to print my tickets and the reception offered to print it for free.
- I have no problem with Parking during my stay and its free!
- Wifi speed was acceptable and it is also free.
- Lots of restaurants around the area

Cons
- If you are NOT going to a cruise it might be a bit far from Downtown Los Angeles. (30 min Drive from Downtown)
- Nothing to explore near San Pedro.
- Area is sketchy at night. I do not recommend walking around on the street at night
- It requires a swipe card in the elevator to take you to your room which was a pain as there are problems with the card reader.

Overall, my experience with this hotel was excellent. Not complaints. I would recommend it to friends and family

Room Tip: Try to ask for the 4th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Integral25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Best Western pre-cruise. This hotel provides a
complimentary shuttle to the pier in San Pedro. Good idea
to book your time slot when you check in. The hotel also
provides a free breakfast which isn't gourmet, but more on
the continental side. Still, it's nice that it's no charge.

Across the street is a 7-11 to pick up any forgotten items and
down a few blocks is a rite aid drug store and a starbucks.
There are a few fast food place also that are close by.

Hotel area isn't the best, but it's ok to walk around in the daytime.

The rooms are standard, a bit worn...but for the amenities,
it's worth it to stay here for a few nights. Nice and helpful
staff at the front desk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rainbowmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
Harbor
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regency Inn Los Angeles
#101 of 358 in Los Angeles
182 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#39 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,220 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Los Angeles Worldport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites

Address: 111 S Gaffey St, San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA 90731-2429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £101 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites is a newly remodeled boutique hotel that features the most spacious guest rooms in San Pedro with all new guest room furnishings - located just six blocks from the The World Cruise Center, the gateway for Princess, Norwegian and Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines. Cruise passenger guests appreciate our Complimentary Shuttle Service to the San Pedro World Cruise Center. This 4-story Victorian hotel offers 60 guest rooms including 12 suites with convenient proximity to the Long Beach Convention Center, USS Iowa Battleship & Museum, Cabrillo Beach & Marina, Trump National Golf Club and fine local restaurants. The Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites features a complimentary Breakfast Buffet, Outdoor Swimming Pool & Spa, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet Access, Business Center, Fitness Center and more!This boutique hotel features 3000 sq ft of meeting & event space with flexibility to accommodate events for 10 to 200 people. High speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. The beautifully remodeled San Pedro Ballroom and meeting rooms offer the perfect setting for wedding receptions, social celebrations, family reunions, business and corporate seminars & meetings. Business travelers will appreciate our proximity to the Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) and Long Beach Airport (LGB). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pedro Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing