We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very impressed by the Doubletree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
Ranked #16 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very impressed by the Doubletree”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Spent two days before our cruise and found this hotel to be a delight to stay in

from the moment we arrived with their welcoming hot chocolate cookies to the time we got the complimentary shuttle to the ship the friendly staff could not do enough to make our stay a good one I highly recommend this hotel to cruise travellers if they are going out of San Pedro
and the rooms overlooking the marine with balcony are just great.
Thanks for a great stay Doubletree. Airline65

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking marine with balcony first or second floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airline65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
“Very Impressed by the Doubletree”. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. It is so wonderful to hear of your experience. I will share and celebrate with the team. This is very nice to read and is truly what motivates our entire team. We will continue to work hard, make continued improvements and as usual keep the WARM COOKIES coming. Also thank you for mentioning the Marina View Rooms. I know they can be slightly more but the views are spectacular and well worth it. I hope you decide to stay an additional night upon your return but if not thank you again and smooth sailing friends. See you next time. Tommy Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    343
    187
    91
    47
See reviews for
330
401
62
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed one nite before a cruise in Oct 2011, the stay & park package
hotel offer free shuttle service to the cruise terminal. A very warm welcome and warm cookies from a efficient Ft desk staff, great rooms and view of marina. Had a
Terrific stay ( one neg No Wi Fi in Rooms) but a Very comfortable hotel

Room Tip: Room with a View of the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDeFamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
A GEM in San Pedro....It is wonderful to hear your comments regarding your Warm Welcome. We do understand the journey that brings you to our door and strive for a warm reception that lets you know YOU’VE MADE IT. I have received a quote to add the additional routers required to have full In-Room WIFI and owner approved funds so this enhancement should be coming very soon. I am shooting for the end of 1st quarter but until then we will have High Speed in our guest rooms and WIFI in our public and lobby areas. I will try to get this accomplished sooner as I do understand the impact. Thank you for your patience and your great comments despite the needed WIFI improvements and I promise to get it done. Thank you GEM for choosing us and we will see you when you return. Tommy Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed here the night before a cruise out of Port of Los Angeles. The hotel does offer free shuttle bus service to the cruise terminal which is about the only thing this place had going for it. We have 2 kids aged 5 & 6 years, we were placed on the 3rd floor (the top) of this old run down place and were horrified to see that the windows could be fully opened to a direct 3 story drop. Needless to say kids were kept well away. There was a wedding in the conference room the night we stayed, after several hours of trying to sleep through it I called reception to ask what time the wedding would finish, they replied they didn't know. Being as how it was in their hotel you'd think they would have some idea. After the wedding finished about 1:30am several "merry" guests made their way around the hotel screaming before finishing up by vomiting in the hallway and then smashing their glass bottle full of some red alcohol all over the wall. This was still there at 9am the next morning when we headed to breakfast. The floors looked like they hadn't been vacummed in months although the room itself was clean enough. Overall would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara_TravelTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Very Disappointed. I am very sorry. Thank you for your comments. We are a weekend event center that is often booked with weddings and other social events. I can tell you that all of our events are contracted to end at midnight and are always festively loud. I love the sound of new love and celebration but do understand the interruption especially for the children and am very sorry. There is also no accounting for those that indulge too much and am sorry that you had to experience this. Guests arriving on weekends that plan on going to bed before 11pm or so may want to request a location further away from our event center if possible. Often we can accommodate. I am very sorry about your stay “very disappointed” and do wish I would have done a better job. Please reach out if you wish to me at the hotel as I would love to apologize in person and ask that you give me a chance to show you what we can really do. I agree about the corridor carpet and have begun the process of purchasing a wide area vacuum that will cover the entire span of the corridor in one pass. The cost is high but with our hotel we cannot keep up properly using a 12 inch vacuum especially on busy weekends. My name is Tommy Spencer “disappointed”. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but will be excited to see your next post if you give me the opportunity. See you soon back in San Pedro. I hope. Tommy Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, CA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed the night before a cruise. The hotel was very comfortable, front desk was efficient, and they had great marina views. We were given the extra cost upgrade per our request while making the reservation and had a nice balcony room right over the marina. We were with a friend and he paid for the same upgrade, but they made a mistake on his initial room, no view/balcony, so he had to wait a while for the appropriate room (we did check in earlier than their posted check-in time tho). We stayed using their cruise/parking package and we left our car in their lot for 9 days and were conveniently shuttled to and from the port.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Very Comfortable Hotel. I am very happy to hear that you chose our Marina View room with a Balcony. This is truly the best way to enjoy the peace and quiet not to mention those views. Thank you for allowing us to care for your auto while you’re away. We will do our best to keep her safe. I am very sorry to hear about our mistake at check in for your companion. Will you please pass along my apologies? I am so happy to hear that each of you received your Marina View Room with a Balcony. I hope we were able to set the stage for a fantastic cruise. Thank you so much Very Comfortable Hotel and ENJOY!Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Arriving from a sleepless overnight overseas flight at 9am we were hours too early for check-in but were still welcomed & told a room would be cleaned for us. Our luggage was stored so we decided to have breakfast in the restaurant while we waited. Room was ready at 11am, large, well decorated, spotlessly clean and a lovely marina view. Hotel was quiet, we even managed a nap, the bed was super comfortable! Later we went for a walk, not a lot around the area but glad to be in a quiet place. Later we returned to the restaurant for dinner and found a good menu at good prices, we didn't want 5 star dining and were grateful for the choices on the menu. A great nights sleep, breakfast next morning was very busy but again good food at good prices. There were 2 cruise ships leaving that day and we were on the Sapphire Princess & were dropped off by the hotel shuttle. A terrific start to our holiday, as I said in the title, warm welcome and warm cookies to take to our room as well! Well, done.

Room Tip: Marina Views room are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Warm Welcome & Warm Cookies! Thank you for your very kind recognition. I am so happy to read about your satisfaction. We enjoy reading these wonderful comments and try hard to leave lasting impressions that we can discuss and celebrate. Cheers! We all thank you very much and wish you easy sailing. We will see you when you return and rest assured the cookies are always warm. See you soon. Tommy Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This place is real nice and comfy.they also give u warm freshbaked cookies . Lots of space and its hidden in the back of pedro

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotDiscombobulated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Awesome View and Warm Cookies. Short and sweet but very much appreciated. Thank you for the wonderful review. We receive comments about our location and the spectacular views all the time but it never gets old. I drive to work daily and now that I am lucky to work and live in such an extraordinarily pretty area and am always proud to showcase our property and location. What says comfort and relaxation like a Warm Chocolate Chip Cookie? They are fantastic and is our pleasure to welcome each guest with warm cookie and a warm smile. Thank you Awesome and Warm. We will see you soon and keep the cookies warm. Tommy Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I use to live in San Pedro and I want to warn you, some areas are not safe. There is quite a bit of violent crime in this city. That being said there are some nice parts. If you are cruising and need a brief layover, stay here. Nice location on the water.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frugalguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Cruisers! Stay Here! Thank you Cruisers for your comments and your support. I too live in San Pedro. San Pedro like all major cities can have its moments and areas but is truly one of the most beautiful places in the world, especially here at the Waterfront. Rocking sail boats, sunrises and of course the beautiful water. We have a wonderful restaurant and a fabulous bar. We provide Cruise Ship transportation and offer many Cruise packages to fit all your needs. We truly appreciate our Cruise Ship Guests and Hope That All Of You Will Choose to Stay with us at the Beautiful Doubletree San Pedro where Safety is first but Comfort our expertise. Thank You Cruisers. Tommy Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#73 of 350 in Los Angeles
569 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#17 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,113 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,482 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
Address: 2800 Via Cabrillo Marina, Los Angeles, CA 90731-7223 (Formerly Marina Hotel Port of Los Angeles/San Pedro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#74 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Pedro
Doubletree Los Angeles
Los Angeles Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing